We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,349)
Filter reviews
1,349 results
Traveler rating
564
415
230
75
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
564
415
230
75
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jack london square nautical theme san francisco wine and cheese ferry dock valet parking train noise farmers market jazz club movie theater light sleeper business trip water view amtrak station the east bay joie fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,349 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you have completely run out of options, this hotel, because of its location would be a decent place to spend a night. Apparently, there aren't many great hotels in Oakland. The staff is friendly. The restaurant was located far from our room. I would check out other eating establishments as the service at the hotel's restaurant was overly casual... borderline lazy.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Global27256652343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. I am sorry you did not enjoy the area.
Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Of the hotels in Jack London Square, this is clearly the best. Affiliated with Hyatt, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and capable. We only stayed overnight - didn't use other hotel facilities - but found it convenient and satisfactory. It is right next to the ferry to San Francisco, which is a great and pleasant way to travel to the city, too.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DiningDiva76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Dear Diva,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel and got to explore SF via ferry.
Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

We booked a queen, city view with a request for a quiet room. They gave us a top floor corner king room overlooking the channel and small marina. The room was quite large and clean. Staff was very nice and helpful. Bed was comfortable, as were the chairs and sofa. We also had a fireplace, though we were there the first hot days of summer and did not use it. A large private deck went around two sides of the room with a view to the water. The hotel installed double windows and doors to tamp down the noise from the trains, and it works.
There is a lovely pool and deck outside and a comfy common area downstairs. We did not try the restaurant.
If you stay here, ask for a room in the same building as the reception area. The other building which houses the restaurant is quite close to the train.
Be aware that, if you have a car, it costs $32/day to park it. I dinged the property a star because in addition to a parking fee, there is an "amenities fee" of $15/day which was not mentioned anywhere on the website.

Room tip: Request a room as far from the train tracks as possible.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldfolksadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Dear Old folks,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel. I am sorry you missed the fee explanation but on our website is very clear about the charges.
Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Really good room, comfy bed, good chairs, quiet, with a nice balcony overlooking the water. Excellent location in Jack London Square.The only drawback was wonky staircase in the lobby -- weirdly low hand-rails and awkward steps.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WarwickWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Dear Wayfarer ,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel.
Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

This is a fun hotel...a little dated but rooms were very clean and having a room looking over the water was great. They have a nice wine and cheese happy hours every day (I checked in on a Sunday, and there was the happy hour!). Very convenient to meeting center and it was nice facility. Staff were very nice!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefferyD91, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Gail W.,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you enjoyed the newly renovated Waterfront Hotel.
Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews