We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakland Marriott City Center
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

1 night stay in a very comfortable hotel.

Hotel staff very helpful and frendly. Parking is expensive but alright considering San Francisco is near by BART.

Rooms - clean and comfortable, considering the rates. Upgrade to higher floors Gold Member with concierge lounge at 17 Floor (if I remember right) with a view. Breadfast - good.

Again, I believe the best option for rooms are 1. be a Gold Member 2. stay at Residence Inn, Courtyard or Fairfield (if Marriott member) or for Starwood and Hilton chain at the lower tier hotels which provide good service and reasonable clean rooms without the high price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Last_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
I’m truly glad that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our recently refreshed guest rooms. We are directly across the street from the 12th Street City Center BART station, which provides transportation to the Oakland and San Francisco airports among other places and attractions. On your next visit if you do decide to drive, we offer multiple parking options to suit your traveling needs (self-parking in the convention center garage connected to the hotel or valet parking which allows you in an out privileges). Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    284
    119
    38
    12
See reviews for
74
104
55
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A generally clean comfortable hotel but definitely does not cater to their top tier customers. As a Gold member my room was not ready at check in and the class of room was sold out even though a king bed was requested. The overall service and quality of the food and drink offerings in the concierge lounge was so far below Marriott standards that it could of been a Best Western. The staff was friendly though but that did not offset the fact that maid service skipped my room one of the three days there. If you have to stay down town it might be passable but don't be misled into thinking this hotel is a upper class Marriott.

Room Tip: Don't choose they will ignore your request
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dad113056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Oakland Marriott City Center. I am always disappointed to hear from guests who have had anything less than a great experience with us, and we are sorry that you did not receive your requested room type at check in, and our room attendant did not provide cleaning services one of the three days you were here. We pride ourselves on providing caring customer service and I would like to assure you that your experience is not typical of our hotel. We have recently expanded our food and beverage items in the concierge lounge to include more healthy options such as baked entrees, hummus and pita options, and a larger variety of cut fruits and vegetables. I hope we can welcome you back; I am confident you will see the improvements upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Gold County
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel is located on Broadway very close to many shops and restaurants and right next to BART. There is a free shuttle bus that runs up and down Broadway and we used it to go to Jack London Square to dinner. It's also close to the wonderful Oakland Museum and Oakland's Chinatown. The hotel is located in Old Oakland, full of nice coffee shops, food shops, restaurants and a farmers market on Fridays.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor -- nice view! If you can get a corner room you get a bigger room. They have co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EE192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review and highlighting the many attractions, entertainment and transportation options Downtown Oakland has to offer. If you have some free time and wish to explore, there is no need to drive! The area is constantly expanding and I’m sure next time you join us the area will have even more to offer. I hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here because we had a "coupon" for a free night. Hubby is a Platinum member of Marriott so we were upgraded to a bay view room and had acess to the concierge lounge. The lounge has an honor bar and snacks. This evening, it was veggies and dip, cheese and fruit, chicken wings and beef satay. All surprisingly good

We were traveling a LOT by car and were sort of burned out. Once we checked in and saw our view, we never wanted to leave the room! Took a bunch of pictures of the SF skyline, at sunset and at dawn..:). It turned out to be the nicest night of the trip, with just the two of us.

We did take a walk (to find beer,lol) around the area. Lots of folks out walking around, we felt safe. We are somewhat familiar with Oakland but had never spent any time there. I liked it, I liked the feel of it..Now if I could just afford to live there..:)

The staff that we encountered were all polite and friendly.. the room was lovely and clean and quiet. The bed was comfy..I am a fan of thisplace and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee2673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you so much for this great review. I'm so glad you and your hubby enjoyed the view from your room. It is spectacular, especially at night! You mentioned you are somewhat familiar with Oakland; if you are looking for somewhere to go/something to do while staying with us, be sure to ask any of our staff and we will be happy to provide you with our local shopping and restaurant list, local area map or any other information you may need. Thanks for staying with us, and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyt1020
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was in town for a conference and was surprised by some of the challenges we faced. First the good: The staff was incredible, going so far as to hand out bottles of water to those of us waiting in line for close to an hour to check in. The beds (including rollaways) are very comfortable. We all definitely got a great night's sleep.
The not-so-good: This was the official conference hotel, yet they seemed unprepared for the large number of people staying and visiting the hotel. After standing in line to check in for 45 minutes, it took me an additional 30 minutes to get checked into my room. I've had an easier time buying a cell phone. As already mentioned, the elevators are under renovation at the present time. Only one elevator is offline at a time, but the wait at the elevators was excessive. You couldn't find the stairs. Hint: The stairwells are hiding behind doors marked "associates only."
Suggestions: Extra staffing is needed in high-volume periods such as when I was there. Other hotels I stay at for business, will often have staff directing people to the stairs to help offset the burden on the elevators. This would have been a wise investment and led to a much more pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: All amenities are on the second floor...the higher you stay, the less you deal with traffic coming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazyt1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your experience at the Oakland Marriott. We do take a proactive approach during busier times and provide extra staffing available for customer service, and I apologize your check in and elevator wait took longer than usual. We now have a newly modernized elevator in operation, which has increased efficiency and decreases wait time. We have 3 more elevators to go, and it will only get better from here! Thank you again for sharing your experience; your feedback is extremely valuable. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

i stayed in this hotel because of the convention that I was attending. The room was basic, clean, and quiet. There was no small fridge in the room.
The hotel's elevators were under renovation throughout the entire busy convention time.
That created great inconvenience when we had to wait sometimes up to 20 min to get one of the two working elevators out of four. My room was on the fourth floor but for some reason i could not find the staircase to use instead of the elevator.
Again big chain hotels such Marriott offers wireless internet for a fee ; and breakfast is not included. The outdoors swimming pool was not big enough for laps. On a positive note the staff was super friendly, and the bed was very comfortable. the hotel also was within a walking distance from Jack London Square, restaurants, shopping, and BART.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Overtherainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Right across the street from Bart and 15 minute ride to downtown SF. Staff at the front desk is very helpful and informative. Goes the extra mile in providing recommendations. Thank you for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Marriott City Center

Property: Oakland Marriott City Center
Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4019
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). Additional parking fees: Valet: $40 Self-Parking $35 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon, Marriott and Hotwire so you can book your Oakland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing