We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We stayed one night here during an overnight shopping trip to Santa Rosa ... what a treat! The drive from Highway 101 to Occidental was scenic, winding through small towns and orchards, and allowed us to forget the bustle and traffic of the Santa Rosa area. Arriving in Occidental, the Inn is easy to find and walking distance to several great restaurants. We dined at the french bistro down the street, which I highly recommend.

The Inn is beautiful on the outside, and totally unique and comfortable on the inside. The Marble Suite (our room) was bright, well lit, quiet, comfortable and clean. The Inn has lots of character with antiques and personal touches all over. Another definite plus - the extremely comfortable bed.

Breakfast was served from 8 - 10, which is great because you don't have to decide the night before what time you'll be up - just stroll in as you like! The scones, coffee and granola were really excellent.

I would recommend this Inn to anyone traveling through the Northern California area. It's conveniently located near the Sonoma wine country, as well as the Bodega Bay coastal area. I would definitely go out of my way to stay here again, and look forward to doing so! Thanks to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank innkeepmendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 359 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2007

I decided to surprise my partner for his birthday with a weekend in wine country and stumbled upon Inn at Occidental while researching online. I called and spoke to Jerry, one half of the innkeeping duo, who was immensely informative and friendly. The following day, I mentioned my plans to my boss and, before I could tell her where I was planning on staying she blurted out "YOU MUST GO TO INN AT OCCIDENTAL!" Seemed like a sign, really...

What a fantastic experience we had. Occidental is a lovely little town tucked away in the Russian River area and the Inn nestles right into a tree-covered hillside. The rooms are very comfortable, the amenities are fantastic, the view is lovely and the decor is whimsical without being even remotely tacky. Our jacuzzi was fantastic and we had a great time chatting with the guests over wine and cheese in the main guest house. Jerry, Tina and their associate Kelly were all VERY helpful guiding us to the perfect restaurant and even made sure we had a table ready when we arrived. Their breakfast the following morning was wonderful and, by the time we were leaving, we were already making plans with Jerry and Tina for our next visit! Thanksgiving and Christmas will now be spent at the Inn!

We were looking for a getaway from the city life in which we live and this was by far more perfect than I could have expected. There is little to no cell service out there which, for us, was that much more of a perk, actually! We can't wait to return!

DON'T FORGET to ask about the personal wine tour offered by the lovely Soussan!! YOU WON'T FORGET IT!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rigazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

The Inn at Occidental is a superb and relaxing bed and breakfast. We visited the property in September 2007 and stayed in the Quilt Room. Our accommidations were spacious, well-decorated and comfortable, and graced by a large bath with a whirlpool tub, a spacious and modern shower, lovely bath products and soothing, richly made robes.

The Inn is beautifully and comfortably furnished with an eclectic collection of art. The reception area is a comfortable place to sit and conversem and the garden perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine, or for listening to the fountain. The Inn's management and staff are welcoming and knowledgeable-- and do seek out their recommendations for day trips and dining options.

Breakfasts at the Inn at Occidental are ample and beautifully prepared and presented. Main course offerings, such as eggs benedict or French toast (and this is no ordinary French toast-- you must taste it) are accompanied by fruit, juices, granola (again, not ordinary-- a must-try), yogurt, a pastry or bread of the day, and hot beverages.

The Inn at Occidental also offers nightly wine and hors d'oeuvres hours. We enjoyed these events, which gave us the opportunity to meet other guests-- a diverse, intelligent and interesting group-- and chat with the innkeepers, Tina and Jerry.

The Inn is located in the Russian River Valley of Sonoma County, and is close to the California coast, redwood forests, and vineyards. Our daytrips to all were great successes-- we were exhilarated by the beauty of our surroundings and enjoyed the chance to taste California wines, especially zinfandels, at the source. For those looking for a spa experience, search no further than Osmosis, a 20 minute drive from the Inn. Osmosis offers world-class massages and a cedar enzyme bath, a technique imported from Japan and not otherwise available in the U.S. We've visited spas throughout the U.S. and Osmosis is first-rate.

While our AT&T cellphones did not work in the area immediately around the Inn, the Inn offers Internet if you need to get an e-mail out. We were able to use our cellphones during our daytrips.

In sum, the Inn at Occidental is a wonderful place for a relaxing vacation or long weekend, and is a wonderful place to celebrate a birthday, anniversary or other special occasion. We had a marvelous time and look forward to returning.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank AnonymousTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Well first off the town of Occidental is in the middle of a wooded area... very natural feeling to it. The inn is on the Eastern slope and looks to the other side of the narrow valley to the West.

When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. While I had been forewarned, it was still a shock that there was no TV in the room.

What was one to do except "bond" with their significant other. Well we ended up playing Wineopoly until 3AM! (She won)

The Inn has a nice deck for a sunset glass of wine, our jacuzzi tub was refreshing and the room spacious.

Clean and comfortable. If you are in the area, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wildvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Warm, welcoming, peaceful, romantic, the Inn at Occidental exceeded our expectations. From homemade treats in the afternoon to wine and cheese in the evening and a very delicious breakfast in the morning, we highly recommend this B&B for your next trip to the California wine country. The bed was so comfortable with crisp sheets, feather beds and down comforters. Our hosts Jerry and Tina, were very knowledgeable about the wine country and guided us to some great off the beaten track boutique and award winning wineries. Don't miss the excellent French restaurant across the street (nice not to have to drive) and the amazing spa just a couple miles down the road. All in all a perfect get-a-way, can't wait to visit again and we hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bbfergu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

My husband and I had such a great time. The Inn was just wonderful , the people (both the guests, the inn keepers and their staff) were outstanding, the town as charming as can be. But our room, it was just the best, during our stay we were able to poke our heads in some of the other rooms and I have to say the room we stayed in ( Cirque du Sonoma Room) beat them all hand down....when I first booked the room on online and checked out the photos...I was less then stoked about spending my relaxing weekend in what looked to be a bright yellow room, but it turned out to be just fabulous! I can't wait to go back. Oh...and don't miss the spa down the road, osmosis.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hoffmandavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

This is a great B&B that is clean with good service & food.

We were in California for the Russian River Barrel Tasting weekend in Sonoma Co. We stayed here because our reservation at another B&B had to be cancelled because of flooding (a very rainy spring). This B&B was farther than we would have preferred for that event, but would be great for other occasions.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkb1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
7.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
125 reviews
7.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
701 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
214 reviews
12.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range: $293 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing