We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Travel Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oakland Marriott City Center
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I travel a lot and have stayed at this hotel a few times. Each time, I have had an excellent experience. Everything from the cleanliness to the comfort of the bed to the service, amenities and location. Definitely recommend this hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnieZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 755 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stay in this hotel for two night because could not get any hotel in San Francisco and the main reason is it was near to Bart station. Found out the ceiling of hotel was low and The hotel room was small too. However, there was few good restaurant around the hotel which help a lot.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tatt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Overall great hotel. The staff made the stay special. Everyone seemed to love their job. Concierge staff were very friendly. Check in staff and housekeeping were great. Restaurant staff were Wonderful. Rooms were clean, docked a star for room as bathroom has some minor wear and tear.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastieSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I wanted stayed on this property three nights and were very surprised. First, we wanted access to San Francisco without the San Fran hotel prices. This hotel was very manageable and within our budget. In addition, it was a beautiful hotel, well maintained and the rooms were very clean and updated. The only complaint that I have is that they failed to pick up my breakfast order the first night we arrived. Otherwise, whenever I visit San Fran I will be returning back to this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at this property for four nights when attending a large business conference at Moscone Center in San Francisco. Very easy access to Moscone Center via BART. The BART station is just across the street from the hotel and the ride to the Market Street station is about 15 minutes and costs about $3.00. Much more convenient and cost effective transportation than a cab - and less cost than a cab ride from a hotel in San Francisco to Moscone Center. The hotel was very comfortable, room service was normal Marriott quality, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Ask for a room facing the Bay - nice views of San Francisco. I will stay here again when attending business conferences in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed for a weekend conference. The staff was pleasant and efficient, and the food was excellent. The devil is in the details of the design and management of the hotel. Like many hotels, the room is stuffy (and smells of cleaning fluid or carpet shampoo) and the only ventilation possible is by propping the door open. Even an exhaust fan in the bathroom is non-existent. Conversations from the adjacent rooms were audible, even the sound of someone using the bathroom. The TV is mounted to a dresser, and faces away from the bed. The only way to see the screen at a proper angle is to move the heavy dresser away from the wall. Another review states that every room has a microwave and refrigerator. Nope, not present. No complimentary breakfast is provided, as you would reasonably expect in a better class hotel such as this.
My phone rang at 5:30 AM with a recorded wake-up call that I did not request. Good job clearing it out of the computer from the person who was here last week, or maybe another room did not get theirs because someone entered it into the system wrong?
Water bottles in the room were priced at $4.25. What is this, Disneyland? They wholesale for 30 cents apiece! This is just a blatant picking of the pocket of anyone foolish enough to want a drink. Wifi in your room will run $9.95 per day. At the price of the rooms, how about including it, like most premium hotels do? There is free wifi available downstairs, but in very limited areas, which do not include the conference rooms. The final insult is paying for parking when leaving. Two days and less than 3 hours results in 3 whole days of parking fees, nearly 70 bucks to park in a garage littered with plastic bags and pigeon droppings. There was only one attendant available to man 4 exit lanes, and he was frantically trying to help everyone at once. After emptying my wallet into the payment machine, it would not print a receipt.
So just two nights ran nearly 350 bucks for just the room and parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at this property in order to visit San Francisco.This hotel is 1 block from a BART station with only 1 stop before reaching the Ferry Building at 1Market Street in SF, where light rail and bus service is available for city wide SF travel.Being much more economical than comparable downtown SF hotels,this proved an ideal situation for me.Flying into Oakland is smoother than SF anyway.

The hotel is near a food court,open until 7pm.Seemingly,this hotel hosts much of the Oakland convention crowd and was not busy during my stay.I did witness a fist fight across the street from this hotel about 10pm one evening,bringing safety issues into question.A Marriott employee,I believe,served as security guard after dark,checking each person entering the lobby for a room entry card,which I appreciated.

My room was comfortable,clean,and even had a distant view of downtown SF from a high floor level facing west.Staff courteous.Breakfast expensive,but I found a very popular Hispanic restaurant on a street perpendicular to Broadway with excellent breakfast.Hotel lobby,bar area,and restaurant very high end appearing.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to those who have interests like mine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 532Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Marriott City Center

Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: $190 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). Additional parking fees: Valet: $40 Self-Parking $35 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing