We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Service You Could Ever Ask For!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2010

I come to Oakland on business quite often and I have never had a hotel treat me with more friendliness and hospitality as the Waterfront Hotel. Every staff member treats you like part of their extended family. The hotel itslf sits right on the water and the ambience is terrific! The beds are extremely comfortable and the service impeccable! You can't beat the rates! I would refer this hotel to anyone! Absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmwbarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

917 - 923 of 970 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

The help was superb and very customer friendly, especially Daniel. Only negative would be the trains comeby frequently until 11:00 pm.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanandSalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I bought a package that I thought was a good deal, but when I read the fine print, it was very poor value.
I paid $ 239 for room that overlooked a roof.
I thought it included breakfast and a $50 voucher per day, but it did not.
When I checked in I requested a good room but this is what they put me in.
The staff are poorly trained and inexperienced.
Trains whistle by every 15 minutes.
Only stay here if you get it for under $130 a night.
The lobby and pool area has a slightly grubby feel to it.
The location is wonderful, and if it was a reasonable price, I would feel good about it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisabiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

staff was very assertive and helpful. the outdoor pool area was very relaxing place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megs0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The staff was so friendly and helpful, especially Daniel in valet parking. The location was great...really enjoyed the Farmers Market at Jack London Square which was within walking distance. It was nice to walk along the waterfront. And the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've experienced. Loved it!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
Thank animamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Ok stay at what seems to be a touch overpriced hotel. Nautical themed, it lies on the bay in Oakland, Jack London Square. Rooms were fine, bed was too. But the trains coming thru all night really caused a racket. Finally put the tv on just to create some white noise.
No real issues with the place, the restaurant was great, staff seemed friendly enough. Shower design a little odd in that you can't really keep the bathroom door open while showering.
I am pretty easy going, the trains did sorta' get to me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lefty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed two nights last weekend at the Waterfront Hotel and found the staff to be warm and friendly. The bell hop even offered to drive me to the BART station a few blocks away. Between the front desk staff and the concierge/bell hop, they could not do enough. The hotel has a perfect location on the Oakland Estuary with boat slips in view. Everything you need (jazz-Yoshi's in Jack London Square, excellent high end dinner-Scott's, ATMs and great breakfast nearby - Buttercup) and just a mellow feel overall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.6 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
924 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607-3751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: $152 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing