We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & smooth stay at the Express Oakland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 21, 2009

My family and I (parents and 2 kids of 11 & 13) arrived at the Express Oakland after an 11 hour flight from Europe. The receiption was kind and polite. The room was spacious and clean. We especially welcomed the shuttle to and from the Bart as it was our objective to visit San Francisco without having to pay the steep hotel rates for a downtown hotel.

The breakfast was limited but contained all the basics we were looking for. Furthermore I had a keep in the "kitchen" and it all looked very clean and the personal was well secure in handling the food.

All in all we enjoyed our 3 day stay at this hotel and recommend it as a nice alternative to the expensive hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEIWEYTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 487 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

The staff of this hotel was excellent, very responsive and friendly. We had to leave in the morning before breakfast was ready, but the night clerk gathered some things for us to take along (especially helpful since we were traveling with a child). The room was clean and comfortable and the facilities were great. As close as we were to the airport, there was no airport noise. We needed the shuttle service twice, and both times were treated very well.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 061590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed at the HIE at OAK after coming in on a late flight. Comfortable, pretty quiet, very comfortable beds and sufficient free breakfast, altho not great. Other than the shuttle we had no problems, and the front desk staff was very pleasant to deal with.

The shuttle was the only thing we had an issue with, but it was also a key factor in our choosing this hotel. After arriving on a late, long flight, I called to request the shuttle (I had called earlier and they said no advance notice needed, just call when you've arrived) and the front desk person said they'd be over shortly. We waited at the curb and after maybe 15-20 minutes or so the shuttle pulled up. I signaled the driver, and he went right past us....Over to the group of 30-some members of a sports team that were also on our flight. Oh no. Rather than wait for the 4th run of the shuttle to get us to the hotel, we just took a cab. Not a huge deal, and the cab was only $12, but it would have been nice if the front desk knew to tell us there would be a delay with the shuttle b/c of a large group, and perhaps offered to pay for a cab. We also had an issue with the shuttle on the way to the rental car place the next day, the driver was confused about our destination, and there was again a delay (again, not the hotel's fault, other passenger left his glasses in the room), but we made it eventually. Hotel in general is fine, just don't plan around the shuttle and allow yourself some extra time.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ActiveTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Wanted to stay close to the airport for an early departure home.
Excellent location, excellent personnel.
The staff made us feel like family. Each time we exited or entered the building, Asked if there was anything that we needed.
Rooms are very large. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. Plasma TV with cable channels.
Just a great place to stay. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Pleasant staff, clean room, safe parking lot, decent breakfast and not located near high foot traffic areas. We stayed five days and would stay again. Many of the hotels in the area are next to the 8 lane highway.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Great Spot Near Oakland Airport!
Very clean. Helpful & friendly staff. Great location. Really good value prices too. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jeepwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Stayed two nights, had a reservation. When we arrived requested a room facing the front of the hotel since the back looks out on industrial shops and wasteland. Was told by clerk that they had only one room with double beds facing the front and it was on the second floor. Looking at pictures of the building shows you that half of hotel faces the front so what a blatant lie. Arrived in morning, room not ready so left luggage - on trust, no receipt - and went out touring for the day. Upon return, moved into room and found a/c not working. Person sent to room - was also the shuttle driver- tinkered with a/c finally hit it and it came on. Five minutes later it was off again. Too tired to pursue it; went to bed only to awake at midnight and find bathroom light, hall light and half of lights in room were out. Numerous calls to lone desk person who did the best she could with no help. She finally found master circuit and restored lighting. Manager following morning had a nasty attitude. Minuses - Hotel has structural problems with a/c and electricity; much deferred maintenance. Room was hot and stuffy throughout stay, a/c worked periodically. Plus side - soft beds, nice wine, cheese tasting in evening, accommodating shuttle service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank teachgeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
4.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 49 in Oakland
1,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 66 Airport Access Rd, Oakland, CA 94603-1078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oakland
#4 Green Hotel in Oakland
#6 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: $115 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the closest hotel to the Oakland International Airport and centrally located between San Francisco and Silicon Valley.We welcome all guests either for work or play. Less than half a mile from the Oakland International Airport and just 2.5 miles from the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum & Oracle Arena- home to the Oakland Raiders, the Oakland Athletics and the Golden State Warriors, you can really enjoy the home field advantage. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave, wet bar, refrigerator & high-speed Internet access wired and wireless connections.We also serve daily a delicious hot buffet breakfast every morning. We are 100% non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Hotel Oakland
Oakland Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing