We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practically Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here while on a bike tour, and I think this place might be the most beautiful I've ever seen, beginning with the courtyard of rose gardens and the wrap-around porch with white wicker furniture and green plants. The original part of the inn is decorated with hand-painted murals and interesting furniture, making little sitting areas cozy and private. There are also outdoor sitting areas. Each room has a different theme: my bed was a tree as were several of the lamps in the room. The jacuzzi had ducks in the bottom to welcome me. There was a deck overloking the town. The bed could not have been more comfortable. The cooked-to-order breakfast the next morning was perfect and more than plenty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ML M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    45
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
220
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed two nights recently and loved it. The place is charming, the afternoon cookies (with tea or coffee) were fabulous and the morning breakfast was yummy. Didn't take advantage of the hot entree but instead went for yogure, fruit and granola (plus another baked good fresh from the oven). The service was great and very homey. The room exceeded our expectations. Comfy, comfy, comfy bed; nicely appointed bath and ample sitting area. We even turned on the fireplace for a little ambience. Loved falling asleep to the sounds of the fountain right outside our window.

We thought the owners were gracious and hospitable. They are real pros at running a B&B. The outside gardens are lovely.

The town has a few restaurants and a few stores. Thought our dinner was the worst meal we had on our 12 day trip from Seattle to San Francisco. Hard to call that food "Italian." The breakfast/lunch place in town was delightful. Ate lunch outside on a glorious day in September. Very good food for reasonable price.

The zip lining place is 5 minutes away and fun (and easy).

Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKE817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

An anniversary getaway. Two nights was a day more than we planned, but once we got there we wished we had planned to stay 3 days. No cell phone reception, no TV in the rooms, no radio signals, and didn't miss anything. Our last visit to Occidental was 36 years ago. A lot has changed, but it doesn't show. The Inn at Occi is BEAUTIFUL - gardens, exterior, common areas, and fresh spacious rooms. Wow.
LIght breakfast is included, featuring fresh fruit bowl, house-made granola(do not miss this), and a special entree that's different every day (Quiche on Sat, Eggs Benedict on Sun). Wifey ordered scrambled eggs with veggies - no problem. Many restaurants within walking distance, Too many local shops to list from groceries to wines to herbal meds. within 20 minutes drive are more great restaurants, wineries. Bicyclists ride through or stay. Its a hub for many forest-farm-ocean routes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos,CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Occidental Inn has several positive attributes to recommend it. It's set back from the main street by about a block and a half, which makes it very convenient to walk to dinner. The town is quite small. It is near several wineries. It has a lovely garden with flowers all around. Our room was quite large with room for a sitting area and a separate bath and shower. Certainly I've seen nicer bathroom fixtures and flooring (linoleum and indoor/outdoor carpet) but everything was clean and functional. They also had a refrigerator and a very nice balcony with flowers all around it. The room was decorated with a circus theme. You are given free wine tasting vouchers to several wineries.

So, where did things go wrong? First off, we were in a rush when we checked in as we wanted to go wine tasting before the wineries closed and we had less than an hour. The lady who showed us around made a big deal about the fireplace but said nothing about the air conditioner. Fast forward a few hours. We come back to our room and change for dinner. We walked down to the Union Hotel and sat outside on their lovely patio. We had a wonderful meal with the best tiramisu I've ever had. We walked back to the hotel and sat outside on our balcony for a little while but it was pretty hot even though it was only the middle of May. We went to turn the air conditioning on and couldn't get it to work. We've been to plenty of hotels in our time and never had this problem before. Honestly, if it is that complicated, there should be written directions. So, we can't get the air conditioner to work and we open the door to the balcony to get some air. Unfortunately, that also let in plenty of noise because that's the downside to being close to the action.

So, we kept alternating between opening and closing the door as we were either too hot or it was too noisy. Finally, we fell asleep. I woke up around 2:00a.m. to a dog whining and barking. The owner finally took the dog out and I was relieved because I thought I would finally get some sleep. However, not more than an hour later, the dog started up again whining and making noise and they didn't take him out. Personally, I think it's a mistake to allow dogs in a small inn like this precisely for this reason. If the dog starts acting up, it disturbs everyone around it. So, I ended up getting about 3-4 hours of sleep that night which is certainly not what you want to have happen on vacation. We went to breakfast in the morning and it was very good. You had a choice of either one or two eggs benedict. Unfortunately, I was pretty cranky from lack of sleep.

I told the wife (a husband and wife own this inn) what had happened and she looked stunned but didn't say much. Later, I got an e-mail from the husband saying we should have called them about the air conditioner. Maybe we should have, but putting up written directions would be helpful for future guests. He was kind enough to send me a voucher for a future stay, but I am unlikely to use it. I would be afraid that the same dog noise problem would crop up again. Honestly, major hotels are already allowing people to bring their dogs. A small inn should separate themselves from the rest by not allowing dogs. People would choose them so they would be guaranteed a quiet and peaceful night's sleep. Since I can't count on that with their current policy, I won't be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not directly above a dog friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan & Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerryoccidental, Owner at Inn at Occidental, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
As owners of the Inn, we thank the couple who stayed with us and provided us the feedback.
All guest rooms at the Inn have air conditioning. We greet and give all of our guests an orientation about the Inn. Following the orientation we escort each of our guests to their room and once in the room we explain all of the amenities they need to know. It appears in this case we overlooked the verbal explanation on how to operate the A/C unit in the room. We have apologized to the couple and I had sent them a one night gift certificate due to their unhappiness. Additionally, following their departure we added a small written procedure on how to operate the A/C unit in the room and placed it in a prominent location on the unit. The Inn has 18 guest rooms in 3 buildings. We have 4 pet-friendly rooms in one of our buildings. We were at a loss for words when we heard that a dog had started to bark late at night. As owners we live in the Inn and respond immediately to any issue which may arise. Unfortunately we did not hear the dog and we did not receive a call. Hopefully our gift certificate for a return visit will be used to regain their confidence in our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and the EU
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had high hopes for this hotel as one of the nicer ones on a three week honeymoon around California and we were not dissapointed. We stayed in the Quilt Room and it was excellent with a huge bath and a great bed. From the offset the staff could not do more to help us plan our visit and sat down with us to pore over maps and offer discounts where applicable, at no point did they push any in particular which was refreshing. Every evening they have a very liberal wine tasting session from 1700-1800 with cheese and meats to be washed down which was a very welcome event and a great way to kick off for a meal at one of the three restaurants in town (a very short walk away). Overall we loved the Inn and Occidental as a place and had a great time exploring the area, we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussar6838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very comfy beds, quality linens, nicely designed rooms (though some might find their look to be too country/frilly). Very friendly and helpful people.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the top floor of the annex and it was more spacious and had a charming balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I returned to the Inn after a stay there numerous years ago: it's still a charming little place in a quaint little town. We enjoyed our stay and the area. The staff was friendly (giving us restaurant advice) and the room was nice.

Two things I'll note: 1) We noticed that our room (Sonoma Lodge) was a little worse for wear. The entire room is decorated with pieces from birch branches along the point wear the wall and ceiling meet: pieces are missing, or are hanging down the wall held by only the bark or there's a piece of Velcro where the birch should be. It gave the room a disheveled appearance (breaking up the intended effect). 2) The wine and cheese service had gone downhill from our last time. To put it in perspective: Sonoma has some great cheese and wine producers. AND the Inn is a pricey place that prides itself on being a distinctive B&B. What surprised us was that two out of three of our cheese choices were cubed Monterey Jack and orange cheddar. I don't mean to sound snobby, but I have yet to find a winery in Sonoma that would ever serve their wine with such uninteresting cheeses. Plus, the staff serving the wine didn't even tell us what wine they were serving (the choices were white or red) and when I tried to look at the bottle I couldn't because it was being whisked back behind the counter so quickly. Again, I mention this because many hotels and B&Bs in the area are very happy to showcase the wine and cheese they serve and this wasn't our experience.

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing