We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So perfect”
Review of Drake's Dealership

Drake's Dealership
Order Online
Ranked #11 of 1,490 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great place to be, food and beer so good, I recommend it !!!!! Service perfect , nice place and not expensive

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Connector368970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Abundantly friendly atmosphere with good, bright housemade pilsner & an excellent salad with lemon dressing.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryBelleIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

I went to Drake's on a pleasantly warm and sunny Sunday afternoon with family and granddog. We have been exploring local breweries, taprooms, etc., for some time now, and Drake's had been on my radar for some time. We finally made it.

There are many things to like (particularly on a warm and sunny day). The outdoor area is quite pleasant, and dogs are allowed. The beer menu is quite extensive, and you will find something that you like. Prices for beer are on par with other Berkeely-Oakland venues. In contrast to many of these other places, there is an extensive food menu. The German beer pretzels are not as good as in Bavaria, but they are better than what is served at some local German restaurants, and quite possibly the best I have had in the East Bay. Service is efficient, and follows one of these distributed service models where you may not see the same server twice. In addition to the pretzels (order the larger size if you are with a group of two or more), we ordered a pizza to have as a snack. It was one of their simplest pizzas. I liked the flavor and texture of their dough. This is not something I have said about too many other pizza places in the East Bay. Don't like floppy, flabby pizza slices that are better suited for consumption with a knife and fork (or a spoon) and need to be folded. This pizza had a bit of a backbone and a pleasant chew. I'm likely to go back with just my wife or colleagues at some point, and try other items.

The one major negative is their reservation system and seating system. It seems that you can put yourself on the waiting list for a table online, and before you actually arrive. That has some advantages. However, not knowing this beforehand, we put our name on the list when we arrived, and then headed to the waiting area. We were #8 on the reservation list; they send you text updates. Ok then. So you sit and you notice that there are about eight tables that are empty. And you wait. Then you are #5 on the list. And you wait. Finally after 20 minutes you are seated, at a table that along with others has been vacant for the past 20 minutes. The management might wish to think about how they orchestrate these reservations, and perhaps give a somewhat higher priority to people who are physically present. Their current system seems a bit dysfunctional.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Met someone at this popular place in old downtown Oakland, but we found out fast that it is a tricky place to get to (due to so much street congestion plus a detour of road repairs) plus a lack of affordable parking options. We ended up parked in a garage across the street and it cost us $30 just to park for a couple of hours. We heard it was better to take BART and just walk to Drake's, but we are not BART people. Anyway, once we got inside and were seated in the courtyard shade on a hot day, we had a very pleasant lunch meeting. The salads were great and so was the veggie burger. Interesting adventure, but "been there, done that"!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Good_Food_Lover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

Pizza was great, large portions, great apps, nice flight of beers. Some of the beers are so thick they barely pour (Cocoa Butter Kisses, I’m talking to you!). Ok, maybe not that thick but thicker than my tastes. Fun to try though. Found a fav in the Hefeweizen here!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank NCKellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drake's Dealership also viewed

 

Been to Drake's Dealership? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing