We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!!!”

Sonoma Canopy Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Ziplining Adventure in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sonoma Canopy Tours is located in Occidental, CA - approximately 1.5 hours north of San Francisco and 30 minutes west of Santa Rosa in the Sonoma County. Sonoma Canopy Tours offers two courses - both course feature 7 ziplines, 2 sky bridges, stairs, and end with a rappel to the forest floor. The Forest Flight Course is offered during the day & night flights are available. The Tree Tops Course features a longer zipline and is perched above the Forest Flight Course.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I planned this excursion as a surprise "grand finale" to a wonderful week with my husband in Napa for our 25th wedding anniversary. He was totally surprised, and we were both thrilled with the entire experience...start to finish! Our guides, Sarah and Mark were a delight...encouraging, knowledgeable, friendly, authentic, and hilarious! They were professional and made us feel safe throughout the whole trip. There are 7 lines or varying lengths. The first run is fairly short to build your confidence and get rid of your jitters and by the second and third runs, you are having the time of your life! There are two suspended bridges and a gorgeous spiral staircase that you ascend around a giant redwood tree. The last thrill is an 80'rappel to the ground from the treetops. We enjoyed getting to know the other couples in our tour group of eight as well as our tour guides. We will come back to Sonoma Canopy Tours each time we return to northern California and cannot wait to bring our college-age sons with us next time!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TXfamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    42
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an exhilerating ride.........WHEEEE!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We chose the hottest day in October, so thankfully we were 100 feet up in the redwoods. Can't say enough for this group. The young man that greeted us was talkative, informative and helpful. Our two guides were lots of fun and made us feel safe. This trip consists of a truck ride up the hill to the visitor center/store where we were helped into our riggings and given safety instructions and a small run of what to expect and how to slow yourself down or stop. We felt comfortable and were excited to get going. We did nearly 2-1/2 hours of zipping through the redwoods. 7 ziplines, one over 800 ft long, 2 sky bridges and a spiral staircase up a redwood and then an 80 foot rappel back to base. Couldn't have asked for a better exciting day for our anniversary than that!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome day of Ziplining!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I haven't had as much fun as I did on this tour in a long time. The staff was very knowledgeable, funny and always made us feel safe. It was a great way to experience the redwoods. To read about my experience and to see some photos we took you can see it here: http://caseyturns30.blogspot.com/2012/09/a-birds-eye-view.html

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the charts!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

OK, if you're worried about being afraid, you just might be. My wife and I were (we're in the Medicare crowd). The wonderful thing about this tour is they start you off very slowly with a couple of short zips. By the 3rd or 4th run, you'll be a pro and just enjoying the views and the thrill. The other great feature is your guides. We had Ed and Joel but we heard a number of others who sounded great. They are humorous and help those who seem a little worried with great advice. The attachment methods (redundant cables and clamps) just makes you feel safe. What an exciting way to take time out from wineries. Out of 10, I'd give this an 11!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gentle Zip Lining for EVERYONE”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Previously I had zipped in Costa Rica and loved it. Brought my boyfriend to zip for the first time while we were in the wine country. Afterall this is a good alternative to drinking wine all day.

The instructions were thorough; the people for friendly; the runs were easy. Too easy for most of us. But a great start at zipping for anyone who might be very nervous about the adventure.

The company gives a 15% discount for AAA members and were nice enough to offer the discount AFTER we finished zipping. I just emailed them my number when I got home and they issued the credit immediately. That's a class operation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MKE817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Public Relations Manager at Sonoma Canopy Tours, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for the kind words! Yes, Sonoma Canopy Tours is located in the midst of the Sonoma County Wine Country and is a terrific alternative to wine tasting!

We just ask that you schedule your tour with Sonoma Canopy Tours BEFORE wine tasting to ensure a safe and memorable experience for all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Canopy Tours also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing