We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cool spot! Must see!”

Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreation Area
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.99*
and up
Pismo Beach Dune Buggy Experience
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Oceano
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super cool spot! Must see!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Amazing dunes to ride atv's for hours but BE CAUTIOUS of lots of pits and other riders. Its like mad-max out there!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yourotchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    29
    9
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fun!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We've gone to the dunes a few times. So much fun to drive out on the beach with 4x4 vehicles, quads, OHV's, etc. There is also an open riding area off the beach. They accept reservations for overnight camping and can get really crowded. Many people camp with tents or trailers. You can drive out there with a car, but beware it is sand. People get stuck in the soft sand all the time. Day use is $5. Plan a picnic, campfire, beach combing and water fun. ATV rentals are available on the beach. Also air for tires, dune buggy rides and trailer pumping services. They're are no RV hookups on the beach.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank k7333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“everything taken while away”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

On july 23 2014 we spent the day. The winds ended up being 45 mph so our shade cover broke and the tents got coverd in sand inside and out, we decided to seek shelter in a hotel for the night when we returned the next morning. Everything we had was stolen except the broken frame of the shade cover. This is the Eighth year we've camped on the beach here never had any trouble. We even helped the people next to us when the wind sent thier tent rolling across the sand, we chased it and returned it to them. I will never go back to Oceano beach , to ride or camp. Beware of thieves roaming around late at night or before sunrise

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank frk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Drive on the Beach!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming here for 35 years.Great dunes for atv's.Also for people who just want to drive out onto the beach.These opportunities are becoming less available anywhere.Come support the Oceano dunes.Lets keep it open so future generations can enjoy this unique experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Totally Kicked Fun on Oceano Dunes!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had the utmost fun on Oceano Dunes!!!!!!!!!!!!! We originally went there to do the ATV rentals, but we saw the vehicle area and decided to do that. It was off the chart fun!!!! We looked a little out of place since we had our rental car and not the typical 4 wheeler or Jeep, but it didn't matter. Everyone was pretty cool at the beach. We actually saw a gull get a fish and a peregrine falcon get the gull. It was Discovery Channel all over! We spoke to the Conservation guys and learned so much from them. I have to say it was one of the high points of our vacation!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tymetocruz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreation Area also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing