We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow! complete tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Mondavi Winery

Robert Mondavi Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Napa Wine Tour From San Francisco with Castello Di Amorosa Including Lunch
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Oakville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A recommended winery in Napa Valley that offers educational tours and music concerts at select times.
Ciudad Obregon, Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“wow! complete tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We decided to take the complete tour.. I dont remember exactly but it is probably like 45 minutes to an hour long but it is totally worth it!! you get to see the inside of the "factory" how they store in those huge wine barrels, you get the tasting and you make more friends on the group! totally recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank happymary91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    337
    97
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We paid for a tour and wine tasting. This consisted of an introduction to who and how Robert Mondavi Winery was started. We then were shown the vineyard, cellars, bottling area. We were shown the art of wine tasting. The grounds have art sculptures and Cathleen our tour guide was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaywee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Informative but impersonal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We recently traveled to Napa and stopped at Mondavi vineyard. It is breathtakingly beautiful. The tasting room was built with the intention of being a visitors center in a working vineyard, so it is comfortable and spacious. We took a 90 minute reserve tour. It was probably one of the most informative tours we took. Our guide (of a group of about 20 people) was extremely knowledgable and was able to answer even the most complex questions. We were shown the grounds, including a view of the vineyard. We saw the fermenting tanks and the barrel storage room, which is worth the tour in itself. At the end of our tour, we had a wine tasting. We were given three different wines. The tour guide showed us everything -- from how to open the bottle to how to properly take our first taste of a wine. There were many wine novices in the group that were made very comfortable. We were given an appetizer to try with one of the wines so the guide could explain food pairing. For those of us that have some experiencing tasting wine, he was able to answer more complete questions. I would recommend this tour, but don't expect an intimate experience. This vineyard is owned by Constellation Foods, and it feels like a "corporate tour." If you're looking for a more cozy experience, try a smaller, family owned vineyard.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Twilight Tour is a must!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Our first stop in the area was Robert Mondavi Winery for the Twilight Tour (on Fridays at 5pm), and it ended up being our favorite stop of the entire trip. Our tour guide Doug was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, personable, and made the tour engaging and interactive for the whole group to enjoy. You have samples during your tour, which is great, so you can enjoy and learn as you go, instead of waiting until the end and feeling like it is too many different samples in a row. At the end, you are able to sample more, and there is a great cheese, nut and salami platter. The winery was essentially empty other than our tour, so it was intimate and definitely worth the $50 per person, in my opinion. I found that we compared all of our other visits to Mondavi, and they all fell short.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very little included for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We went on this tour as our first of our trip to Napa. We were completely disappointed for a few reasons. First, this was a fairly expensive tour and wine tasting, we just did the basic tour and it was $30 for about an hour. They spent a majority of the time trying to sell us on their wine club, very little actually talking about wine making and what they do. We walked through the area where they make wine, and saw their barrel storage, but that was about it. To me, this tour could have been completed in about 10 minutes, to save us the other 50 minutes of wine club sales pitches.

Also, the guide we had seemed to know very little about wines and actual wine making, and when asked questions seemed to have trouble answering them. Finally, we were offered 3 small sips of wine to try- again seems pretty small for a $30 fee.

The only redeeming point of this winery is the view. It is a gorgeous view, so my suggestion would be to go there, buy a couple of glasses of wine, and sit outside and enjoy it. Tour is optional.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ollipop87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Mondavi Winery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Robert Mondavi Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing