We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place in town”
Review of Union Hotel

Union Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orange, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The place in town”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Of the two in town (village) this is the one not to miss. Old style building, food coming out of your ears, it just keeps coming. And the food is great. Ribeye steak will not only fill you up, butwill fill you out. Gained 6 pounds in 10 days.... oops.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank terrywaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    75
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY impressed!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

During our yearly trips to the River, we always make the drive over to the Union Hotel for a wonderful family style dinner! My mom has been coming to the Union Hotel since she was very young and it is now a family tradition. The meals and service never fail to impress. I can honestly say that I have never had a meal that was less than perfect. The waiters and waitresses are also outstanding. Barbara (the first person you likely will see when you enter) is the nicest woman you will ever meet. I always look forward to talking with her and being welcomed in such a friendly and loving manner. I would very highly recommend the Union Hotel to anyone visiting the area. The food is consistently wonderful and the portions are very generous. I'm even very tempted to come from San Francisco just for dinner and go home. It is just that great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for good atmosphere, pasta and a welcoming staff. Found it!
We ordered pasta ala carte being not hungry enough for italiana family style....perfect!
Special thanks to our waiter Max who made the evening even more enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacksonville_FLKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
288 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Over many years of visiting Occidental, I always wanted to try this place. Well, it was unimpressive on the food, nothing special on the service, and not really cheap either. Not recommended except to view it from outside, at least in my opinion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bartc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We took the coupon we received from Canopy Tours for the free bruschetta for lunch. It was so delicious that we returned for dinner later that evening. The meal was delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank janfranhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Hotel also viewed

Occidental, Sonoma County
 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing