We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nothing special but nothing horrible” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oakland Marriott City Center
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special but nothing horrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times due to the proximity and it's always pretty consistent. The rooms are clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is downtown Oakland, so in terms of scenery, it can be quite eclectic. That being said, it's right next to a BART station, so the location is great in terms of ease of access. The rooms are small but if you have ever stayed in a hotel in San Francisco, you would think these are suites. No complaints. Would definitely stay here again if I needed to, but wouldn't go out of my way. Food is slightly better than decent. Bar is good. In terms of price, drinks and food are overpriced but that's pretty standard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    314
    126
    38
    12
See reviews for
79
113
59
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is great if you have a conference or convention scheduled there but the rooms are rather smallish and this is a no-thrill hotel. It is nice that you do not have to leave the hotel for the convention center, this is the biggest plus.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jmayerdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The room was comfortable, and modern with a great view of the Oakland hills. The hotel staff was gracious and seemed to be always ready to help with a smile. The food we were served was also excellent with good variety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirrelly975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This property is everything you would expect from a Marriott - fully attendant staff from Bell service, gift shop, to restaurant. There is always a helpful employee in eyesight. Special thanks to James for serving another fabulous round of Salmon tacos and good wine. Impeccable service, ask for him is a must. Great views of mountains and/or Golgen Gate bridge. Furnishings are current and very comfortable including the desk chair! The concierge lounge is comfortable but the serving area can get a little cramped - the layout could be modified better using the same square footage. All in all - when I'm in Oakland this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USA62GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I play massive mutilplayer online games, and I also travel a lot (my guild knows me as the "hotel healer") The one thing I care about is, is the signal solid enough to allow me to play with my teammates. If the answer is no, we lose world titles, and I end up with 9-24 (depending on which guild I'm playing with at the time) extremely upset teammates.

The Marriott Oakland City Center has two tiers of internet, roughly $11 and $14/night. I chose the more expensive one. It was solid. Not great, but solid. Lag/ping was about 150 ms and it disconnected once or twice a night (thankfully during trash pulls) but overall was acceptable for us to get down a new boss and not have anyone die who shouldn't have. So, for those of you who need solid bandwidth for skype videoconferences and the like, you should be doing about as well in this hotel, as you'd do at home with, say, DSL. It ain't FiOS, but it's quite usable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pretre_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for a week on business in San Franciso. Hotels in SF were sold out, and this hotel was the next best thing. The trip from this Marriott in the Oakland City Center was never more than 30 minutes. Some colleagues stayed in hotels by the SFO airport and ended up having over an hour commute. The BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) was across the street from the hotel, had trains running every few minutes, and cost just over $3 to get into the city.

The hotel itself was very nice. The lobby was well kept and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff here is excellent. Everyone was very friendly and made every effort to accomodate a request. During my entire week I did not encounter 1 employee that didn't greet me or act professionally friendly. The gym is pretty good but the treadmills need attention - some of the TVs aren't working right and the speed calibration needs to be fixed on some machines.

While I was there they were experiencing some elevator issues. This was a big problem some days as I was on the 16th floor and it could take up to 20-25 minutes for an elevator to stop. We were directed to take the service elevators but signage was spotty and it still took a long time to arrive as it was being used by the maid service staff, bellman, and guests.

There are several nice restaurants in the area and the staff were happy to provide recommendations, all which were spot on.

Jack London square was a bit of a disappointment and we had to walk through some somewhat shady areas to get there. Next time I'd skip this and stay close to the hotel.

This is a great place to stay if you want to visit San Franciso but don't want to pay San Francisco prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_junkie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is literally feet from the BART Oakland City Center station exit. It's location was perfect. Took me a minute to grab BART and go into San Francisco to shop. Easy to get to from the Oakland Airport. Location was great, room was so so. Air conditioning did not work properly and they were unable to fix it. Not bad, just not as comfortable as I expect a Marriott to be. Room was small and decor very dated. I would stay there again for the location next to BART and because it was the best hotel in Oakland, but not because I really liked the hotel....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brbiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.4 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Marriott City Center

Property: Oakland Marriott City Center
Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4019
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). Additional parking fees: Valet: $40 Self-Parking $35 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Oakland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing