We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner @ the Union”
Review of Union Hotel

Union Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Novato, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner @ the Union”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We hadn't been there in a while, but we were impressed by the service and the food.
It is still one of the friendliest places to eat in Northern California. For service & "old world" style it can't be beat! Still family owned & operated, our server was more than pleasent, yet not intrusive. We spent little time waiting for anything, yet we were able to enjoy eating & talking for nearly 2-hours which made for a memorable experience. The minestone was deliciously fresh with vegetables, the pizza excellent, the steak to order, and the new england clam chowder the best I've ever had. Everything had so much flavor! Impossible to finish it all as usual.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    78
    28
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Way Toooooo Much Great Food !!!!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Union Hotel has been a family favorite for more than 50 years. Five generations have eaten there. My daughter and son-in-law were in town for the holidays which means a trek to Occidental. It is a 45 minute drive for us and well worth it. As always, the food and service were fantastic and price more than fare. Also, there was plenty of left overs to take home. At the end of the meal, I was too stuffed to eat more, but I ordered carrot cake with the intent of taking most of it home. It along with the raviolis that we were not able to touch at dinner fed me for a couple of days.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SignorOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots of food!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fun and funky place. Tons of food and their breadsticks are to die for! Consider splitting an order as you get a lot of food. Service was great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kndrdsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great starters, appetizers, drinks and staff but disappointing main course”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Actually the title says it all. We went to the Union Hotel restaurant and had lunch. Their wait staff and hostess were very nice and accommodating. The bruschetta was quite tasty as were the soups, drinks and salads. I ordered the chicken picatta but found it so-so in quality and disappointing for the price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sfcelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming - another great visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We made our yearly drive up to the Union Hotel - we look forward to visiting again for the 364 days after we go each year. Barbara is always kind to our girls, making them feel special with a personal tour of the bakery which is beautifully decorated for the holidays. This should be a must visit on everyone's list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Hotel also viewed

 
Occidental, Sonoma County
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing