We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic.”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very romantic.”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

A beautiful old house in a small village. Great setting for romance. A little pricey but good. Breakfast and service was first class. You get free wine in the afternoon. There is a good little pub around the corner that specializes in unusual beers - worth a look.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adavidson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    46
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
223
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I wasn't looking forward to the final night of our 10-day elopement and honeymoon in northern California. I'm not a bed-and-breakfast guy and that was going to be the finale of the trip.

With the exception of our actual wedding stay at Elk Cove Inn right on the coast and further north, it was the best experience we had and that's saying a lot because we didn't have a bad experience during the trip.

Jerry and Tina, the owners of the Inn, were gracious hosts who allowed us to play with their black-and-white Shi Tzu very similar to the one we left behind in Ohio. We enjoyed the wine hour in the evening before dinner, and their breakfast in the morning was spectacular. On our day, the feature was homemade granola, fresh fruit and lemon baked eggs among other things. Wow, who knew I'd like eggs baked with a hint of lemon?

We stayed in the Tiffany Room. It might have been a tad feminine, but it wasn't as bad as I expected going in. The bed was super comfortable and my favorite parts of the room were the double shower and the private balcony patio overlooking a redwood. I took a little nap in the late afternoon sun while laying on one of the lounge chairs out there.

It's remote. Cell phones didn't work and there was no TV. There's wireless Internet access, but no pool or tennis courts, so kids probably wouldn't enjoy a stay here. But couples wanting a quiet and romantic couple of days will be hard pressed to find a better inn to experience.

The town of Occidental was neat to experience. It's small and off the beaten path, but the folks couldn't have been nicer. There are quite a few shops in the two blocks that make up downtown. One of the best meals (and cheapest) on the 10-day trip was at the Union Hotel, and authentic, homestyle, old-school, Italian restaurant without pretense. They don't scrimp on the portions and the quality is top notch. It's has been there since the 1800s and in the same family since the 1920s. Truly a neat place to have a meal.

And truly a neat place to wrap up a honeymoon. I just might turn into a bed-and-breakfast guy yet if they're all as nice at Jerry and Tina and their inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmccurdy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I booked a last minute extended weekend getaway for my husband and I to celebrate his birthday. The innkeeper's friendly assistant greeted us at the door, helped us with our luggage, showed us not only our room but gave us a tour of their lovely B&B. We were made to feel immediately welcome and at home in a part of the country we'd never ventured to before.

Our room, the "Sandwich Glass Suite" was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean with attention to every detail. the feather beds were comfy and the down comforter was cozy in the Northern California crisp nights.

Our cell phones did not have any reception in the area, but the inn had phone cards available for purchase which we used when we needed to call and check on things at home. No TV made it possible for us to remember our joy of reading and many interesting books, magazines, and newspapers were available for our reading pleasure. Three local restuarants within walking distance all had wonderful food and the inn keepers had great suggestions for other eating establishments when we wanted to venture out a bit further.

We'd not hesitate to visit again, and we'd like to bring our kiddos with us and perhaps rent the 2 bedroom cottage they have available when we return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmama2n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

This and the equally wonderful Joshua Grindle at Mendocino provide a wonderful pairing.Our stay in the Summer room (great views) was magical. Hosts Tina and Jerry were so helpful and friendly. Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

As always I had a relaxing stay at the Inn. Read by the fireplace, in one of my favorite rooms, the Sandwich Glass. Once again, slept great, there beds are the best. Apple sour cream waffles, oh my... Thanks Tina, Jerry, Kristen and Deborah!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendoZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We called that day to see if they had availability, which they did and we got a great room called the Sonoma. The bed was made out of a tree and it was kind of rustic but great. Had a jacuzzi an fireplace in the room. It was top notch and very romantic. We enjoyed our stay so much. Had cheese/crackers and wine during happy hour and everyone was so nice. They brought a TV to our room so we could watch TV later on. Breakfast was buffet with a hot entree of potenta crusted quiche...excellent. The B&B was lovely...one of the nicest rooms we've stayed in and we do a lot of B&B's. Definitely a winner in every way.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I can't believe I went back so quickly but I just couldn't imagine finding that level of comfort and relaxation anywhere else. So I went back! Another picture perfect weekend tucked away in wine country paradise. I always stay in a different room because I love looking at the unique decor in each room!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
118 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
496 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
99 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing