We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highway robbery”
Review of Oakville Grocery

Oakville Grocery
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Trolley and Castle Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 Shopping in Oakville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A country store well stocked with local products and provisions from purveyors of fine food and wines.
Falls Church Va
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Highway robbery”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The food is good, the store has many interesting things but I felt ripped off when a bit of chocolate (one portion apiece) dried fruis, bottled water and a coke cost $30.00. No kidding! Go to Sunshine market up the road in St Helena instead.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank millede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    99
    34
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Oakville Grocery lives up to the hype”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and had a picnic outside between wineries during a recent trip to the Napa Valley. It certainly helped that it was a beautiful day -- we grabbed sandwiches and a half bottle of wine and sat outside for a leisurely lunch. The grilled chicken sandwich with greyere cheese (and other yummy things that I can't recall -- I remember greyere because it is my favorite) is seriously one of the best sandwiches I have ever eaten. My boyfriend got the roast beef sandwich, which was also delicious. But, I definitely out ordered him -- and he agrees. Since we have been back in Houston, he has literally been searching for a close second replica here. I don't have the heart to tell him that it doesn't exist! Bottom line -- Oakville Grocery is such a cute place, the food is great, the selection is good, and the people are super friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Quick and tasty”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went with a recommendation from elite limo napa tours to visit this place and I am impressed. They made it super simple for me, even put a link to their menu in my reservation. The sandwiches were awesome and ready to be picked up when i got there. I will definitely be craving them in the near future

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a charming (and recently renovated, I think) gourmet grocery. We wanted to eat everything we saw. We had two toasted sandwiches - one chicken and one ahi tuna - and sat outside in the sun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quaint and unique”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Loved the rabbit t shirts and the caramel sauce...this little grocery store was booming. Lots of unique goodies in the heart of wine country.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenPNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakville Grocery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
Oakville, Napa Valley
 
Yountville, Napa Valley
 

Been to Oakville Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing