We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Country Touring”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wine Country Touring”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely B&B with great hosts and the breakfasts were superb. It is just too far west of the wineries themselves. If you're looking to tour the coast line and our take advantage of the Canopy Tours Zip line close by, it's wonderful. Otherwise, just know that you're going to have to drive a lot to visit wineries and great restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful and well taken care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spontaneousus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    46
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
223
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penryn
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here only one night (bummer) on a bike trek. The place is amazing. We had a top room w/ a gorgeous view of Occidental from our porch. This place is so peaceful and relaxing you do not want to leave. Owners and staff are very nice and helpful. It has all the modern amenities like wifi and business office. A great place can't wait to go back

Room Tip: try to get on of the top floor rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwdrlabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had an amazing time. We arrived and was so surprised when they up grated our room for our Anniversary. The rooms are so unique and we loved the terrace. Breakfast was so nice and the staff made you feel right at home. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique and a different theme. Check their web page. Check the pool by mistake, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniFBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Every room is designed with a different theme. Don' t envision tacky,...think really creative! I promise you will be delighted as I was. Breakfast was a nice treat. The evening wine social was nice especially on their terrace! Loved this unique inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Since we're just coming from Santa Rosa (only a 30 minute drive away from Occidental) - one might think we'd want to travel a farther distance to have our anniversary get-away... but they would be wrong. This Inn is delightful - we've stayed in their Wine Country room and their Kitchen Cupboard room because we love the spa tub and I love the fireplace. We've always been greeted warmly - and on our second visit for a babymoon/anniversary celebration we were pleasantly surprised to see a cupcake for 2 waiting for us in our room! The restaurants around the Inn are all wonderful (we recommend Bistro des Copains for a special treat) and look forward to the breakfast in the morning. So really, a perfect get-away - and the best part for us is that it isn't hard for us to "get away" to it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, TX
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the last two days of our honeymoon. We had dreary weather (cold and rainy in early April), but we still had a perfect time. We stayed in the Cirque du Sonoma courtyard room. It is at the very top of the rooms that are outside of the main house, and it is definitely a lot of stairs to climb (and for my new husband to tote our luggage up - lol). The plus side to that, is that the deck on the outside of the room overlooks the quaint town. We felt personally welcomed by the innkeepers. Upon check in, we were given a tour of the property and guided to our rooms where they gave us instructions on the fireplace, etc. In our room, they had a rose picked from the garden and a note congratulating us on our marriage. It was very welcoming. The innkeepers were very helpful at the wine and cheese reception on giving us advice about wineries in the area, towns like Healdsburg to explore, and making dinner recommendations and reservations. The room was large and very comfortable. The tub and shower were very nice. There is a small grocery store a block or so away from the hotel. I walked there while my husband was taking a nap, and picked up some bottles of wine, cheese and crackers and in the evenings we sat on our deck or enjoyed the fireplace. It was perfect. Like other reviews have mentioned, there is no cell phone reception in Occidental (and it is spotty in the surrounding areas). This didn't bother us at all as we were trying to getaway. The breakfast was good. They had a nice spread of food. One of the mornings, my hot entree was super sweet and rich, but I ate fruit and granola instead and was fine. The only thing I regret is that we didn't stay here longer, it was the high note of our honeymoon.

Room Tip: I personally am glad that we stayed in a courtyard room which isn't attached to the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerryoccidental, Owner at Inn at Occidental, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
It's always a rewarding feeling to receive such a positive review from one of our guests. I would like to add to the comment that Verizon cell service is available in Occidental and the Inn does have line land phones in each rooms plus we have wireless service through Comcast.
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here while on a bike tour, and I think this place might be the most beautiful I've ever seen, beginning with the courtyard of rose gardens and the wrap-around porch with white wicker furniture and green plants. The original part of the inn is decorated with hand-painted murals and interesting furniture, making little sitting areas cozy and private. There are also outdoor sitting areas. Each room has a different theme: my bed was a tree as were several of the lamps in the room. The jacuzzi had ducks in the bottom to welcome me. There was a deck overloking the town. The bed could not have been more comfortable. The cooked-to-order breakfast the next morning was perfect and more than plenty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
118 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
495 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
99 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing