We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, walls are paper-thin”
Review of Occidental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Occidental Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had trouble sleeping or even being in the room during my stay because of noise. I have traveled around the country and have never experienced walls like these that amplify the noise of other rooms (TV, people talking, etc). The noise was actually louder between rooms than outside the rooms when I walked the hallways to figure out where the noise was coming from.

On the plus side, the room was very clean. On the minus, the amenities and rooms do not match the high price (no breakfast, etc). I also found the staff uptight and it seemed like "no" was the default answer to any request made (although they did make our checkout time 30-60 min later than originally indicated, after which time they charged by the hour).

Overall, I was not impressed and will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nypl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Hello nypI2001,

Thank you for providing your comments on what looks to be a less than satisfactory stay with us. It is rare for us to receive a two star rating. Our goal is for every guest to have a positive experience.

We have reviewed the record of your stay and would like to apologize for any noise problems you encountered. Your stay occurred over the Thanksgiving Holiday weekend which is one of the busiest times of the year for us. Unfortunately, even our best soundproofing efforts (we have state of the art "quietrock" soundproofing drywall installed between all of our rooms) sometimes fall short when families and their relatives get together. If made aware of the issue while it is occurring often we can make your stay better by contacting the room next door to ask them to be a bit more quiet or in extreme cases moving you to another room.
We are sorry you felt your room rate was high priced. Our room rates for the nights of your stay were equal to or below Hotels of similar quality and amenities. Room rates are relative to the area where the Hotel is located. Our Hotel, nestled on a quiet hillside among redwood trees overlooking the Historic Village of Occidental, will cost more than a similar Hotel on a busy, noisy thoroughfare in Santa Rosa.
Our staff wanted to apologize again regarding your request for a later checkout than the one hour they gave you. Often we can do better than that and in the majority of cases we do allow later checkouts free of any charges. They hated to say no to your request but the Hotel was full the day of your checkout and guests were arriving for the room you were in. In order for us to have the room cleaned to our exacting standards and ready for their arrival we could not accommodate your request for more time. Once again, our apologies.
As evidenced by the other reviews on this website we try very hard to make every stay for every guest a great one --- every time. We are are sorry we fell short in this case but will continue to do our best moving forward.

Sincerely,

Occidental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 126 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a nice motel, clean and with all the standard features. The location is remote, beautiful and close to Alliance Redwoods and Sonoma Canopy Tours, a great place to zipline. But there is nothing outstanding about the property itself. If you're on a tight budget, I recommend staying in Santa Rosa and driving to your destination in the Occidental area. Same thing with the restaurants. Nice, quaint, but pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Hello jcmorris,

Thank you for your stay at our Hotel and for the four star rating you gave us. We take great pride in trying to provide a wonderful experience for every guest on every visit.
We were sorry to hear you felt we were expensive compared to Santa Rosa Hotels. Normally we are very competitive in price with Hotels of similar quality and location that have a Santa Rosa address.
Staying in Santa Rosa and driving to and from attractions like Bodega Bay, The Pacific Ocean and Zipling is possible but we would like our guests to consider the cost in gas and probably most important the loss of valuable vacation time driving to and from these destinations. We are located minutes to all these and other attractions. To top it off we are located in the heart of the Village of Occidental, where if you choose, you could park your car and never use it again while walking to unique shops, restaurants, and, other amenities.
Once again, thank you for your stay and we hope you will make a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Quaint little motel from the 60s is clean, with a very nice staff. Beds were very soft, toilet paper was like tissue paper, towels were thin, heater old. In room fridge was handy. Hundreds of TV channels. Location is the draw, as the tiny town of Occidental couldnt be any more charming. As I said, hotel staff was very down home and accomodating, but establishment could use some updating...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Only downside was not so friendly staff. Room great with all the needed amenities. Great location and lovely town. Not cheap but no more expensive than the nearest chain motels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Clean, pleasant, and very standard motel-type lodging. Price seemed way too high for the quality of the room and the hotel' severe few amenities. We figured that the price point was because this is a fairly out-of-the-way town and there's no competition.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GreenInkStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1yulupa39, General Manager at Occidental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Hi Dorrit G,

Thank you for your stay and feedback. We value every guest and all the comments we receive. We are more than a bit concerned about the impression you came away with of our Hotel. We reviewed the pricing of our rooms on the nights of your stay and found our rates were below those of competing, similar properties. Our only conclusion is we may have been compared us to lesser quality properties in worse locations or something to that effect.
Another possibility is you may not have booked directly with us and booked through a third party booking site like Expedia, Hotels.com etc. The rates when booking through sites like those will be higher than booking direct with us. We want you, and all our guests, to get the best rate possible. Like our website says "book directly with us for the best rates". We want every guest experience to be great -- and that includes the online or telephone booking experience.
We are sorry that your experience and impression of us was lacking but hope you will look us up in the future when comparing properties in the Wine Country/Pacific Ocean region of Sonoma County.

Sincerely,

Occidental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great hospitality, comfortable well-appointed rooms at a reasonable rate! Paid TWICE as much for a room of inferior quality in Healdsburg the prior night. Nestled in a cute town in the saddle of the coastal range, a fun place from which to explore and enjoy either (or BOTH) the wine country or the beautiful north coast Bodega/Tomales Bay area. Delicious oysters from Hog Island Oyster Company (Marshall, CA) and fine wines from Sonoma County made our Dillon Beach picnic a mouth-watering experience! A zip-line adventure the following day at Sonoma Canopy Tours added more fun and excitement just 5 minutes from the Occidental Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem well situated! Pleasant swimming pool area is easily accessible to all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiwhenucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Way off the beaten path but clean! Very nice staff and the town, as the highway name states, is very bohemian! The town is only a few blocks but it has character. Bohemian Market reminds me of Trader Joes years ago.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAMVACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,779 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
539 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
146 reviews
6.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
121 reviews
19 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price Range: $141 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Occidental Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this multi star rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Occidental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing