We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Back again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before. The staff are very courteous and helpful. On this trip there was some confusion with my reservation (reserved through Orbitz). The front desk staff were very helpful and kind. The hotel is located close to I-5 and access to the highway is quite easy.

The room I stayed in was large and comfortable( 2 queen size beds). The room included a small refrigerator, which is helpful for me because I usually need one for beverages and food. The shower is huge!

One of the reasons I chose this hotel, (I come to Oceanside frequently to visit my son who is a Marine), is that it had the lowest rate in the area for the time I was going to be here. It was an easy decision because I had been here before and like the hotel location, rooms, and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    106
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
129
86
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel on a whim when we couldn't see the rooms (or anything else!) at the Wyndham Oceanside Resort. They were very unaccommodating. Our GPS led us to this hotel, how fortuitous! The hotel is almost new and very modern with very nice rooms and an outstanding shower. The staff was especially friendly and the General Manager, Geoffrey Parkford was the most accommodating of all, very helpful and friendly.
We extended our stay instead of heading back to San Diego and had no regrets. The restaurant was open for breakfast and dinner only, but we found the "Happy Hour" appetizers to be a meal and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Holiday Inn in Oceanside. We were walking distance from the Harbor and were able to enjoy the nice weather, beach, and great sunset views. The staff were very pleasant and help. Our room was modern and very clean. Since this was a "staycation" - we did spend time lounging and watching movies - lucky there was a great big television. We were also able to access the Oceanside nightlife nearby on Mission just off the Coast Highway. A short drive gave us many options of dining - however, we landed back at the Hotel and ventured to the nearby Harbor for drinks and dinner. Our stay was relaxing and it was just the break we needed.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed having a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews, and they were right. It's close to restaurants at the harbour - which is a pleasant 10-minute walk from the hotel. Convenient access to the pier, highway, Carlsbad, La Jolla, and the rest of the area. Our room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable. Jeff at the front desk was really friendly. Reservations staff was also helpful and personable when we called to book. Thanks!

Room Tip: I don't think you'd get a bad room here, really. It's not too close to the railway - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InTheMuskokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had about 10 family members come into town recently and they were treated very well and I really appreciate that. They loved their rooms and room service. The view was lovely and the beds were comfy. They loved walking around the harbor and enjoying the happy service they received from Geoff and his staff. My grandmother has kept saying "I like that young man" Thanks Geoff and supporting staff for making my family feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikelca2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We selected this hotel with only 24 hours notice due to dissatisfaction with the hotel we started with. The staff members here were incredibly helpful, always cheerful, and went above and beyond. They offered instructions on the best route to walk to the beach and were extremely friendly without being intrusive. We went in February so it was cool weather. I went to the outside jacuzzi and it was lovely. The wi-fi was easy to access and use. Had breakfast at the little on-site restaurant and it was absolutely delicious. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Jill,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are very glad that we were able to exceed your exceptions! I am sorry to hear that your vacation started out bad, but am very happy that it was turned around. We hope that your travels bring you our way again so we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Thank you for sharing your experience to help others plan their vacations.

Sincerely,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We loved the area. It is right off the freeway and Mapquest was perfect getting us there. Next door is a Denny's if you want their breakfast instead of Holiday Inn's. That was the only part of the stay where we felt it was not worth it. We shared an omelette and ended up spending $20 for brekkie. Service was very slow. No idea if it was the waitress or kitchen at fault. Only a couple of other tables at 9 am so I don't think they should have been overwhelmed.

We stayed with Priceline and got the hotel for half price. Despite that, the woman who checked us in gave us an upgraded spacious room with a king bed! The decor was very trendy with red and black and the room was immaculate. This was fabulous treatment for being a Priceline customer.

The hotel is over a bridge from downtown Oceanside. We drove over to see what the town was like and found an art museum we really enjoyed right next to city hall. There are other hotels on that side but, honestly, not as upscale as the Holiday Inn. This hotel is a block or so from the ocean though our view was of the mobile home park across the street. No biggie as we only slept in the room, being busy seeing friends. The King of Missons, San Luis Rey, is just east on the freeway from this hotel.

Since it was January, we did not even look for a pool.

The bathroom was dazzling. Granite everywhere including lining the shower for two. The bathroom looked like something out of a Ritz Carlton.

Back of the restaurant is the business office with two computers available for guests. High speed. I really needed one by the time I got to this hotel.

We did not use any spa or fitness center.

Overall, we were more than pleased with this hotel and would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Denny's might be a better choice for breakfast but we wanted to spend our money at Holiday Inn s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7continentKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your visit - we are very happy that you enjoyed yourself. I am sorry that your breakfast experience wasn't great - we will work on that for your next visit. I know you got a great deal on Priceline, but if you are staying with us again - please be sure to check for our package rates that include breakfast (pre-paying for breakfast in the room rate can really save on your overall costs) and as a reminder, kids under 12 eat for free also.

We're glad you were able to explore Oceanside and get an opportunity to enjoy our great town. We all hope you come visit us again soon - until then, we'll keep the bathrooms sparkly and the internet blazing fast.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#14 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Address: 1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing