We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Bay Area Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel twice now and I'm incredibly impressed with the customer service and quality of rooms both times. Dorothy, front desk, was incredibly friendly and accommodating and Clarence, the driver, was a delightful driver!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Ashley,

When we hear such praise from repeat guests like you, we know we are doing our job right. Thank you for sharing your comments with us, especially your complimentary remarks for Dorothy and Clarence. I will let them know that you appreciated their hospitality.

We look forward to being of service to you again!

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 478 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had made an online reservation for Thursday night on Wednesday morning. However, I discovered at the last minute today, (Wednesday afternoon), that I needed to stay at this hotel tonight, also.

I called and spoke with Jesus Ibarra. He was WONDERFUL! He was able to book the same type of room for my Wednesday night stay that I had already booked for my Thursday night stay, (the hotel was almost completely sold out). This will save me having to change rooms after 1 night.

The room, (a King suite), is exactly as promised. Plenty of room and a nice comfy bed. Clean bathroom and excellent wifi.

The hotel's location is perfect for someone wanting to be close to the airport the next morning to return a rental car and get to the airport quickly. Being able to grab a good breakfast, quickly, is a big plus, too.

Jesus Ibarra made the last 2 days of my family's Spring Break trip a pleasure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on the outstanding commitment to guest satisfaction that our team shows every day. We are very proud of them, so I will share your compliments. They will be pleased, especially Jesus.

I am glad we were able to make your travels easier and more enjoyable. We hope to do so again, upon your next visit.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Upon checking in I was greeted by Dorothy at the front desk. She had a wonderful smile and was truly interested in making my first visit to this hotel a pleasant one. When entering my room it wasn't the one I had booked and she readily got my room changed to the one I wanted. Cecilia in housekeeping verified the room was ready and all was good. Thank you Dorothy and Cecilia for the excellent service!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annd458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Ann,

Thank you for your five star review of our hotel. We believe our team offers the absolute best in hospitality, so your comments are much appreciated. I will pass on your compliments: our staff will be pleased, especially Dorothy and Cecilia.

Your business is important to us, I hope that you can visit us again.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

At check-in for our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Oakland, CA. at the airport, Dorothy was the service agent at the front desk, with JD managing. Dorothy has the finest attitude and is dedicated to great customer service. She was extremely attentative to our desires and needs, took the time with us to ensure we were completely satisfied with the room and services of her hotel, and smiled with a friendly word or comment the entire time. JD was responsive to Dorothy's request for assistance and also ensured we, the customers, were well cared for.
Dorothy also was on duty the following morning to cover the shift for an ill coworker, still with that smile and cheerful attitude.
These are people this organization should treasure and keep on staff. The Holiday Inn Express upper management and owners need to not only retain these two stellar employees, but probably place them on the list to promote within the organization at the earliest opportunity.
This was our second stay at this hotel and we'll continue to use your facilities as long as these fine individuals, and their peers, remain. Keep up the great work!
The gentlemen who drove the shuttle also provided quick, curteous service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Bill,

We are very proud of Dorothy, JD and the rest of our team. We believe they provide the ultimate in service to our guests; and your lovely review proves my point. I will certainly share your comments with them.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to the Bay Area. I hope you can visit us again.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Clarence, the shuttle driver, was the first to welcome us to this airport hotel with a big smile and helping hand. He gave the extra effort to make our stay at the Holiday Inn a very pleasant one. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We consider our shuttle driver’s primary job is to be a welcome committee and your glowing review confirmed this. Thank you for commenting on Clarence’s wonderful sense of hospitality, I will share your comments with him.

Your business is important to us and we look forward to being of service to you again.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I hope that anyone checking in soon has the opportunity to be helped by Dorthy. I checked in and then remembered I needed parking for two weeks. She helped me get the right rate and eased my over traveled mind.
Thank you again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAKMEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear HAKMEG ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to hear you get to experience our great customer service through Dorothy. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I visited this Hotel for 3 nights while touring San Francisco. It has good shuttle service to both the airport and to the Coliseum BART Station. This staff was very helpful. It is a good alternative to the much pricier San Francisco side of the bay. I would definitely stay again if re-visiting the bay area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank BCvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay on our side of the bay and that you found it a good value for your trip to San Francisco. Your willingness to stay with us again is the best recommendation we could ask for.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your San Francisco headquarters!

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
4.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 49 in Oakland
1,028 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 66 Airport Access Rd, Oakland, CA 94603-1078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oakland
#4 Green Hotel in Oakland
#6 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: $133 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the closest hotel to the Oakland International Airport and centrally located between San Francisco and Silicon Valley.We welcome all guests either for work or play. Less than half a mile from the Oakland International Airport and just 2.5 miles from the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum & Oracle Arena- home to the Oakland Raiders, the Oakland Athletics and the Golden State Warriors, you can really enjoy the home field advantage. All guest rooms are equipped with a microwave, wet bar, refrigerator & high-speed Internet access wired and wireless connections.We also serve daily a delicious hot buffet breakfast every morning. We are 100% non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oakland Hotel Oakland
Oakland Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing