We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geta Sushi and Bento

Geta Sushi and Bento
Ranked #204 of 1,220 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a great find!! Found reviews online and went strictly because of all the great reviews. We got there a little after five on a Saturday and there was already a line of about 15 people. When they opened the door a couple minutes later we were lucky enough to get the last two seats at the bar. The food was amazing! We had the grilled salmon cheek, which was more like the collar, with plenty of meat. Very good. We also had sake and amaebi (raw salmon and shrimp) and the spicy tuna, real California and spider rolls. Everything was so fresh and delicious! We ended with a side order of tempura and we were stuffed!! All this for about $50. You can't beat it! My recommendation - go, go early, try lots!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco,CA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great value, but be prepared to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food here is excellent, not jus the sudhi, bu the bentos, teriyakis and tempuras. Be prepared for a wait though. At meal times there's aline down the street. The dining room is miniscule. This place would do well in a larger space. Beware that its closed on Sundays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank craig_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dilemma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The more people rave about a place, the busier it becomes and this places already ALWAYS has a line outside it! But I simply had to write about it to compliment the place.

First off, it is an absolute hole in the wall! I doubt it seats twenty people. Many suburban garages are bigger and you need to have the suppleness of a gymnast to get into the corner tables. However, the food is fresh, relatively cheap and offers a host of varied and interesting dishes over and above the usual fare.

The staff are cheerful and they are constantly filling your water glass and tea cup. If you get there early (say around 5:30ish) you may not have much of a wait but later on expect to wait at least 30-40 minutes.

It's one of those neighborhood gems you really don't want many people to find out about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good things come in small packages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food in this tiny sushi house is outstanding, the service attentive, the prices very reasonable. The wait can be long as there are only 5 tables and 3 seats at the sushi bar, but the wait is worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Sushi At An Affordable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Geta is a faithful standby whenever I am in Oakland. You can get an order of imitation california rolls that are really good for less than $3.50 including tax.

They are always crowded, but they do have a wait list for seating you can sign up for. I always phone in my order for pick up and its usually done in 10-20 minutes.

They close between 2:30 and 5. Keep calling if the line is busy. And, don't plan to eat in if you are claustrophobic. Very small eating area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VFPSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geta Sushi and Bento also viewed

 

Been to Geta Sushi and Bento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing