We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home (but better!)”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Felt at home (but better!)”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Occidental. The place is beautiful, breakfast is amazing, and the owners make you feel so at home. They had an evening wine and cheese session, which was a nice way to meet the other people staying at the Inn. We would highly recommend this experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    46
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
223
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It’s a quaint little B&B with small rooms a friendly staff, and the best chef (at least for a B&B)!
Tucked away in a redwood and mountain surrounding town of Occidental you’ll find yourself without cell reception living only on WiFi alone. The travel times to the wineries are a minimum of 15 min and the town of Occidental doesn’t offer much outside nature (restaurants are below average).

That said it’s a great spot to “get away” for a few days. If you’re looking for peace and quiet this is an ideal place to do this.

Room Tip: Can't speak for the other rooms be we loved the Tiffany room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awb2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerryoccidental, Owner at Inn at Occidental, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We value reviews of our Inn from guest who have stayed with us. This review commented on several things which need an appropriate response. The guest felt room was somewhat small in size. The room has a wood burning fireplace, queen bed, private bathroom, closet and a private deck. The room is 312 sq ft. and the private deck with sliding glass door 144 sq ft with two chaise lounges and metal deck table with 2 chairs. 15 minutes to the nearest winery is not accurate. Freestone has Joseph Phelps winery 5 minutes, Marimar Estate 5 minutes. Dutton-Goldfield, Merry Edwards. Red Car and Lymar another 5 mintues. I could continue on and bring another ten up within the next 5 minutes. Sub par food? Take a look at the reviews on Bistro Des Copains french bistro 2 blocks from the Inn. Recently written up in the Santa Rosa Democratic Press as an outstanding Sonoma restuarant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Inn at Occidental this past week. Our room was great; very warm and cozy, a gas fireplace for heat, attractive decor and wonderful breakfasts. They host a wine and cheese each evening which featured plenty of wine and cheese and a great time to meet and talk with other guests. The hosts are amazing at helping you find places to eat as well as activities. They made reservations for dinner when needed and would print maps to navigate.

The one thing which we didn't expect is that Occidental is not in the traditional vineyard area. It is close to the coast and we spent a day there. You do need to travel on rather windy narrow roads to get to the tourist areas.

That being said we still had a wonderful time with some great hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Safari room and loved it. From what we could see of the rooms in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliotCorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerryoccidental, Owner at Inn at Occidental, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
It all depends upon what you are looking for in a getaway from today's stress full world. The Inn at Occidental is located in a small village surrounded by orchards, redwoods and vineyards. Day time activities include; zip line through towering redwoods less than 5 minutes, exploring the spectacular coastal beaches 15-20 minutes, kayak or canoeing on the Russian River 10 minutes,bike through towering redwoods at our doorstep, explore West Sonoma trails 10-15 minutes, walk through majestic old growth 300 feet redwoods over 1500 years only 20 minutes, golf on the links at Bodega Bay 15 minutes and many more to keep you motivated to come back for more. In the evening you can walk to 4 Occidental restaurants all within 2 blocks. I must admit the nearest malls and big box stores are 30 minutes away in Santa Rosa. We do on occasion do a getaway to San Francisco which is only an hour to the Golden Gate Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My recent trip to Sonoma was a nice mix. Our base camp was Occidental, a charming little township founded in 1876 on the Bohemian Highway. This road travels through 10 miles of eye-popping scenery, including giant redwoods, sun-drenched pastures, historic apple groves, and three lovely towns — Freestone and Monte Rio on the ends, and Occidental in the middle.
Occidental was an ideal staging area, just 60 miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge and convenient to the Russian River wineries and the rugged Sonoma Coast.


We stayed at The Inn at Occidental, a first-rate 16-room Victorian bed and breakfast in the heart of town. Each room has its own theme and is decorated with original folk art and antiques. The owners and hosts were super friendly and helpful when planning where to eat and spend you time wine tasting or sight seeing the incredible countryside.

Our bedroom suite was spacious, with a sitting room, and beautifully appointed with comfy robes, a fireplace and a spa tub for two. The inn also provides a wonderful gourmet breakfast and an evening wine and cheese offering to its guests.

From the inn you can stroll the tiny town, browsing several art and craft stores as well as other quaint shops selling all kinds of weird, wacky and wonderful stuff. (One shop turns all sorts of discards into lamp bases.)Throughout the year, the town is home to entertainment events , including concerts featuring locals and world-famous jazz, folk and classical artists.

The handful of fine dining and family-style restaurants are within a stone’s throw of each other, as are a handful of motels and B&Bs that dot the perimeter. There are several restaurants in the area where fine dining and casual meet the road.

We had an excellent culinary experience at the Bistro des Copains, a casual dining gem just a half a block from our inn. See my review.

We had a wonderful experience at the Inn and would join the many regulars who return year after year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite rooms is the Marbles. This time there was three of us and plenty of room. The sleeper sofa was very comfy with a feather bed and of course high end linens.

They are just a short and beautiful drive to Hog Island Oyster Company.

Chef Victoria made sweet potato hash with an egg, it was very tasty, along with blueberry white chocolate muffins. Thank you Marilyn for always recognizing us! Tina and Jerry, you have a wonderful Inn! Thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendoZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Our 25th anniversary is coming up and we've picked this Inn as our destination. We've stayed here several times and wouldn't stay anywhere else in the wine country. Other than the uniqueness of the facility the real attraction here are the owners Tina and Jerry. They're warm and hospitable and they treat us like family.

Breakfast is always great, the afternoon happy hour is fun. You can always make a new friend. While the location is a little off the beaten path you can get to the Sonoma wineries in about twenty minutes and to the Pacific Ocean in about a half hour.

This is definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert54245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield, california
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Inn the past weekend and it was one of the most pleasant experiences we have had in the wine country. We stayed in the "Cirque" room which had a circus motif, and it was very comfortable and clean. The fireplace was an added touch even if it was gas-powered. The "happy hour" wine and cheese in the evening were an extra bonus to compliment the wonderful breakfast we had the next morning. The staff are totally dedicated to making your stay a truly memorable experinence and we received some great help in finding local wine-tasting adventures. The Inn is perfectly situated in scenic "downtown" Occidental, and very short walk to several nice restaurants. We dined at the Bistro des Copains again (see separate review) and had a fantastic meal. We will definitely return to the Inn in the future!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairfield_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
119 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
496 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
102 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing