We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A business hotel, but no free wi-fi in room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakland Marriott City Center
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A business hotel, but no free wi-fi in room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Accommodations were the standard Marriott experience. Nice linens and bathroom amenities. The TV channel selection was poor, no viacom channels. Wi-Fi was free in the lobby but not in the rooms. Close to the BART station which was a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancethekipples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    286
    119
    38
    12
See reviews for
75
104
55
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here over Memorial Weekend! The hotel was a great choice. The accommodations were great and the staff was wonderful! Enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning! The hotel is convenient and staff! I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stay in this hotel regularly for business and find it to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in -- comfortable, extremely friendly staff and the atmosphere is such that it does not have the anonymity of a chain hotel, yet it has all the amenities of one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbkkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed one night and had a great experience. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the room was nicely appointed, and the view was beautiful. We stayed on the 18th floor and just watched from the window most of the time we were in the room. The light-blocking draperies were a nice touch and we slept well. The room service breakfast arrived on time and was delicious and one serving was plenty for both my daughter and me to share and got her fueled up prior to getting started at another day of volleyball. Free wi-fi would have been nice, and my daughter didn't care for the way the TV stations were set-up but other than that, it was a great stay. Nice and quiet, too.

Room Tip: Our view of the tall, city buildings was beautiful, particularly at night but a view facing the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T From Cali f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reasonable price and the location, which has convenient access to the freeway and is less than a mile from dining and nightlife options in Jack London Square. I'd recommend this spot if, like us, most of your travel is on the Oakland/Berkley/Napa side of the Bay -- but even if you plan to visit San Francisco, you can hop on freeway in a few minutes or walk over to the BART station a block or two away. This Marriott apparently has been renovated in recent years, with a modern feel and decor. The rooms aren't big, but they're clean and well-appointed. The housekeeping staff was exceptional, in my opinion. The only reasons I don't give this hotel five stars are these two: (1)Ice machines are only on alternate floors -- apparently only on even-numbered floors; so it was a pain to have to go up or down a floor to get ice. (2) The self-parking option involves a harrowing drive up and down a severely tight, winding driveway up to the third level of the adjacent convention center parking garage. From there you go through a walkway to a set of elevators that take you to the main hotel, where you have to change to a different set of elevators to go to your room. It's kind of a hassle, but at least the elevators are fast. All in all, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an even-numbered floor, unless you don't mind going up or down a floor every t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerTMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are certain brands that deliver on their reputation, Marriot usually does and the Oakland City Center can be counted as one of them. Staff was friendly and helpful, the check-in experience was painless and efficient. The front desk person even pointed out a few things that I would have missed, such as the complimentary lounge/dining that was included with my stay (perk from being booked as a business stay). I would tell people not to expect a big room as I actually thought the room was smaller than expected but it was actually just big enough since I was traveling alone.

One of the things that stood out with this hotel is the breakfast, they have an "all you can eat" breakfast buffet that has some tasty choices. I'm not someone who typically eats a large breakfast so I ordered from the regular menu, the portion size of my breakfast was very large and I wasn't able to finish my breakfast, maybe only got halfway finished.

The other amenity that stood out was the complimentary lounge/dining they also offer. It's a room that's only open to certain guests as you have to slide your keycard at the door to get access. They have a variety of appetizer choices, think happy hour portions, and have a few wine and beer beverages on hand as well. There's also complimentary computer with a printer which was very convenient so I could print out my boarding pass.

Location is great, right in the middle of downtown Oakland and maybe a 20 minute cab drive from the airport (this is without traffic). There's restaurants nearby and Oakland Chinatown is a block away from the hotel if you're in the mood for Chinese food.

Overall this is your "classic" Marriot experience and a great choice for a business stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the Bay to Breakers race this year. Usually stay at the Courtyard Marriott down the street but they were fully booked. Like this Marriott better than the Courtyard although they don't have free wifi. I just do not understand why a nice middle level hotel still charges guests for wifi in their rooms when cheap hotels offer them for free!

They gave me a room on the 12th floor at the end of the hallway. Took the woman forever to check me in...I think she was relatively new. Not very good at customer service as she didn't even tell me how to get to my room or where the elevators were.

Only had to share one wall so it was nice and quiet. The bed and linens were very comfortable and I really liked the quality of their toiletries. The lotion was actually moisturizing unlike the cheaper ones that just evaporate as soon as you put them on. My only and biggest complaint is the T.V. remote. It was awful! Had to push the buttons hard and so many times to change channels, etc. My fingers were actually sore.

A scary thing did happen on the first night though. Someone tried to get into my room by violently juggling the door handle. Couldn't get in because I had the chain and security bolt on but gosh it was scary. I tried to look out the peep hole but couldn't see anything because it was too high up. The next morning, I opened the door slowly to exit, just in case. Have to remember to bring my door stop alarm next time.

Very convenient location as I literally get off the BART, cross the street and there's the hotel. Didn't check out any of their amenities but their in-room coffee actually tastes decent, not watery. The rate that I paid for through hotels.com was way higher than what the hotel actually wrote down upon my check-in...$159 compared to $118. If I was traveling on my own dime, I'd book directly with the hotel in the future but since I was traveling for work this time, it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmoreSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Marriott City Center

Property: Oakland Marriott City Center
Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4019
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). Additional parking fees: Valet: $40 Self-Parking $35 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Oakland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing