We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good for the airport area, walking distance to Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yoshino Sushi

Yoshino Sushi
Ranked #179 of 1,216 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very good for the airport area, walking distance to Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This small Japanese restaurant near the airport is not in an ideal area, however manages to be quite popular despite its location. It is in walking distance from the Holiday Inn. Dinner Bento box in different styles was good, delivered relatively promptly. Service was a little tired, but food was good. They had a large selection of custom designed sushi rolls with pictures on their menu, daily specials were only shown on board at the entrance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Convenient to Oakland Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The bento box dinner was good and very filling; the sushi (special maki) was OK. Dining is relaxed-paced (as was service). Food was good value for price. (The only disconcerting thing was the front and side window by the front door was broken out.)

It is definitely the best choice near the airport.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Originial far east food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Sushi is the freshest I have ever tasted and lots of other good things go and try it beef shrimp fish chicken and other items

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelershep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Actually, very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I went here because it is one of the only restaurants in the vicinity and it got alright reviews. Turns out they have some very good rolls that are unique. The crazy monkey is amazing! Service was terrific as well. I was very happy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skip over to the Holiday Inn instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife an I went over to this restraunt, we were hungry after traveling all day. We ordered the noodle soup, and two sushi rolls during happy hour. Was not a good experience for us. The food was not quality, I am not sure how they received top ratings from other reviewers....after leaving we just went to the holiday inn and had a glass of champaign and watched others eat what smelled and looked like a great BBQ dinner out on the patio....for less money then we paid at yoshino. Sorry yoshino, thumbs down.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brockketcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yoshino Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing