We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel stay at a reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakland Marriott City Center
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel stay at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Oakland City Center's Marriott is a typical Marriott hotel; nice, clean, and relatively upscale. I find reviews knocking the area pretty pointless and being a fan of Oakland myself, it's also irritating. Keep your wits about you, just like you would anywhere else - that's all. Or stay in a different city. Anyway, I found the location extremely convenient, what with the BART station right by the hotel. Commuting to San Francisco and back a couple times was very smooth. Breakfast was also good. Staff is decent. Taking a star off because there were some issues at check-in that were never resolved, (I booked a package stay where the contents of said, "package," were not all delivered.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. It's good to hear you're a fan of Oakland - there really is a lot to love about "the town"! I'm sorry to hear there were issues with the hotel package you booked. If this hasn't already been resolved, please contact me directly at 510-451-4000 so I can look into it further.

I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    286
    119
    38
    12
See reviews for
75
104
55
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Oakland proper leaves a lot to be desired. That being said, the Oakland City Center is a great property. Met by very courteous staff, booked in room 901 which is a corner room with multiple views. Yes, hallways have funky 70's carpet but the room has everything needed for a stay. There was a guest appreciation night with free wine and food in the lobby. Met some great people and had a nice time. Went to Level 2 restaurant and had James, the best server in the world. Filet was to die for and I have dined at 5 star steak houses. Have nothing but great things to say about this property and will stay here each time I come back over the next six months.

Room Tip: Room 901!!! Views out of both windows. No neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad to hear you were able to attend our guest appreciation event and enjoy a delicious steak at Level Two. Our Executive Chef takes a lot of pride in the menu at Level Two and serves aged Certified Angus Beef steaks - along with many other locally sourced dinner options. It's good to hear that James is so loved by our guests as well. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel as your home away from home and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at the Marriot Oakland on a recent business trip. It's probably one of the best hotels in the oakland area. Looks a bit dated on the outside but is pleasant inside. Staff we very helfpul throughout the stay. Check in was quick and easy. Room was a good size and had all the amenities you would expect in a downtown Marriot. Gym is good - quite large size and plenty of different equipment. Bar area is also good. I didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that. I did order room service breakfast and that was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed some of our hotel amenities. I hope to see you again next time you're in Oakland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just got back from a trip to watch baseball in the bat area. Are first time in the area but not are last. The rooms are small as all rooms are in the bay area. But they where clean and the people where great. It is close to BART and that makes it easy to get to the ball parks and into San Francisco.
My best part was the staff in the bar. All where good but Tommy stands out. Always helpful and smiling. Great service.
Only thing not working as it should was the check out on the TV. Never got it to work but did get the phone system to work. If I had Tommy's number I bet he would have taken care of it for me.
Count me in for coming back.

Room Tip: All looked good to me. May be ask for off of Broadway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sadbuttru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay! BART is a great way to get around the Bay area, especially for baseball games. Thanks for leaving that tip for future guests. Tommy is wonderful, we'll be sure to pass your kind words along to him. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very helpful staff and accommodative. Location is good. The concierge has are descent selections of food. The negative us the bathroom was very small. Barely can move for two people
If inside. Not enough towel but you just need to request.

Room Tip: Rooms is descent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gelastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. I hope you enjoyed the view from the Concierge Lounge - it's a good way to start or end your day. We hope to see you again next time you're in Oakland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed at the Oakland Marriott City Center for the first time on business. They do a nice job here providing for the guests needs. Check in was fast and friendly and the phone check out option was nice although I could not figure out how to make the TV checkout work.

Rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable.

$25 a day to self park is a bit steep but the parking garage is functional and secure. I don't like having to pay for wifi but I can use my phone hot spot so no worries for me. Workout facilities seemed top notch.

Hotel restaurant prices are typical (expensive) so I did not utilize, but lots of local options nearby in the city center area.

Bart station is literally right across the street making an easy hop to San Fran or the airports or other attractions.

Not real familiar with Oakland but I would not say it is my favorite city to 'take a stroll' but I felt safe enough in the area.

If you need to stay in Oakland the Marriott City Center fits the bill.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D, Front Office Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel! The TV checkout can be tricky if you haven't used it before. Next time you stay with us, let us know and we'd be happy to give a quick run through - it is definitely a convenient check-out option that our guests appreciate. We hope to see you again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

It is a Marriott so it does what it says on the tin, but it does do it well and with some style. Comfortable room, excellent views over the bay from 20th floor, good service from lobby staff.

Gripes: usual overpriced restaurants (but several alternatives within easy walking distance), $25 per night for self parking, only 2 devices to connect to Internet per room- surely we all travel with at least 3 ....

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ashgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Guest Relations Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for your feedback and kind sentiments regarding the staff service and the comfort of our guest rooms. I appreciate your time in reviewing us, as it helps us learn of our guests' experiences. I have shared your comments with the rest of the team regarding both your compliments and suggestions. I hope you choose us for your next trip to Oakland.

Regards,
Suzanne H.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Marriott City Center

Property: Oakland Marriott City Center
Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4019
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). Additional parking fees: Valet: $40 Self-Parking $35 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Oakland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing