We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakland Marriott City Center
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clarkdale, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our vacation began with our luggage being lost, so we weren't in the best of spirits when checking in. Derek at the front desk was wonderful, friendly and gave us a great recommendation for a local brew pub. Though we still had no luggage the next day, the staff, Terry in particular, followed every lead to get our things to us. I honestly can't compliment the staff enough.
Location is right across the street from a BART station so getting to San Francisco is a cinch. If you are a beer lover, there are at least three destination beer bars within an easy walk.
The room was lovely and even the maid service was noteworthy (don't forget to tip!).
All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaO714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    302
    119
    38
    12
See reviews for
77
108
56
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I give this hotel the highest rating for its value. We had no issues, and the quality of the room was par with the small number of expensive stays at places we've had like Nagoya Marriott, Tokyo ANA Intercontinental, Loews Miami Beach, Venice Londra Palace. That sounds like name dropping but that's not a lot of elegant places for a lifetime (mostly, we stay at way lower tier places when we travel).

My background is that I am a lifelong resident of San Jose. Sometimes we would spend the night in SF with our kids at the Beresford Arms, which is a good value to stay overnight in SF for families with children. But this review is about the Oakland Marriott. We had to spend the night at a place convenient to BART. Oakland Marriott is literally on top of an underground BART station, with only one stop between it and SF Embarcadero. As a lifelong resident of the Bay Area, please take my word for it that this location atop Oakland CIty Center BART will provide easier and faster access to many tourist places in SF than the locations of many, much more expensive hotels that are in SF.

We had connecting rooms, one for us and one for our kids, on the 18th floor with spectacular views. Strangely, this place looks off the radar for the SF tourist trade. It was a Friday night, busy time for the tourist trade. But the hotel seemed relatively empty, and most of the guests we noticed were either there for a pseudo-medicine convention, or for an obviously "local Oak-Town" wedding. Didn't see any tourists, internationals, etc.

Our two connecting rooms combined were cheaper than a single room at the San Francisco Marriott for the same night.

This is a great value. Yes, I know, the wifi was $10. But I give the high marks for the value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sibryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I guess my stay at the Marriott Oakland City Center turned sour when it took me 1.5 hours to get from waiting in line to parking the car. The lobby and everything seemed nice, but there was a mix-up with getting checked in and then problems with getting into the parking garage (many different sets of instructions, none of which worked. I waited in line with others who couldn't get in then pressed the buzzer for the parking attendant to come, but of course he didn't). The room was ok but it was hard not to avoid the impression that the hotel was trying to get every penny out of me. Bottled water was $4.50 for a dented and sad piece of plastic.There were two rates for internet $9.99 and $14.99. What's the difference? One is fast and one is slow. Huh? Any numbers on that? Nope. Only coffee, no tea. At night I looked for a vending machine in the cavernous lobby. You guessed it: it took my $5 and gave the wrong item. I come to Oakland for business often, but no, wouldn't return. Even if I am on an expense account, I don't like the feeling of being ripped off for every small thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kfres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I like this hotel more than I have liked other Mariott's that I have stayed at, and it is definitely a cut above the rest in the area. The bed was extremely comfortable - so comfortable we looked at the tag because we wanted to get one like it! The only downside is as it is a Mariott there are lots of extra charges: valet parking was over $20/day, no free wifi ($9.95/day per computer which adds up with multiple computers). The room service is pretty fast and the food is better than a lot of other hotels I've been to (and about comparably priced). The housekeeping is competent yet unobtrusive, meaning that they don't rush you out of the room in order to clean it. Also, because there is an entryway to each room, it allows you to answer the door, while keeping the bed portion of the room private. Staff was very pleasant. Hotel security was good without being overbearing. I've stayed at this Mariott numerous times, and look forward to staying there again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Accommodations were the standard Marriott experience. Nice linens and bathroom amenities. The TV channel selection was poor, no viacom channels. Wi-Fi was free in the lobby but not in the rooms. Close to the BART station which was a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancethekipples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here over Memorial Weekend! The hotel was a great choice. The accommodations were great and the staff was wonderful! Enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning! The hotel is convenient and staff! I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stay in this hotel regularly for business and find it to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in -- comfortable, extremely friendly staff and the atmosphere is such that it does not have the anonymity of a chain hotel, yet it has all the amenities of one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbkkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Marriott City Center

Property: Oakland Marriott City Center
Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4019
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). Additional parking fees: Valet: $40 Self-Parking $35 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Oakland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing