We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews, and they were right. It's close to restaurants at the harbour - which is a pleasant 10-minute walk from the hotel. Convenient access to the pier, highway, Carlsbad, La Jolla, and the rest of the area. Our room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable. Jeff at the front desk was really friendly. Reservations staff was also helpful and personable when we called to book. Thanks!

Room Tip: I don't think you'd get a bad room here, really. It's not too close to the railway - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InTheMuskokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 394 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had about 10 family members come into town recently and they were treated very well and I really appreciate that. They loved their rooms and room service. The view was lovely and the beds were comfy. They loved walking around the harbor and enjoying the happy service they received from Geoff and his staff. My grandmother has kept saying "I like that young man" Thanks Geoff and supporting staff for making my family feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikelca2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We selected this hotel with only 24 hours notice due to dissatisfaction with the hotel we started with. The staff members here were incredibly helpful, always cheerful, and went above and beyond. They offered instructions on the best route to walk to the beach and were extremely friendly without being intrusive. We went in February so it was cool weather. I went to the outside jacuzzi and it was lovely. The wi-fi was easy to access and use. Had breakfast at the little on-site restaurant and it was absolutely delicious. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Jill,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are very glad that we were able to exceed your exceptions! I am sorry to hear that your vacation started out bad, but am very happy that it was turned around. We hope that your travels bring you our way again so we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Thank you for sharing your experience to help others plan their vacations.

Sincerely,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We loved the area. It is right off the freeway and Mapquest was perfect getting us there. Next door is a Denny's if you want their breakfast instead of Holiday Inn's. That was the only part of the stay where we felt it was not worth it. We shared an omelette and ended up spending $20 for brekkie. Service was very slow. No idea if it was the waitress or kitchen at fault. Only a couple of other tables at 9 am so I don't think they should have been overwhelmed.

We stayed with Priceline and got the hotel for half price. Despite that, the woman who checked us in gave us an upgraded spacious room with a king bed! The decor was very trendy with red and black and the room was immaculate. This was fabulous treatment for being a Priceline customer.

The hotel is over a bridge from downtown Oceanside. We drove over to see what the town was like and found an art museum we really enjoyed right next to city hall. There are other hotels on that side but, honestly, not as upscale as the Holiday Inn. This hotel is a block or so from the ocean though our view was of the mobile home park across the street. No biggie as we only slept in the room, being busy seeing friends. The King of Missons, San Luis Rey, is just east on the freeway from this hotel.

Since it was January, we did not even look for a pool.

The bathroom was dazzling. Granite everywhere including lining the shower for two. The bathroom looked like something out of a Ritz Carlton.

Back of the restaurant is the business office with two computers available for guests. High speed. I really needed one by the time I got to this hotel.

We did not use any spa or fitness center.

Overall, we were more than pleased with this hotel and would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Denny's might be a better choice for breakfast but we wanted to spend our money at Holiday Inn s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7continentKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your visit - we are very happy that you enjoyed yourself. I am sorry that your breakfast experience wasn't great - we will work on that for your next visit. I know you got a great deal on Priceline, but if you are staying with us again - please be sure to check for our package rates that include breakfast (pre-paying for breakfast in the room rate can really save on your overall costs) and as a reminder, kids under 12 eat for free also.

We're glad you were able to explore Oceanside and get an opportunity to enjoy our great town. We all hope you come visit us again soon - until then, we'll keep the bathrooms sparkly and the internet blazing fast.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the time we walked in the hotel to check in, until we checked out, everything was perfect.
Wonderful, friendly front desk staff! Exceptional staff that keeps the place super clean! Free laundry! Small but functional exercise room (only advice for hotel is to add sanitary wipes in the gym.) Close to marina, ocean, and dining in the marina! Great room service! Spacious rooms!
Everything was GREAT... and I am super picky! Highly reccomend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean on a high floor. Beautiful sunset views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Rachel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel - we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. I wanted to let you know that based on your feedback, we have added sanitary wipes in a fancy wall-mounted dispenser to the fitness center. Thanks for the suggestion. We hope to welcome you back again soon, until then happy travels.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Room: Stayed in a junior suite for 4 days, room was clean and spacious with 2 queen-size beds and pull out couch. Really liked the cotton-based shower curtain liner - easy to wash so no soap scum or mold. Lacking towel racks next to sink and lighting in room was not good.
Lobby:Coffee and fresh fruit available 24 hours so easy to grab a cup and an orange on the go.
Lobby restaurant: good food with a variety of choices for all meals.
Staff: managers Emily and Asuka and server Tylr was super! They were friendly, helpful and shared knowledge of the area and attractions.
Free parking, short-cut path in back down hill to marina restaurants and shops, short walk to beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPlannerAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Anne, thank you so much for posting this great review and pointing out the staff members that make your visit extra special. Also, we love your pictures! We hope that your travels bring you back to Oceanside again soon so we get the opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was expecting this to be a little closer to the beach based on photos, but it was just a short walk. Very clean and nice, very big rooms for our family. The rooms were clean and front desk staff was very friendly. Lobby is very welcoming.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Kikiak246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for visiting all the way from Alaska! We are glad you enjoyed our staff and guest rooms. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#13 of 27 in Oceanside
477 reviews
1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Address: 1401 Carmelo Dr, Oceanside, CA 92054-1012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: $137 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing