We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort
Nearby Hotels
Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Oceanside(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
$139
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
$128
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Oceanside(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Oceanside Inn(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
$93
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
$95
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Oceanside(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
$95
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown(Oceanside)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
254
192
71
39
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
192
71
39
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungetrain noiseocean viewparking passsales pitchsan diegonorth toweroceanside piersales presentationfree underground parkingfull kitchenbedroom deluxeactivity centerwasher and dryerjacuzzi tubruby's diner at the endtimeshare points
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 596 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had water damage in our house a few months back and needed to have our entire downstairs flooring replaced. We didn't want to stay in the house while the old flooring was being ripped up, so we needed a place close by to stay. I thought of the Wyndham because it has a beautiful location and has large suites with kitchens and living rooms. We stayed there for a week and it was perfect. Large, clean, nicely furnished rooms with all the amenities needed for a family of 4. They have daily activities for kids that are really cool. The staff was so nice and helpful. Although we weren't technically on vacation, it felt like we were. We will definitely go back for a summer getaway.

Room Tip: Request a room on opposite side of train tracks.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie O, General Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Hello Michele!

I am pleased to hear you selected us as your home away from home during your reflooring project and that you and your family enjoyed it so much! I hope you had the opportunity to visit the 7th floor Sky Lounge to take in the beautiful panoramic views of the coast! One of my favorite places on property.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back for an official family getaway!

Best wishes,

Cherie Ordway
Resort Manager
760.901.1200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We are Wyndham owners and periodically they will invite owners to a "party weekend" Well, it wasn't a weekend and not really a party, but we really enjoyed our stay at this resort. I believe that the thing that sealed the deal for us was we were promised "no sales pitch." The itinerary was three nights and four days at the resort that included a first night welcome dinner with the other invited guests, a tour of the Carlsbad Flower Fields on the second day and dinner at 333 Restaurant, and breakfast on the third day with about half the other members to tell "best vacation stories."

The resort was spotlessly clean. We had an ocean view 2 bedroom suite on the 4th floor of the north tower, and although a little compact we did not feel crowded with ourselves, and our daughter and her husband and our granddaughter. There's plenty of secure free parking under the hotel. There's a nice heated swimming pool and hot tub on the second floor and an exercise room. Best of all they were true to their promise and throughout the organized activities there was no hint of a sales presentation or offer for one.

The location is nothing short of ideal, about 30 miles north of San Diego, right on the ocean across the street from Oceanside pier. On Thursdays they close off a couple of streets in downtown Oceanside (short walk from resort) for a Farmer's Market in the morning and in the evening even more streets are closed and it becomes the Sunset Market with the addition of lots of food vendors. A wonderful variety of choices of all imaginable ethnic cuisines -- making any choice difficult. The resort is also located close to Carlsbad, CA where LegoLand is located.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view, either to the north or the south, the rooms with the southern exposure also have a view of the pier.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie O, General Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hello Mr. Lee!

What a great recap of your stay with us! I'm pleased to learn that you were able to truly enjoy yourself while attending the Party Weekend event hosted by Wyndham, and more importantly they met your expectations. You highlighted two very popular events that are held weekly in downtown Oceanside, our morning Farmers Market and our evening Sunset Market. The evening market, offering live entertainment and foods from everywhere draws thousands of people each week! I hope you had a chance to also visit the Harbor, just a mile north of us. It's a great little place to catch a day trip for fishing or whale watching, or just rent some kayaks or stand up paddle boards, a great day for the entire family.

Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope you have the opportunity to return for another family getaway!

Best wishes,

Cherie Ordway
Resort Manager
760.901.1200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed this past weekend and had a great time. The team at Oceanside were GREAT hosts and sponsored several time for social meet/greets. The location is fantastic to enjoy the ocean -- whether walking the pier, surfing or simply placing toes in the water. We enjoyed the Fields of Flowers event and the vintage auto event over the weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room on 7th floor and corner suite. Good view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie O, Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hello!! What a great way to start the day, appreciate such positive comments! I'm pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of the many great activities and events that the resort and community have to offer! Spring kicks of many great events that take place throughout the city and community for the rest of the year with something for everyone nearly every weekend. Visitoceanside.org is a great tool to plan your next trip!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Wyndham, we look forward to welcoming you as our guest again!

Cherie Ordway
Resort Manager
760.901.1200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great location for going to the Pier/Beach. We are a timeshare owner and the bedrooms weren't the most roomiest. We stayed in the 2 bedroom. They had lot of activities for families to do which I liked (we went to appetizer night (free), family movie night (free), pizza bingo ($7 per person included pizza, salad, drinks and bingo with prizes), my girls did some crafts in the craft room which ranged from $5-$8). If you are wanting to go to San Diego quite a bit I think you will be disappointed in how long the commute/drive is to downtown. We made several trips and the drive/traffic was exhausting. We did take the Amtrak one day to downtown to go on a whale/dolphin watching excursion and that was nice and only a few blocks from resort (family of 4 it was $54 one way). The Amtrak train comes through quite a bit so that was a little annoying at times. Shops, movie theater and dining spots are within walking distance so that is nice. I wasn't so thrilled with the beach itself - dark gray/almost black sand (sort of gross). The pier had a nice restaurant at the end of it (Ruby's) and you do get to see some great sunsets from this spot! We have stayed at Harbour Lights downtown in the past (their sister resort) and I much preferred that so we could walk everywhere. We picked this spot so my kids could be close to the beach. One thing that was upsetting to me was when we checked in they asked for a credit card for incidentals. Nothing said of anything being charged. The next morning I look at our account and they debited $150 from our account (nothing was ever said about charging our card). I went back to service desk to complain on a Sunday - took until Tuesday to remove hold from our debit card. I think when a family especially is on vacation these things need to be CLEARLY stated before you go charging someone's card $150 and not tell them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel4osu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie O, Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments! I am pleased to read that you took advantage of the many activities we have to offer on site! We strive to offer fun things to do for all ages.

It is unfortunate that many of the winter tides eroded the sand from our local beaches, but each spring the harbor to the north of us is dredged with the sand being placed back on the beaches near the pier. In fact, the pipes are being set up today.

Most concerning though is that we did not clearly communicate the $150 incidental hold we place. It is standard practice for hotels and resorts to request a security deposit for incidentals. When a credit card is used, it truly is a hold. It sounds like a debit card was used in your case and it is true, the monies are deducted from the account. We should be requesting credit cards rather than debit cards, so I do apologize for that. I will certainly share your comments with the Guest Services team and reiterate the importance of clearer communication.

We hope that you visit us again in the near future; my favorite time here is in September. The weather is beautiful and the summer crowds have returned home.

Happy Travels,
Cherie Ordway
Resort Manager
760.901.1200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a family spring break trip with three kids (ages 6, 9, & 10). We stayed for 4 nights and really lived each moment. The property is beautiful; recently remodeled and well-kept. So close to the beach we were literally in the water in less than 3 minutes.

Within walking distance to too many restaurants to name (we liked Hello Betty's across the parking lot), quick mart, and shopping... Movie theater close by too, in case you need something to do on a rainy day.

While you're there, definitely plan on eating at Zig Zags which is located downstairs in the Wyndham. Excellent pizza and incredible salads!!

The property has a nice workout room and beautiful pool and spa. Another cool touch is the Sky Lounge up on the 7th floor - great place to watch the sun set - available for all guests.

The staff is very helpful and super friendly. The concierge helped us make our whale watching reservations (discounted price, excellent boating company/cruise) and hooked us up with a discount for wet suit rentals too.

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank NikiArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie O, Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Hello Niki!

Thanks so much for sharing your experience, you touched on the many highlights of the resort and community, even my favorite place on property, the 7th floor Sky Lounge. I hope you also had a chance to take part in one of our many activities hosted by our Team in the Activities Center on the second floor.

I hope you also were able to enjoy the Oceanside harbor, just a mile north of us. Another great place to enjoy dining, fishing or whale watching excursions or an afternoon out enjoying the harbor on a kayak or paddle board.

We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Enjoy your travels,
Cherie Ordway
Resort Manager
760.901.1200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews