We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good All Around Restaurant For Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Oakley
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good All Around Restaurant For Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Every time we have visited this location in Oakley, CA, the quality of food is always consistently good. The atmosphere is homey, comfortable, good for families with children, or large groups. The portion sizes are always generous, so be prepared!. Service is very good and the servers are attentive to refilling your drinks or getting whatever you need. Black Bear Diner is noted for having HUGE bear claw pastries, along with their individual fruit pies (black berry, my favorite) which are delicious. Make sure to have some of their fresh squeezed orange juice for breakfast!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alifay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Once, while driving to Washington from our home in California, we stopped at a Black Bear Diner and loved it. I believe it was the only one open at the time. We always looked forward to traveling North so we could stop in again. That being said, the company has expanded considerably in the years following our first visit. One of the places they expanded to is Oakley, California. When we found out that they were so close to us, we decided to stop in to see if it was the same as the other one we had been to.

We stopped in at lunch time and it was very busy...a good sign that they have good service...or it could mean that their staff is slow. We were seated shortly after we gave the greeter our name. Their menu is printed on what appears to be newsprint and has news items on the front and back from years ago.

The menu is extensive. The food is better than the typical "grandma" would have cooked for you. The portions are so large that we usually split our meal, (with no complaints from the staff). I highly recommend this diner for it's quality of food and service. This diner has truly kept to the Black Bear theme, having carvings and photos of bears throughout the building. Keep up the good work Black Bear!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than your average diner (coffee-shop)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is small but expanding chain of diners. The food is well prepared and the menu is extensive.

A good choice for lunch or breakfast. The service is good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lots of good food for a great price. The people are nice. The service is great! I have eaten here for breakfast lunch and dinner and all are great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank julann71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very robust menu. Large breakfast plates for short money. Service can slow a bit when busy but they're still good. Usually a bit much food but thats ok. Great family run family restaurant. Just look at the walls and you can see how community oriented they are.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing