We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sushi At An Affordable Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geta Sushi and Bento

Geta Sushi and Bento
165 41st St, Oakland, CA 94611-5206
510.653.4643
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 1,217 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Sushi At An Affordable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Geta is a faithful standby whenever I am in Oakland. You can get an order of imitation california rolls that are really good for less than $3.50 including tax.

They are always crowded, but they do have a wait list for seating you can sign up for. I always phone in my order for pick up and its usually done in 10-20 minutes.

They close between 2:30 and 5. Keep calling if the line is busy. And, don't plan to eat in if you are claustrophobic. Very small eating area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VFPSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
183 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I would go back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

...if I lived in Oakland. In town for business and needed lunch but did not want any fast food so read reviews for a local eatery. The reviews of Geta do not exaggerate; the food is really really good. Only had time for a couple of rolls which were generous in size and full of fresh fish and ingredients. By far two of the best rolls I've ever eaten. Highly recommend Geta!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi and Great Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

A very small place that my college age daughter discovered. Waiting in line is the norm. Sign in on the clip board on window outside and wait right there for your table. The sushi comes fast and furious. At these prices order more than usual! Fill up your tummy! We noticed the asparagus sushi after we ordered - it came pronto as did our order. Plenty of tea, smiling friendly waitstaff. Everyone is Sushi Happy at Geta Sushi!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cellofool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sushi and better prices! Oh, this place is a Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We love sushi and living in the Bay Area, there are lots of choice. We have recently started to go to Geta and my husband and I think it is the best sushi that we have had. Creative rolls at really good prices. This one is a winner!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“always worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

ever crowded and ever a wait, but always an oasis in the midst of take out chaos...best sushi made to order and lots of interesting sides to build a great meal. the prices are more than reasonable. staff is great and gracious in a small place packed with take out flying out the door.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sushiskynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geta Sushi and Bento also viewed

 

Been to Geta Sushi and Bento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing