We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise is very nice...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
GreenLeadersSilver level
ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paradise is very nice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

When we first arrived we were excited, because we had a beach front room! The view of the beach was so nice - we could see miles and miles of the ocean and sand from our balcony. We had a two bedroom suite which had a kitchen, two bathrooms, washer and dryer, front room, Jacuzzi whirlwind tub in the master bath. We pleased with the cleanliness of our room . The rooms had had a slight beachy (relaxing, calm) undertone. The workers were very friendly and were willing to assist us as we were new to the California scene - they were very helpful. People always talk negatively about the neighborhood, but we walked around the surfer town with no problem. The neighborhood was actually quite nice, It was a very laid-back town. Oceanside is the probably the best place for this Wyndham resort; it totally fit the entire atmosphere. The hotel pool was relatively small (probably because there's a beach right across the street). We didn't spend anytime at the pool, because we were too busy swimming in the ocean. The beach seemed like the popular choice for the locals however it wasn't overcrowded. The locals were very friendly. We definitely recommend staying there -don't let the negative reviews scare you!

-Tipp&BB

Room Tip: Ask for beach front room, or just a nice view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tippANDbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    160
    59
    31
    30
See reviews for
250
128
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in February. It was very nice and great to see the ocean when we got up each morning. We had morning walks on the beach and watched the waves crash in. We also walked the pier to the end where "Ruby's" Restaurant was and had a great dinner. The only thing this resort did not have was some vending machines and ice. All suites where we were, but I was looking for a cola and ice and had to walk to a near by store. Would definitely go here again and recommend a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Wow! Great accomodations, service, guest relations, not to mention the Beautiful View from the 7th floor of the entire coastline. Sunsets are a treat (especially with that special someone)!
Location-just park at the hotel and forget the car. Everything is in walking distance that is needed-good food, shopping, theater, bars and yes...the Beach! Early morning strolls are a must if you like breathing fresh, invigorating air. Lots to do and sea (pun intended). Bring a good camera, beach attire and get ready to relax. Oh, and the rooms... a little over-decorated, but I did not let that bother me-used it for sleeping because there was so much to do! Everything was just excellent!

Room Tip: 7th floor west side rooms with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Great location with the beach, pier and town nearby. It is a manageable drive to the city from here. The sky room on the top floor offers great views. Staff are very friendly especially Francisco (Franc) in maintenance and Chelsey at the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

As a Wyndham owner, I enjoy visiting different resorts. My husband and I have been to several over the past couple of years. The Oceanside Pier resort has clean, comfortable rooms. We stayed in a two bedroom 2 bath ocean view deluxe room. We walked down the pier and had great milkshakes at Ruby's. The concierge will direct you to Ralph's for groceries but we found a Fresh and Easy store not too far away. The nice thing about this store is that they have heat and serve meals that are convenient if you don't want to cook a full meal from scratch.

The single worst thing about my experience is the update or informational "45-minute" meeting. We were actually led to believe that we would get a break from a high pressure sales pitch. That there was some kind of directive to leave owners alone this month. This was absolutely not true and the meeting was almost 2 hours, not 45 minutes. I felt like I was in a car dealership without an option to walk out. I don't know why I have to repeatedly (and I'm not exaggerating) say that I wil not buy, convert, or sign any kind of contract during my stay.

Stay for the location and view just stay away from the sales office unless you have 2 hours to listen to a sales pitch and another 2 if you actually decide to buy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weezee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Location, location, location. What a great place to stay because it is walking distance to almost everything you want to do. Don't miss the friendly pelicans on the pier! And, especially, make sure you visit Ruby's; a restaurant at the end of the pier finished in the 50's and 60's style. Their hamburgers are delicious. The beach across from the resort is huge with lots of surfers to watch. Lots to see in the area such as the San Luis Rey de Francis mission, etc. Also, the staff at the Wyndam are outstanding. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try for ocean front in either tower if you are looking for ocean view. If view doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

OVerall I can say I'm happy with my stay but not impressed and probably won't go back. Its beautiful, well priced and centrally located but the overall service you get there was nothing to write home about. Almost as if we were a nuisance, getting in the way of them doing nothing lol.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oceanside
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 28 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
3.0 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#4 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort

Property: Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort
Address: 333 N Myers St, Oceanside, CA 92054-2526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Family Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Oceanside Pier Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing