We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked a King Bed Junior Suite with breakfast, because we have two children and read on the website that this included a sleeper sofa, plus in the amenities it included a rollaway. However the website failed to mention that the rollaway was a $20 a night charge, so we had to sleep the two kids in the sleeper sofa instead. The website also states that the packages includes breakfast, but when you get there, you get given a $20 breakfast voucher, which means that you are required to pay extra to have your breakfast (the buffet is $10.95 each plus tax). I did put my foot down on the second and third mornings as the website clearly stated that it included breakfast and not just a part of it, and the staff were able to fix that up. They did tell me that both of these complaints had been noted and they would correct the website, however a month later the website is still the same. The staff were friendly and helpful, but I don't accept getting a different deal from what I booked.
The room was great. The bathroom sink was in the main room, where it doubled as a kitchen sink. There was a microwave and fridge which was great. The bathroom was just a shower over a tub with a toilet next to it, so not much room to move to get changed. The hotel is excellent quality and very clean. Plenty of parking and a great location close to the freeway. We would definitely stay again, just disappointed they haven't fixed the marketing errors up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMumoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Hello and thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent holiday to Southern California! We are very happy you enjoyed the hotel and staff.
As of this month, the hotel changed its fulfillment of breakfast-inclusive rates from a $20 voucher per night to be "Full Breakfast for one or two adults sharing a room." This new fulfillment will allow up to two adults to enjoy either our breakfast buffet or order off the menu (including 1 main, 1 side, & 1 drink). Of course, kids under 12 still eat free for all meals with a paid adult.
Rollaway Beds do carry a charge of $20.00/nt and it is stated under the Guest Room amenity page of our website; however, I do see that it does not quote a price under the executive rooms or suites section - our IT folks are working to have this updated or removed.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope that your travels bring you back to visit again very soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 394 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We came to Oceanside for my husband’s annual reunion with his Marine buddies.

This was the nicest Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. The lobby is institutional; the front desk, the restaurant & the “bar” such that it is, all run together but the staff were very nice. Emily, the bartender, stayed open a bit longer so my husband & his friends could continue to catch up. Her husband was a Marine so she was happy to give them more time together.

We loved: the room décor with dark woods; the kitchenette, the location, the HUGE shower, the outdoor hot tub, the observation deck on the 6th floor, & the staff. Even though they were full Saturday night, there was plenty of parking. I was pleasantly surprised to find guava juice as one of the choices for breakfast. The facility has on-site laundry which must be great for military families. The WiFi worked well.

We weren’t crazy about the extremely noisy room air conditioner, the dryer smell & heat in the halls.

There’s a gas station on the corner by the Del Taco and the Denny’s. It had cheap soft drinks & a fairly well stocked liquor store. I’m not sure who would buy Johnny Walker Blue at a gas station but you can. If you go out the back of the hotel and around the pool for the Days Inn there’s a dirt path you can walk down to the harbor where you will find a variety of restaurants in all price ranges. Friends walked the 1.5 miles to the heart of downtown Oceanside. We paid about $6 with tip to take a cab. N.B. Cabs are scarce because all the Marines are using them for the same reasons. It was nice that people think about not drinking & driving.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear dalm0m, thank you very much for taking the time to complete such a detailed review of our hotel and your visit. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again for next year's reunion (perhaps with all the Marine buddies too).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend, May 26-28, 2012. This hotel is about 30 minutes from downtown San Diego, but it's freeway all the way and a beautiful drive. The service at the front desk was friendly and organized, and promptly gave us our key. The room was very large and we had a lot of room for our belongings. The bath is split so the sink is just outside the door to the toilet and shower, very convenient. I must say, the shower is only a "shower,' not a shower/tub combo, and it is tiled. It is one of the LARGEST showers I have seen -- very, very nice! Our window overlooked the highway (eh), so we spent some time up on the 6th floor observation deck. You can see the marina and the ocean quite nicely from here. Also, the marina is a good place for dinner -- it's about a 1/2 mile walk down a path -- and there's some great seafood choices there.

The reason I gave four stars instead of five is because breakfast was TRES HORRIBLE!! Service was awful, the two waiters serving our area didn't pay any attention to us until we said something. It's a buffet breakfast, and when we arrived at 8:00 AM, they were already out of pancakes. When the pancakes DID arrive, they were rubbery. The eggs were obviously made from powdered eggs and the juice was out of a can. We paid $12.95 each, I wish we'd gone somewhere else instead. It really was not worth the $$ we paid.

Overall, a great experience though. Just don't eat the buffet breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for the south side of the building -- although you will overlook another building (between you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LieslR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel, and we apologize that your breakfast experience was not up to par with the rest of the hotel experience. We will use your feedback to improve our future service provided. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina is an awesome, family centered hotel. The on-site restaraunt is great and the rooms are clean and modern. Close attractions include Oceanside Marina/Harbor/Beach, Mission San Luis Rey, and SD Zoo/Safari Park and Sea World San Diego, And other SD County Attractions. Overall great hotel and staff was extremely nice!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caltraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and took advantage of all the great attractions that the Oceanside / San Diego area has to offer! See you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were going to Legoland, the beach and Sea World, so the Holiday Inn Oceanside was perfect for us as far as location goes. The staff was very helpful with directions and anything else we needed, including beach towels! I prefer the complimentary breakfast the Holiday Inn Express offers because we like to let our kids eat while we get ready, but not that big of a deal. The rooms were nice and big and the walk to the beach was easy. There are some nice restaurants and shops down on the harbor. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefairygodblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

We are very happy you enjoyed your visit - thank you! The hotel, beach, harbor, shops, and restaurants are all waiting for you to return - hurry back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

After hearing mixed reviews of Oceanside I was somewhat concerned about heading there for work. After arriving at the Holiday Inn Oceanside, my concerns were dismissed. The property is very nicely appointed for a limited service hotel.

The rooms appeared brand new and include an oversize shower and flatscreen TV. I didn't dine in the hotel, but the menu for the restaurant looked great! The front desk staff was great and very helpful with recommendations for off property dining.

The property is not on the water, but it is an easy walk down to the marina. For a business traveler, this is by far your best bet in Oceanside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iGoFarDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here in June with a group of soccer families. We chose this place so we could all eat, have cocktails and hang out after our soccer tournament. What a dissappointment! No one to take food orders, no one to cook and no bartender. What a dissappoint! We had to move the whole team over to Dennys. UGH!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dprell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear dprell,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations. Please accept my apologies for the unacceptable service you received during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Have a wonderful day and thank you for sharing your experience!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#13 of 27 in Oceanside
478 reviews
1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Address: 1401 Carmelo Dr, Oceanside, CA 92054-1012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: $137 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing