We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eh ”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel isn't horrible, but it isn't great. My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights over New Years. Now, we figured it would be pretty loud on NYE, but I think the walls must be made of paper, because we could hear full conversations in the room next to ours. We could also hear all the laughing and ridiculousness of all the young ravers staying in the hotel. So that was fun *sarcasm*. Also, request to be moved if you are anywhere near the ice machine. We heard, loud and clear, people getting ice all night long.
The most important thing anyone thinking of staying here needs to know is that the area around the hotel is NOT nice. We walked to and from the BART station on NYE because the front desk staff couldn't be bothered to tell us that there is a huge parking lot right next to the station that you can park in for FREE. They knew we had a car and when we were asking about the safety of the neighborhood on foot, you would think they would have told us about the parking lot, but no. Use this lot and save yourself a really scary 20 minute walk through a not-so-nice neighborhood! Along with this, don't expect a lot of dining choices around the hotel. The only options are Burger King, Taco Bell, Chubby Freeze (really?!) and a Denny's. Also, the hotel provides a very in depth room service food menu in their welcome packet, yet when we could find no where nice to go for dinner in the area and asked about the room service, they said they didn't offer it. What the what?! Stay in the city long enough for dinner or you will be sorely disappointed.
Breakfast is free, but is only offered until 9 am. I always look forward to complimentary breakfast when staying in hotels, but we never made the early cut off time.
Overall, this isn't a horrible hotel and when the price is right, well sometimes that's the deciding factor, but don't expect much from this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyGodiva30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    75
    50
    25
    22
See reviews for
60
48
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Check in process was a breeze; the receptionist was very nice and friendly. We didn't really care about rooms with a view, since we knew we would be out gallivanting the entire stay, so were okay with being given a king room on the first floor. HOWEVER, as soon as we entered the room, a funny order stuck out - the kind you smell at an elderly home. It wasn't an entirely bad odor, but it did not make the room feel that clean. The bed was huge and comfortable, the t.v was nice, but the bathroom was depressing (they reminded me of hospital restrooms).

OVERALL the staff was friendly and the location was great, but the room itself was not worth it. If you want your money well spent, I suggest asking for a higher floor OR finding a better hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RXII3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I was not disappointed. The hotel was clean, with a comfortable room at a reasonable price near the airport. The front desk staff was helpful in directing me to a restaurant for dinner that was enjoyable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank wrpupkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our suite was very roomy and appealing but we had some unusual experiences. The hot tube was too hot with no container for wet towels. The back doors to the parking lot were constantly left open and front desk was aware of this occurrence. At the first morning for breakfast, we had to eat in the hotel lobby instead of the breakfast room because there were no tables available. On the second day breakfast, all the food was not available when they opened, an inconvenience. Coupons were given out for breakfast at the front desk but were never collected. Still liked the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgemza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked a room for my elderly father so he could rest and be near the airport. I called to let the desk clerk ( feonia) i think that was,her name. That my dad would be checking in late because he'd gotten lost, so i asked if she could call me when he arrived, well she was great, she had all his paperwork and room ready and called me soon as he checked in. It was a great relief to know some ppl really care and do a great job. Thanks comfort inn.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank heavenawaitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a good place to stay at, unless high luxury is only what's going to cut it for you. Very well priced, our rooms were comfortable and came with all the required features. Breakfast was very tasty, and the staff were good. Overall, we had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley_G9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Our entire team is humbled by your experience. Your encouraging word mean a lot to us! We are so happy that your stay was enjoyable. Please visit us soon when in the area. We greatly appreciate your business. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservations online. Flew into Oakland late from Seattle, picked up our rental car and headed for the hotel. Being from the Bay Area, there are areas around Oakland that I know to avoid. The general vicinity of the Coliseum is one of them.That is exactly where the hotel was located.

That said... the the front desk staff were very nice and courteous. The breakfast was hot, generous, and tasty.

Best yet was the bed! Super comfortable. Great night of sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbukcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are so happy that our beds were comfortable. We would love to welcome you back when you visit next event in our town. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#29 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Address: 8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621-1306 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 3 miles from Oakland Intl. airport, 1/2 mile from Oakland Coliseum. 32 inch flat panel TV, fitness center, guest laundry, free internet, free extended continental breakfast very clean hotel and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Oakland
Fairfield Inn Oakland
Fairfield Oakland
Oakland Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing