We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great time at the zip line”

Sonoma Canopy Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Ziplining Adventure in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sonoma Canopy Tours is located in Occidental, CA - approximately 1.5 hours north of San Francisco. The tour contains 7 ziplines, 2 sky bridges, a magnificent spiral staircase, ending in a rappel to the forest floor.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a great time at the zip line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and safety oriented. This is a really fun activity for the adventurous. Phone ahead for reservations

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FJC0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    40
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
394 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“ALWAYS A THRILL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

this was our 2nd flight with SCT. my adult kids joined me again on this nippy december afternoon. our guides were ian and mike who kept us chuckling and complimented us. the zips are always thrilling and it is very nice how they vary the order we go in and no one is in a rush. the whole experience and organization is well run. just like last time i have already given someone SCT's info.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank flashncrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cullen and Molly Rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Thanks to Cullen and Molly our boys had a wonderful time. At 11 & 14 they appreciate being treated like grown ups and I think they did a great job of making sure they were safe while making them feel confident in their zips! They also took very good care of my husband who was a little nervous with the heights!

Helpful?
1 Thank C496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun Times in the Redwoods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife, sister, her husband and myself went zipping in the Redwoods of CA. the first week in Nov. It was a crisp and beautiful day. We were teamed up with 2 other couples. They only take 8 people per group so you need to make reservations. We all had a great time. My sister was a little scared in the beginning but by the end she was wanting more. The staff are very professional and make your time fun and exciting. I highly recommend this for everyone. According to the guides they are looking into putting lights in the trees so they can do night zips. The day zip has beautiful views and would go again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank papajym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Closest You Can Get to Flying -- Exhilarating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

My teenage daughter and I have been celebrating our birthdays together by treating ourselves to special outings for several years. This is by far the best one yet!

There are eight ziplines to complete, including a 175 foot sky bridge suspended between the trees. At the end, you rappel 80 feet down to the forest floor. Our guides were professional and friendly and kept us laughing through the tour. It's just amazing being hundreds of feet up in the redwoods! Although you can feel the trees sway a bit, you're always hooked on safely with strong cables. You start with short zips and work your way up to the longest at 800 feet. The highest one is 300 feet above a steep ravine -- better not to think about that while ziplining and just enjoy the views of the ancient redwoods!

I recommend using the leather gloves over the cloth ones because you have to use your hands to slow yourself down when coming in to land. The ones with a hole in the pointer finger are great for taking pictures. Bring two cameras if you can so you can take pictures of your friends and vice versa. They attach your camera to your harness by its strap so it's hard to share. Also, don't take anything up there (glasses, wallet, keys) that might fall out of pockets while zipping among the trees.

I wouldn't recommend this if you have a paralyzing fear of heights, but many people work through their fears doing these kinds of things. We had one lady on our tour who wanted to conquer her fear of heights and she did great. You feel like you've really accomplished something when you get through. We also had an older couple in their 60's join us. There is some climbing and pulling involved, so you want to make sure you have some stamina but most anyone can do it.

It's just crazy fun!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank fun2travel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoma Canopy Tours also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sonoma Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing