We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient okay hotel, very good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Convenient okay hotel, very good staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Stayed 1 Thursday night. I have stayed here each month this year on an Amtrak Pacific Coast Starlight trip LA to Seattle. Amtrak up the coast to Oakland. Leave train, stay herer, fly rest of the way next morning to Seattle. No sense spending big bucks on the train when there is night or no scenery north of Oakland. Hotel is about $24 by taxi from Amtrak Station, downtown Oakland. I arrive about 22:00 and depart 06:00 so just a hotel. Front desk staff is vigilant and efficient. Stay on upper floor. Room is clean and adequate. Beds and pillows are particularly comfortable. Room is utilitarian. I never experienced any noise problems. Neighborhood is scary for sure. If you are going to stay there during the day I would consider the "real" Marriott just down the road. If it weren't for the train arriving so late, I would probably stay in San Jose which is considerably better, crime wise, and somewhat more expensive. The problem with Fairfield Inns is, if they aren't meticulously maintained, because they are so poorly built, they will quickly deteriorate into urban slum. My recommendations are contingent on doing NOTHING other than sleeping there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    71
    50
    25
    22
See reviews for
59
47
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

Only needed a room for one night before a morning flight. The front desk attendants were very courteous and helpful. We needed extra towels and blankets and they were at the room in 5 minutes. The breakfast buffet had a good selection - love those waffles! The complimentary shuttle was great. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnenighterinOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

I should have listened to the other reviewers! Worst Fairfield I've ever stayed in. Was attending an event at the Oracle Arena, which was awesome. Unfortunately, the night ended on a low note when I got back to the hotel.

Pros: Very professional and efficient check in. Thought I got a great deal on a relatively inexpensive room. They made guests sign not only a no-smoking clause, but also a no-partying-after-1000-PM agreement. I thought that was a nice touch and that I'd get a night's sleep. Should have turned and run. Breakfast bar is typical Fairfield, with Jimmy Dean Sausage breakfast sandwiches, cold cereals, fruit, yogurt, juices.

Cons: Many too many to list, from the dirty room and thin towels, to the non-working thermostat, to the noise (yes, even after 1000 PM), to the scary location. They do have a night security guard at the front entrance who logs vehicles in; however, that does nothing to keep the miscreants that are staying there. Had folks drinking out of plastic cups (containing who knows what) and smoking pot outside my window, loudly (yes, remember the thermostat and A/C didn't work). Business center is a computer and printer set against a wall in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Navy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

We selected this hotel for it's location and price. The room was good sized, and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast had a good variety.

The staff is very friendly and went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Liked — location to family
  • Disliked — Location, the neighborhood
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OsidePirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night holiday stay while visiting relatives. Service was spot on and genuinely caring. The room was spacious and clean with many extras that made us realize we packed and carted around more than necessary. Breakfast was a great beginning to our day and the location was convenient to all the attractions we wanted to see during our brief stay. An added plus was the sports pub, perfect for the evening night cap.

  • Liked — Location, accommodations, service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank teddyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

This is an extremely well-run hotel with nice rooms. The wireless internet actually worked well (gasp!!!) too. The staff was unfailingly terrific--from shuttle driver to front desk to breakfast hostess; they practically acted like concierges with help with taxis, suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing, etc.

HOWEVER. I came to watch some baseball at McAfee. The hotel promos on the 'net say it's "walking distance" to the stadium. True--but you have to "walk" through a veritable combat zone. Beggars and scary characters abound. Indeed, I was solicited by a prostitute on the walk back to the hotel after a thursday night game. Ick. Triple Ick.

It's a bad, bad neighborhood, so be careful. I would not recommend this hotel for folks who want to watch baseball, despite proximity.

Hotel has very good security, though.

  • Liked — excellent staff
  • Disliked — seedy neighborhood
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank klaskro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

We stayed for one night at the Oakland Airport Fairfield Inn prior to a morning flight home from California. We found it much easier to fly into and out of the Oakland airport vs. San Francisco.

There is a complimentary shuttle that runs between the hotel and the airport every 30 minutes from very early in the morning to late at night. We were able to check into the hotel, drop our rental car off at the airport, take the car rental shuttle to the terminal and then the hotel's shuttle back to the hotel the night before our flight. This saved us about $50 that otherwise would have been charged for an additional day's use of the rental car.

The hotel has an indoor pool and whirlpool, along with a small sports bar. Breakfast is included in the room rate and includes ready-to-make waffles, micorwavable Jimmy Dean breakfast entrees and a selection of cereal, bagels and toast.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mikekauffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#27 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Address: 8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621-1306 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 3 miles from Oakland Intl. airport, 1/2 mile from Oakland Coliseum. 32 inch flat panel TV, fitness center, guest laundry, free internet, free extended continental breakfast very clean hotel and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Oakland
Comfort Inn And Suites
Fairfield Inn Oakland
Fairfield Oakland
Oakland Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing