We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Fourth of July stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakland Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oakland Marriott City Center
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
sandy eggo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Splendid Fourth of July stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Upon check in I got upgraded to a corner room during the July 4th weekend. The BART station is right next to the hotel and takes you to directly to Union Square in SF. Thanks for the pleasant stay Marriott!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wabi19sabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your upgraded corner room during your visit to our hotel and we'd love to see you back Thank you for the kind review and for spending your fourth of July holiday weekend with us. Hopefully you were able to see the fireworks in San Francisco!

Regards,
John Mazzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    331
    128
    38
    12
See reviews for
80
119
60
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

2 nights stayed as part of a conference. Room was spacious, had a great view of the city and was well appointed with everything I needed. Probably the best most comfy bed and pillows Ive ever ever slept in/on! Was only here for a conference on site so location was perfect, great mexican restaurant Tamarindo Antojeria, 468 8th Street (few minutes walk)

Room Tip: My colleague had a small room, ask for an end room, and go for a high floor room to avoid the city n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I really liked this hotel. the bed and pillows were sooo comfortable! The bathroom was a bit small, but not too bad either. The receptionists were very friendly and tried to put me in a room with a view although i had used a free certificate for the stay.
Everything was renovated on the inside. The hotel however is located in downtown Oakland, CA, which is not the best area. Around the hotel was OK, there was a farmers market right behin it on Friday, but further down was so-so.

It was very close to a BART if you are interested in going to city (San Francisco).

Would i stay here again when visiting San Francisco, DEFINITELY!
Would i recommend: depends on the person..if you dont mind the location, yes, but if you are one of those people that have to have the best location, then no.

Room Tip: Rooms that end with 01 are in a corner so you get 2 views in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Centrally located in downtown Oakland with easy access to BART. I always prefer to stay in areas of town that gets you intocuh with the locals but allows you esy access to tourist areas. The hotel was clean and very quiet. The BART can take you to Berkeley in one direction and Union Square in the other. The local flavor is very adventurous and allows ou the opportunity to feel like you really live and work in the Oakland San Francisco area. The free shuttle that takes you up and down Broadway is a reat way to get around

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dino4897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Parking is expensive other than that a classic Marriott in city

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Marriott Oakland City Center is pretty solidy defined as 'adequate' in every way.

The location is across the street from City Center/12th Street BART; 'convenient enough' from San Francisco.

The rooms are 'comfortable enough'; average size with a nice bathroom, but I found mine to be a bit noisy with road traffic (I'd suggest asking for a room not facing the intersection, and keeping the blackout curtains closed to keep out noise, more than light).

The hotel was 21 floors with 6(ish?) elevators; probably enough for an average week, but as I stayed there during the week of San Francisco's Oracle convention, and every room was rented out, it wasn't uncommon for me to wait 4-5 minutes for an elevator; and that elevator may be so full, you'll choose to wait 4-5 more for the next one.

Service at the front desk was 'courteous enough' at checkin, and was more polite and helpful at checkout. Again, this may have been a result of the busy nature of the week I stayed, so your market may vary.

I'll give a shout-out to the concierge lounge on the 19th floor, for you gold/platinum members. The hors douevres (think chicken kabobs, mini egg rolls, nuts, soda/coffees - and try the blackberry soda!) dessert (typical cookies/cakes) and breakfast (eggs, sausages, oatmeal, fruit with yogurt, granola, coffee and juice) are all available, and nice enough - and service was excellent. Friendly, helpful staff willing to go the extra mile.

So, all in all, a 'pleasant enough' stay. I suppose I'd stay again... but enough about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main intersection, and keep the blackout curtains pulled, to avoid stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beantownmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Had to travel to San Francisco from Oct 2-8 for the Oracle Open World, and since we starting looking for a hotel late in the game, there were no rooms available in the city and so we had to look elsewhere. We were very reluctant at first to even consider Oakland, because..it seems to have such a "bad" reputation. Well......Not so bad!!
The hotel is beautifully renovated, the staff couldn't be nicer, and the bed was wonderful! We had no problems with the area, and the BART is directly across the street, making it so very easy to get into SF. In fact, we used the BART to head to SFO at the end of our trip!! It was great!
They have a lovely restaurant on the 2nd floor, with a bar, for nice light appetizers and wine or beer which was so relaxing after coming back from the city. The only problem was the pool.....but I understand that the area will soon be renovated and up to par with the rest of the hotel.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Marriott at all, and...the City Center area surrounding it, is quite nice with lots of restaurants and close to Jack London Square and Chinatown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yummychunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandMarriott, General Manager at Oakland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for sharing your great experience! It sounds like you were able to experience a wide variety of what the Oakland Marriott and surrounding downtown area has to offer. It’s comments from guests like yourself that give us such pride in our duties. We definitely appreciate your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
John Mazzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.4 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Marriott City Center

Property: Oakland Marriott City Center
Address: 1001 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oakland
#9 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Marriott City Center offers commanding views of Lake Merritt, Berkeley Marina, the bay and skyline of San Francisco, and both the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges. Centrally located the hotel is convenient to all Bay Area attractions including Napa and Sonoma Wine Country, the East Bay and Berkeley. Downtown San Francisco is just 12 minutes via the local subway system (BART). Additional parking fees: Valet: $40 Self-Parking $35 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oakland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Oakland City Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing