We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best pan au levain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Farine Bakery

La Farine Bakery
6323 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1331
510-654-0338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Bakeries in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
California City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best pan au levain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Claremont bakery nicer than Piedmont bakery.

Pros:
OMG so good!
Best pan au levain and best morning buns ever.

Cons:
Cakes not really worth the high price tag, but still yummy.
Not best ambiance for sitting and visiting in either the claremont or the piedmont locations. Not very frenchy in that way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guacamoleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
WI
Level Contributor
181 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This little Boulangerie is the best outside of Aix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This little Boulangerie is the best outside of Aix! I am happy to say each time I return to the Bay Area, this little bakery is as good, if not better than I remembered it to be. The croissants, morning buns and fruit tarts are all divine. Try it all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eclairs Made by Angels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Okay, maybe angels don't really do the baking, but it tastes like it. I keep dreaming of that little eclair I had there last week: rich, thick dark chocolate topping and crispy, light pastry and the perfect combination of custard and whipped cream filling. It compares well to many of my favorite pastry shops in Europe. My daughter raves about their cookies, my husband delights in their roast beef sandwiches, but trust me here: don't miss the eclair.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Living near LaFerine is torture!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Living near any bakery, if you're a bread and pastery lover can be difficult, but living near La Farine is just torture! So good. Baguette!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank soniadpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite neighborhood bakery; great frangipane and morning buns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a place I'll run out and get breakfast treats and/or fresh bread on a weekend and feel really happy about it. Their breakfast yum yums are all buttery and delicious. The fresh breads are delish and some are very pretty to look at, too. I ordered three fruit tartes for my girlfriend's special birthday party and people loved them. I have not had anything here that I didn't enjoy. Clean, positive staff, good location.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CAKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Farine Bakery also viewed

 

Been to La Farine Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing