We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Dinner”

Union Hotel Occidental
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Occidental Union Hotel was established in 1879. It has been in the Gonnella Family since 1925. The Historic building houses a cafe, saloon, dining room, and The Bocce Ballroom. The cafe opens at 6 am every morning serving freshly baked pastries and coffee. The dining rooms and saloon open daily at 11 am. A favorite lunch or dinner at the Union usually includes delightful salads, soups, pizzas, pastas, beef, chicken and of course the house tiramisu. The Saloon is known for serving the coldest pint of beer in town. The Union is where generations of families and friends gather in Sonoma County.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife asked me where I wanted to to go for my birthday dinner and I did not have to give it any thought. The Union Hotel in Occidental was my immediate answer. My dinner consisted of bruschetta, clam chowder, warm sour dough bread, antipasto, salad, ravioli, rib-eye steak w/mushrooms, green beans, roasted potatoes and carrot cake. My wife had the prawn pasta as her main course. As always, great food and service at a more than reasonable price. Plus there were leftovers to take home.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SignorOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got the BBQ Chicken Pizza with what tasted like two-three day old chicken. Could barely eat as leftovers three days later. Ended up throwing the pizza away. This is the second time in three years that we’ve made the trek to eat at Union Hotel (the original) and supposedly the best. Both my wife and I feel ill right now. Ate there 15 years ago and liked it. Don’t understand the hype. There are far superior Italian restaurants that are a lot closer. On a good note, the Minestrone soup is exceptional.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank LivingTheDreamAs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

Each year the Union Hotel opens their doors for an evening of caroling, cookies and hot apple cider. It has become our tradition to attend this FREE event and nothing puts you in the Christmas spirit more than this. The Gonnella family generously does this for the community. It is my understanding that they made 4500 cookies. The joy in all of the children's faces is priceless. (AND, the dinner before hand was fabulous!)

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SignorOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

Whenever we want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the San Francisco Bay Area, we take a lovely drive up to the Union Hotel Restaurant in Occidental, just south of the Russian River. If the weather is nice, dine on the trellised patio, take in the atmosphere and enjoy the history of the place.

Your meal will start with a basket of “pizza dough bread” – just out of this world! Or, try the bruschetta as a starter. We always enjoy the wood-fired pizzas in any combination and the pasta dishes are lovely (big portions). Another favourite is the roast chicken and the spinach salad is just perfect. Portions are very large, so a couple can easily split one main course and a starter or salad and walk away completely full and satisfied.

If you’re not up for a meal, please do stop into the saloon for a taste of the Old West. The locals are friendly and a colourful lot and you might just pick up some local history.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2019

What a great find..stopped for a cocktail after several wine tastings. Low and behold they had a plate of spaghetti and meatballs with garlic bread for some low ridiculous price. I ended up splitting it with a friend and it was fabulous. The cocktails were NOT measured but free poured and the other diners were so friendly. I stopped for a quick cocktail and stay hours which I met new friends. Can’t wait to go back...Thank you for keeping the Union Hotel original.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Hotel Occidental also viewed

Occidental, Sonoma County
Occidental, Sonoma County
 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 
Freestone, Sonoma County
 

Been to Union Hotel Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing