We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a getaway!”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a getaway!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We really had fun escaping San Francisco and finding the Inn at Occidental; convenient for visiting wineries in Russian River and just enjoying the countryside. We loved getting back and having wine & snack in the main room; really lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    46
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
226
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We love staying here and combining with the Osmosis Spa. The theme room are fun and hard to find these days. Love the jaccuzi tub in the room. Grounds are peaceful and pretty for relaxing or reading. Breakfast is very good. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: My personal favorite is the Safari Room. But any of the theme rooms are nice and have the jaccuzi tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigereyes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Greated with a room upgrade on arrival, though to be honest a spa bath is not something we would pay extra for. Very comfortable room, quiet (except for the local fire department siren that went off during 2 of the 3 nights we stayed!). Excellent breakfasts and Tina catered for my aversion to all things eggy at breakfast. The evening wine and nibbles on the veranda are a good end to day and a chance to talk to fellow guests before heading out to dinner. However, our last night coincided with a group booking for a local cycling tour company and this did spoil the dynamic for the evening.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ashgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We come here about once a year and always look forward to it. This is a luxury inn with warm and welcoming staff, excellent breakfasts and comfortable beds. Occidental is a charming town in the middle of the redwoods.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baybritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Each room has a different theme- adding a touch of whimsy to your stay. There are lovely added touches in the room like a cd playing relaxing piano music and a jacuzzi tub. The owners are very personable; you can tell they care about your experience. At 5 pm, they serve wine and cheese in the living room. The layout of the room was such that we all got drawn into conversations with the people around us. A little pricey but if you're looking to get away for a special occasion- a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Occidental for a week and had very wonderful stay. The room was clean, beautifully furnished and had a jacuzzi and a beautiful fireplace that started up at the touch of a button. The property is lovely with flowers, pretty landscaping and even a fresh lemon tree. The complimentary breakfasts were gourmet tasty treats filled with fresh ingredients with new delicious choices every day. The afternoon wine, cheese and crackers was very relaxing on the beautiful porch. Jerry, the Innkeeper was a wonderful help in planning our daily trips out to the Sonoma and Napa Valley wineries. He helped us map out our day and recommended great restaurants along our daily ventures out. We took romantic strolls through the quaint town of Occidental many times during our trip. The Inn and the town were the perfect home away from home for us and we will be sure to return and to recommend. Thanks Jerry and Tina!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landgmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Loved it!!! This is a lovely hotel. The owners are so helpful. The room was beautiful. Ours had a fireplace, jacuzzi …. spacious and loads of charm. Breakfast was delicious! Within a short walk of a few restaurants and handy stores.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepapedemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
121 reviews
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing