We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location - at times it is all about the BED!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservations online. Flew into Oakland late from Seattle, picked up our rental car and headed for the hotel. Being from the Bay Area, there are areas around Oakland that I know to avoid. The general vicinity of the Coliseum is one of them.That is exactly where the hotel was located.

That said... the the front desk staff were very nice and courteous. The breakfast was hot, generous, and tasty.

Best yet was the bed! Super comfortable. Great night of sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbukcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are so happy that our beds were comfortable. We would love to welcome you back when you visit next event in our town. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

I needed a place in the bay area and chose this hotel because of the good reviews. I stayed for four nights and my room was clean, comfortable with a decent bed (no bed bugs) and lots of space. Free Parking and Wifi are great and breakfast has a good selection.
The hotel is close to Oakland Airport and directly next to a freeway so of course it is somewhat loud, but I don't really mind that (earplugs). It takes about 20 minutes to reach the BART station Coliseum, which is convenient if you want to travel in the bay area without a car.
The only down side of this hotel is its location. Oakland does not have the best reputation and I was a little spooked when I walked back from the BART station in the dark. If you don't mind that or if you travel by car you should be fine at the Comfort Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jugglegeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We greatly appreciate your business. Please visit us again soon. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites near the Oakland International Airport from August 19th-21st while attending the Boston Red Sox-SF Giants series. We chose this particular Comfort Inn & Suites since it presented an affordable alternative to lodging options in San Francisco proper with a BART station nearby to get you to the City. In all actuality, we did not spend too much time at the hotel since we started off early to get into SF and arrived late from the games but we were not disappointed. But I did not use too many of the hotel services like the Fitness Center.

The hotel is clean and well maintained by a friendly staff. In fact, the staff was very helpful and seemed genuinely glad to have us as guests. The breakfast was good and served our needs, consisting of the standard faire of sausage, eggs, cereal, toast, yogurt, and waffles. The free Wi-Fi was excellent and we had no problems logging on and it was fast. Some of the other hotels in the Oakland Airport area charge for their Wi-Fi so having free and reliable service is a strength of this hotel relative to others in the vicinity. The room was also quiet since it is tucked away on a side street from the busier street.

The hotel is very close to the Oakland O.co Coliseum and Oracle Arena so it is a great location if you are in town to see an A's, Raiders, or Warriors game. The BART station that provides regular access to San Francisco is also very closeby just west of the stadium. We originally intended to walk to the BART station, however, we never found a direct route and the neighborhood around is not very walkable consisting of busy multi lane streets and industrial properties. I learned on my last day at the hotel that there is more of a direct walking route but we never found the path. We did have a rental car and even with driving the short distance and with help of a GPS, we got turned around and had to take a round about way. There is a direct route that will get you to the BART station in probably 5 minutes but it was hard to find and a GPS proved of lttle help. Make sure you know the route before hand and you will be fine. The BART station has a large free park and ride lot where you can leave your car and get on the train. The lot is safe and even when we arrived back at 11:00 PM or so, the BART police were present.

Depending on where you are in San Francisco, it will take about an hour to get back to the hotel, which includes time waiting for the transit connections. The ride from the Embarcadero BART station to the Coliseum BART Station does not take too long and most of the time is waiting around for the connections. At least it took an hour door to door from AT&T Park. The BART also provides easy access to downtown Oakland.

Since our flight was leaving out of Oakland later that evening, the hotel let us keep our luggage there until we returned later in the day. The hotel does provide a complimentary shuttle to the airport that leaves every half hour or upon request. There is also a shopping center nearby with an In-And-Out Burger, whose drive thru stays open until 1:00 AM.

I would recommend this location if you are staying in the Bay Area and want a quality affordable location with convenient access via the BART to the other communities. I will stay here again next time I'm in SF to watch my Giants.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank johnva8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for sharing your experience. Our entire team is humbled by your compliments and that mean a lot to us! We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Chose this hotel for its proximity to Berkeley and it's reasonable rate (less than $120/nt booked on hotel website). Stayed in the business suite which accommodated 2 adults & 3 teenagers comfortably. The spacious room had a king bed and a partition so the kids could hang out in the living room without being in the same room as the grownups. The kitchen was nice although we only used the fridge. The free breakfast was convenient but overcrowded. There just weren't enough tables to accommodate all the guests. They did open up the hallway later on with some tables set-up for additional seating but all 5 of us were already squeezed in a tiny table for 2. I was concerned about the location as it is in the Oakland area. The parking lot was well-lighted and felt relatively safe late at night. Front desk staff was pleasant and cleaning staff and breakfast attendants were gracious. I would stay here again and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was such a surprise and the hotel was very nice. We arrived on the early side and at check in were told no rooms were ready as of yet. Asked since we had been driving if ok if we just waited, said not an issue. While we were checking on tour of San Francisco gal came out and told us room is ready.....great. So we got checked in and we reserved with our AARP discount and we also mentioned we had Military ID card...she said that would be better deal so showed her our ID. So she did give us room on 3rd floor and we got all settled in. Did some laundry and got that all caught up. She also told us there was a lounge in their hotel and we visited that also very nice and friendly gentleman by the name of Carlos and he was also helpful in giving us directions. Now when we were headed back to our room another gal at desk asked if needed any help with directions and said we did get some from both the check-in gal earlier and Carlos. She happened to ask where we were going and told her tour of city. She said to hang on and she printed out step by step directions for us to first catch the Bart (rail system) and then to bus line to get to Pier 39. So we then ordered cab and wake call for morning and we were set. Returned that evening and we made it to tour and back safely. We were exhausted and she happened to tell us there was a Denny's just a few blocks away. So we did head out to there for a quick bite to eat. Checked out next day and really rooms were very quiet and very clean. Nice large bathroom and towels were nice and thick and not paper thin. Will stay again if we come thru area.

Room Tip: We were in room 322 and like I said it was very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Chose this hotel based on price, location and experience in other Comfort Suites. At first worried about the downscale neighborhood but found the facility and staff to be just fine. King room was quite small but adequate. Breakfast was good. No safety problems. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room above first floor for peace of mind.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avid_Traveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
young101, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for providing your feedback. Our entire team is honored that your stay was enjoyable. Please come and visit us again. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a late review from our 2012 summer road trip. We stayed 2 nights at the Comfort Suites. On arrival their was on desk clerk. He was extremely slow in checking in the two parties in front of us, which took at least 20 minutes. By that time there were 4 parties behind us. We were given an accessable room on the first floor which was very roomy.
The buffet breakfast was a madhouse. The room was filled with what appeared to be large groups of Asian students, who devoured everything in sight. Nearly all of the food bins were empty, with lines 5 deep waiting for more food. If you were not in line, the food was gone again before you got to the front.
The best part of our stay was the bartender in the lounge where we lazily decided to eat one evening. He did not have any food available and allowed us to order pizza and eat at the bar. He was very friendly, and my wife and I enjoyed talking with him.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#30 of 49 in Oakland
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Address: 8452 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621-1306 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: $132 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 3 miles from Oakland Intl. airport, 1/2 mile from Oakland Coliseum. 32 inch flat panel TV, fitness center, guest laundry, free internet, free extended continental breakfast very clean hotel and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Oakland
Comfort Inn And Suites
Fairfield Inn Oakland
Fairfield Oakland
Oakland Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing