We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nearby Hotels
$193
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$232
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites(Oakland)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$234
$221
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland(Oakland)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveler rating
466
335
174
53
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
335
174
53
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjack london squarenautical themethe penthousesan franciscoferry dockwine and cheesetrain noisefarmers marketjazz clubmovie theaterrestaurants and barslight sleepercity viewbusiness tripwater viewamtrak stationthe east bay
Filter
Updating list...
787 - 792 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is your average hotel, nice enough if you aren't pretentious. We were not expecting 5 stars so we were happy with it. Yes it is a little dated. Yes it could use a bit of sprucing up, but it was clean and comfortable. I am a very light sleeper and I was woken in the middle of the night by people above us. We had a beautiful big wrap around deck and sat out in the morning overlooking the marina, watching boats come and go and the rowers. It was under a minute walk to get to the ferry over to San Francisco, and that is a beautiful little journey. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0Me0neLikeY0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We were impressed with how we were greeted by Danny; he treated us so nicely, and made us feel extra special. He offered little gifts for our kids. Now our kids asked to stay there every time we come visit the Bay Area. Without a question this is the place we will come by over and over again. Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank GraceMase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked this hotel because all the hotels in San Francisco were overbooked due to some conference the week we were in town, and Oakland seemed a good alternative. Jack London Square is great, and this seemed like the premier property there, right on the waterfront, so we thought it was a good option.

On the good side the location was great, as advertised, smack in the middle of Jack London Square, walking distance to all you needed, and the rooms had a great view right out on the marina with boats bobbing around and seagulls casting shadows over the window. The room was fairly spacious, the bed big and comfortable, and the decor, while fairly provincial, was acceptable enough, and clean.

All bets were off the second you entered the bathroom though. The toilets were low, and had the cheapest sort of toilet seats available on the market; incredibly flimsy and uncomfortable. The showers were ugly, and the towels were the thinnest, most uncomfortable imaginable. It was like you were in a scary state hospital, not an expensive "boutique" hotel.

To be fair, the east bay is not known for its fine hotels and this may be one of the better options, and in general people there are totally clueless as to what "nice" actually is as a great deal of it is one of the scariest (and most famous) ghettos in America. That said, for a hotel that trumped itself up as a nice boutique hotel, the state of the bathrooms especially (if not the decor as well) was ghastly. I've stayed at hotels all over the world, and also at nice boutique hotels right in the middle of San Francisco, and this place is shameful.

My advice to management – take the 20 minute trip across the Bay Bridge to downtown San Francisco and go to a decent boutique hotel there (the Kimpton group has quite a few) and get a clue as to what is expected of what you advertise. Then either start providing that level of quality, or stop the false advertising.

Room Tip: Many people (including my coworkers) complained about the train noise but I couldn't hear it at all from my room in the middle above the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGuy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after flying into Oakland. The front desk person was nice, gave us an upgrade to a balcony room. The rooms are older, a bit dingy and not super clean. The bed was pretty soft, not my liking, and the tubs finishing was coming off. The tv also did not work, but I informed the front desk upon check out and they apologized and said they would take care of it. I did book at a discounted rate, but even so, would probably not stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank H_ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Trying to get someone at the front desk on the phone can be trying. Coffee, tea, water is available in the lobby area round the clock with a nice fireplace. Heated outdoor swimming pool is well maintained, taking pH readings daily, and adjusting the balance when needed. The rooms have doubled paned glass to help isolate with the trains' horns blowing day and night, didn't keep us awake nor woke us up but the lightest of sleepers. Toiletries are of high quality. Free nationwide calling, coffee maker in room, mini-fridge and microwave, free wi-fi limited to three devices per room for guests, hi-speed is an additional USD 9.95 per day. A room facing the water will be more than rooms facing the city side.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews