We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great staff + great room = best holiday spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great staff + great room = best holiday spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for a night and it was absolutely fantastic! The staff were extremely friendly and fun and were so helpful. Was so nice to see a fellow australian there - Jo had one of the best smiles ive seen and was super friendly. Katrina made us some amazing drinks during happy hour and provided some great recommendations about the food - buffelo wings = amazing!! The room was heaps bigger than I expected, was super clean and the shower had great pressure (which is always a bonus!) The beach was just a short stroll away with plenty of good eateries to choose from. Overall I had a great night here and would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Enjoy :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramello5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    100
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
120
76
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redondo beach
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here accidentally as the hotel that we booked was oversold and they sent us here. The rooms are very clean and the staff throughout the hotel are extremely nice. It's more of a business hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I had to. The best part of the stay were the nice people who worked here. Shout out to the tall Hispanic guy. Super nice and brought us new towels when we were at the pool. The wifi was fast and free which is always nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

this hotel isn't the best location and not exactly kid friendly (no bath tub) but the rooms are clean and the staff was helpful. rooms on the harbor side are quieter. the free coffee in the morning is good.

Room Tip: get a room on the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Drew H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It is also nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on some aspects of your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We have started here 4 times before and always had a great experience. The front staff were professional and helpful. The bed in our room was not comfortable for me (though I have neck and back problems from a car accident). We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant because we have always been happy with the quality of the food there. This morning, was not good, however. My bacon was literally burned black and my eggs, which I ordered over hard, were barely over easy. When it was brought to the server's attention, he just said OK, took my plate and brought the check with all charges. He did not offer to replace the food nor to take the charge off. We would stay here again only because of previous good experiences. If I had to base my opinion off of this stay alone, I would be hard pressed to pay that kind of money again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahlan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Rooms are large and very clean. The location is good, just a short walk to the harbor and beach, and right off Interstate 5. Great place to stay, will stay there again and will recommend it to all my friends. We enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here last year and this time, I figured why not?

I really like the staff here. They're so on top of things and really nice. The hotel is near a good amount of things. It's literally walking distance down to the Marina. It's easy to find and parking isn't ever a problem. The room was nice, a good size. I really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_cheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay - the staff was wonderful upon checking in and very helpful. The rooms are large (no views of the ocean but we were not expecting that), comfortable beds and a refrigerator, microwave & coffee pot in the room. The only negative was that the shower area was very dark with no light above the large shower & the lighting in the sink area was also poor. It was a short walk down to the marina area with shops and restaurants. As long as you don't expect to be on the ocean it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view either facing the courtyard and not facing the railroad and freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlthee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
1.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Address: 1401 Carmelo Dr, Oceanside, CA 92054-1012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing