We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and friendly service ”
Review of Wood Tavern

Wood Tavern
Ranked #5 of 1,459 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Alcatraz
Transit: Rockridge BART is 5 blocks away. A major thoroughfare for bus lines, including the 51 and 151
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

We flew in for the day from Las Vegas to meet our friends here for lunch. We started off with a drink at the bar and was immediately greeted with kindness. Bartender educated us a bit about the meat and cheese selection and we ordered duck and rabbit both amazing and would order again without hesitation. Actually we did order both again later when our friends showed up. Lol. We ended up being seated with yet another friendly employee who took great care of us and even added a bit of humor to our afternoon. All of our meals went in our stomachs without any complaint. My husband had the cod sandwich which was divine... I stole a bite and his fries were perfectly salted. I personally ordered the duck for lunch and it did not disappoint! The meat was so tender and slid right off the bone without effort. The blend of sauce we heaven. We ordered more cheese and drinks for dessert and left satisfied.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank corinecatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 435 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

Recently the new SF Chronicle food critic took down Chez Panisse and criticized it for being fixed in time. Well, if you want to imagine what CP would have evolved into, I propose a Wood Tavern which is full throttle, California cuisine at its best. Well prepared and sourced, richly enriched with reduction sauces. This is the place to go on. A winter night. It never disappoints.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank cary263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Had dinner here with a group of 6 colleagues while visiting the California Antiquarian Book Fair. I had an excellent whiskey sour made the authentic way with egg white! For dinner I went with two appetizers - the gnocchi with crab and the Ahi Tuna Crudo. Both were excellent.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019

Very fresh and delicious. Definitely order the pork chops. Service is excellent and the atmosphere is perfect. I highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Amazing and fresh Californian style food and definitely worth waiting in a long line. We ordered Ribeye recommended by our friends and it is YUMMY. The steak with fabulous cut was grilled to order perfectly. Staff was very helpful all the time. Wood Tavern is a must.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RachelWarner0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Wood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing