We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANK YOU! IMEE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THANK YOU! IMEE”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I can't begin to thank Imee the Reservation agent that took really good care of me and my family this Mothers Day. I showed up to see the room the day before, and fell in love with Suite 302. She was so great. She said she would hold a room for me because it was first come first serve basis, and she held room 201 a corner Waterfront suite with a great balcony all around the the room and window view of the city, and the Bay. The staff was fantastic with a late check out. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    256
    120
    39
    21
See reviews for
166
247
55
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed there on May 13, for the price of $289 a night I would have expected a 4 star hotel but received a 2 Star hotel. Was quoted $189 after taxes but they charge $329. Quality of room is not what I expected. They high light marble bath room and yes the floor is marble but only had a shower. The cabinet was nice but that's the only thing good about it.


  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovell Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Love this hotel...great staff, walking along the water is magic, and the restaurant attached is wonderful! Ferry to San Francisco, great views of the city & great restaurants along the promenade. Lovely lobby with awesome fireplace...and a pool!

Room Tip: Corner suite facing San Francisco is awesome...or rooms with balconies facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Care48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel was the base hotel for guest coming in for our wedding. The hotel lives up to the standards that I expect from a Joie de Vivre property but the Staff at this property were exceptional. They took great care in welcoming all our guests and making sure that all were well cared for. Of note was Steve at the valet stand that made sure that the wedding party got to our wedding venue quickly and efficiently. Definitely a place to stay if you are visiting Oakland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USMARabblerouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I like Joie de Vie hotels in general -- friendly vibe and good service. The Waterfront Hotel doesn't have the wonderful zen hoopla and room "stuff"such as robes of the Vitale, for example, but for price-performance ratio you can't beat it. Very nice staff; amazing location that is only going to get more interesting over the next few months and years.

When I stay at the Vitale, I walk or run the Embarcadero. At the Waterfront, you can walk the Oakland Waterfront (not as long but also picturesque and much less crowded in the early morning.

Good restaurants nearby and lots of ethnic restaurants within a 10 minute walk.

It's easy to get to San Francisco as the ferry is at the Waterfront's side door. Good corporate meeting place -- lots of meeting rooms and when the group breaks, attendees can take a leisurely stroll and not feel like you're in a crammed city. Daydreamers can watch the many sailboats head out to the Bay or return in the evening.

Room Tip: Go for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razzyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

It all began when we arrived at the AMTRAK train stsion in Jack London Square. We called to see if someone was available to pick us up, as it's not the greatest area at night. Their shuttle had stopped running, but they found someone from the staff and wre there in 5 minutes. At check-in, everyone greated us. Thje desk person checked us in and then told us she was upgrading us to a mini-suite. What a surprise and what a great room. All of the amenities and everything in the room was above standard. The sheets were like satin. The coffee maker was a Keurig and they had both premium coffee and tea for their guest. In the afternoon, the have complimentary wine and cheese. The y are located one block from the Oakland-San Francisco Ferry. It takes you to downtown SF and Fisherman's Wharf. We felt the key element in this hotel was the friendly and attentive staff. Only minor concern was the trains that run one block away and honking horns. But, when you fall asleep, trhe horn noise disappears. Would highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to Oakland.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. Don't worry about city view vs waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrob35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was a great place to stay. We actually stay there for Spring Break a few weeks ago--it rained the first 3 days we were there. It is a short walk to the Ferry(clipper Card can be used too!) that goes to the city early and last ferry back is about 8:15 pm.Time to eat dinner in the city and grab ferry back. Gotta go to the Delancy Street restaurant! Very reasonable and exquisitely decorated and very nice, helpful staff. $ block south of the Ferry Bldg.
We asked for a "waterview room". Gorgeous! Views of Oakland Bay! It was a nice sized room with 2 queen beds, including all the amenities. ONLY issue was noisy neighbors partying & this room had an adjoining door---which may have been where the majority of noise came through!? We call the front desk and the room quieted down--no problem. The front desk staff was excellent as was the valet/concierge(when they weren't retrieving a car). The location, in Jack London Square, is good, particularly if you don't want to drive much. We avoided renting a car by downloading the 511 App and purchased Clipper cards at the Walgreen's at 14th and City Center--refilled twice. We used these all over Oakland, Berkeley and San Francisco --best Idea ever! We took a bus from JLS, to City Center in Oakland and grabbed another to Berkeley and the Piedmont area - super easy!! and There are several fine restaurants within easy walking distance. We did the do the SavorOaklandFood tour and it was worth the Money! Carlo, our tour guide was the best! also. Places not to miss: The Authentic Bagel(on 2nd st?) , bakery next door to that, and the best FORGE --wood-fired Pizza. The had a great armer's market on Sunday till about 2pm---it was a really good one too! Lots of choices, fo fruit vegs and plants! They have a nice little area as you come in that offers coffee and teas and a cool fire place!

Room Tip: See above writing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoNamepls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607-3751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing