We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nutley, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, convenient location”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Room: Stayed in a junior suite for 4 days, room was clean and spacious with 2 queen-size beds and pull out couch. Really liked the cotton-based shower curtain liner - easy to wash so no soap scum or mold. Lacking towel racks next to sink and lighting in room was not good.
Lobby:Coffee and fresh fruit available 24 hours so easy to grab a cup and an orange on the go.
Lobby restaurant: good food with a variety of choices for all meals.
Staff: managers Emily and Asuka and server Tylr was super! They were friendly, helpful and shared knowledge of the area and attractions.
Free parking, short-cut path in back down hill to marina restaurants and shops, short walk to beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPlannerAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Anne, thank you so much for posting this great review and pointing out the staff members that make your visit extra special. Also, we love your pictures! We hope that your travels bring you back to Oceanside again soon so we get the opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    110
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
134
91
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chugiak, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was expecting this to be a little closer to the beach based on photos, but it was just a short walk. Very clean and nice, very big rooms for our family. The rooms were clean and front desk staff was very friendly. Lobby is very welcoming.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikiak246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting all the way from Alaska! We are glad you enjoyed our staff and guest rooms. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice, last March and this month (January). We had a junior suite in March, which was quite nice, despite losing power 6 times in the span of a few hours. This month we had an executive king room and it was COLD! It honestly felt like the air conditioner was running full blast in the hallway, but I was told it is actually the cold air return. We had to put a rolled towel at the door to block the draft, as our 52° room would not heat up otherwise. Excellent location, and, as I said, both status were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahlan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. The Southern California blackout storm last year was pretty crazy, sorry you had to ride it out with the rest of us. Thank you for sharing your experience about the hallways' fresh air intake being too cold. We are working with the designers of our building to see if we can limit the amount of air coming in during the cooler months. Although the air is not being cooled, it can be too cold sometimes.

Thank you again for staying with us twice and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The customer service was that of a 5-star resort. We were thoroughly impressed. We definitely will be staying here on our next trip to Oceanside, as we have family that we come down to visit in the area from time to time. The location of the hotel is great, as well. It was nice to walk down to breakfast in the harbor one morning. Another morning we had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant, which was EXCELLENT- I had a very delicious, fresh, non-greasy vegetable skillet topped with eggs. The restaurant has a personal tv in each booth, which would be excellent for people traveling solo and to get kids to zone out to. They also had free coffee, tea, fruit, and cookies available in the lobby. The coffee in the rooms was horrible- tasted like water, so it was great they provided good coffee in to-go cups for free down in the lobby. As for the rooms- they were immaculately clean. I stayed in a king room with my daughter. It was great to have a refrigerator and a microwave (and sink in a kitchen area) in my room, especially so I could clean bottles, etc. My folks stayed into the room next to us. We were all surprised how QUIET the hotel was. My baby doesn't really cry much at all but the one time she fussed a bit, they said they didn't hear her at all. Walking to the rooms the hallways were beyond frigid. I kept thinking I just hope they were not air conditioned as it would be quite a waste of money. It seriously was colder in the hallways than outdoors (and we stayed during Christmas/December when it was cold outdoors). The water pressure in the shower needed a bit of oomph- was a very light flow. Also there were HUGE showers in the bathrooms, but no light over the shower, nor was there a fan for the steam, although it didn't seem to be a problem. I just wish there was a bit more light as it was very dim. The bed was comfortable, except for the mini-pillows. They are so small it's ridiculous, and I have noticed a trend at hotel I have recently stayed at. They were separated with tags marking the soft and the firm pillows which was nice, but again, they were just too small to be comfortable. The reason I am only giving a 4/5 is the pillows (I referred to them as "nuggets") and the lack of light and water pressure in the bathroom. Also, one night my folks and I had a nightcap at the bar on the way in. Emily the bartender was so much fun to talk to. She really said she loved working for the Holiday Inn and that the employees were really treated well there, which always makes me happy to stay or eat somewhere where everyone is happy- it always adds to the experience. I will definitely be staying here in the future.

Room Tip: The beds are quite cozy, but bring your own pillow as the pillows are just way too small to get comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyslippas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina and for taking the time to share your experience - we greatly appreciate it! Your comments on the "nuggets" gave us all a little giggle, but your concerns are noted. In fact, Holiday Inn - as a brand - has decided to change our pillows across the entire system to a larger, more full pillow that has been tested as being "nugget-resistant" :)

We all really love working here, making our hotel a GREAT hotel that guests LOVE! It is very rewarding to read a review such as yours and we truly hope your travel plans will bring back to Oceanside to visit family again soon.

Until then, we wish you and your family the best!

Sincerely,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We found this last minute and the rate was great. We walked to the Marina for dinner, it was that close. Great experience and will recommend this hotel in the future. Beautiful granite throughout the room. Atleast a 42" flat screen for our enjoyment. We also like the separate room for the shower and toilet. Bob M.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Bob,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience - we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and enjoy the granite counter-tops and 42" HDTV's again soon!

Happy New Year,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Overall it was a nice clean hotel. My room was spacious and comfortable. The only issue I had was a couple of other guest on my floor decided to have an argument at 2am. I reported it to the front desk. The evening bartender was excellent and the happy hour meal was a great value. The party I was traveling with ate them out of all of their chicken wings. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and a spectacular sunset. This hotel is a great proximity to Camp Pendleton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSU1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience - we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and apologize for your noisy neighbors. Thank you for calling and letting our staff know about the problem. We remember your infamous group and their love of our homemade chicken wings. Next time you are coming our way, please give us a call ahead of time so we can stock up on them so there is no risk of us running out. :)

We hope to welcome you all back again soon.

Best Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager, Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motown
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Overall good hotel for one night stay. The lobby and entrance to the lobby is not very appealing. However service was excellent. Everyone from waitress to lobby staff were pleasant and helpful

I was upgraded to a junior suite being priority gold member. The room was clean and perfect for my family. Free parking and wifi were definite bonuses. The gym was small but adequate.

We arrived late at night so we ended up eating dinner and breakfast the next morning. The kids ate free which was a definite bonus. I thought food was average at best.

Location is convenient to the freeway but really not much in the way of views or scenery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
454 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Address: 1401 Carmelo Dr, Oceanside, CA 92054-1012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing