We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice stay right on Jack London Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice stay right on Jack London Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a nice one-night stay in a big corner room on the top floor, overlooking the pool and waterfront. The hotel is right next to Jack London Square, which has a few restaurants and bars and is hopping when there is an event there. (When there's nothing going on, it seems pretty dead!) The hotel has a fun nautical theme and a nice pool, and our room was really spacious. We ate breakfast at the café, which serves great coffee drinks and a limited selection of egg dishes, oatmeal, sandwiches, etc. The staff were super friendly, valet parking a breeze, and the hotel is just blocks from the freeway, but the room we had on the water side was peaceful. The views aren't spectacular (it's a busy industrial waterfront in one direction) but it's great considering you're in a big city. We took a boat cruise from Alameda, which was a quick 5-minute drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the water side for a quiet night of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    200
    89
    32
    15
See reviews for
108
193
47
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed the location right on Jack London Square. We had a room which had a view of the marina and the Square. Comfortable and quiet room, valet parking with a fee, complimentary wine and cheese from 5:00 - 6:00. One night we had heavy footed neighbors above us. The hotel staff was very pleasant and changed our room upgrading us to the marina view with balcony. The hotel is walking distance to several very good restaurants on Jack London Square and it is also near the USS Potomac.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbia400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I travel to the Bay area once a month for business meetings in the Embarcadero area of SF. I love staying at the Waterfront and commuting over on the ferry in the morning and back in the evening. The ferry is right next to the hotel so you also get a SF Bay "tour". The rooms are so pleasant and the beds are great...I sleep like a baby. I am so pleased with the new restaurant Lungomare, where I have had several great meals. I meet friends here after work for dinner or drinks. It is a great improvement over the old Miss Pearl's.
This is a Joie de Vivre hotel so I recommend joining the Joy of Life Club frequent guest program if you travel often on the west Coast....very nice perks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eberit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed two nights as part of a baseball trip. The Waterfront is a nice, clean, nautical-themed hotel in the heart of Jack London Square. The spaces are quirky and non-corporate feeling. The staff is courteous and helpful. The hotel provides a shuttle service and was happy to call for a car or cab when the shuttle wasn't running. The surrounding environs provide a wealth of restaurants. Forge Pizza was particularly good. A small local brewery--Linden Street--is also within walking distance and well worth a visit. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Waterfront Hotel in Oakland is at a perfect location. The bayside rooms have wonderful views from the balconies - ships in and out, fog creeping on SF, and the colorful flotsam and jetsam of people of Oakland and the ferry traffic. The rooms are nice and clean, although everything is a little worn around the edges. The lobby is very pleasant and comfortable and the pool, heat and salted, is enclosed by glass to preserve the view. All wonderful! A couple of warnings. The tiles around the pool are quite slick - beyond anything I have seen and we watched several people fall - old and young. Secondly, we saw several incidents of non-guests wandering into the lobby and pool area, availing themselves of the coffee and tea. Not a real big deal, but could end up being a problem if you leave bags around. We love this hotel and have stayed there multiple times and will go back. PS, the breakfast at the restaurant was not good. Go elsewhere for that.

Room Tip: Get something overlooking the bay. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our five nights here. It's a very good value for this area. The rooms are fun and comfortable, the staff friendly. Oakland is a delightful place, young and not corporate, not scrubbed clean of character. The ferry is right next to the hotel to get to SF. Cafe food is terrific.

Room Tip: Water view is nice, 244 is across from gym, no excuse not to exercise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redheadedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Waterfront Hotel on Jack London Square in Oakland. I came for wedding and had a large comfortable room for a good rate. I did have a problem with the first night, when my room was a connected double, and there was a thin door between the connected room and my room, which let me hear everything going on in the room next door. Also, after housekeeping came the next day, they left open the door between the two rooms! But the hotel handled my complaint well, moving me to a better room without a fuss.

The hotel has a nice little wine & cheese hour, complimentary, at 5pm, and a pretty little pool which is just big enough for lap swimming.

However, much as I liked the hotel itself and thought the desk clerks were friendly and helpful, I would not stay here again. The waterfront area is in the middle of a big redevelopment -- it used to be a seedy area with strip clubs and empty buildings. Now there are new apartment buildings and some pretty waterfront restaurants...but there isn't a grocery store or a drug store within 10 blocks. I had to walk all the way to the Oakland city center, about 12 blocks, to get some normal drugstore things at a Walgreens. There was a tiny gift shop near the hotel but it was out of the essentials I needed. And the free shuttle bus that runs up Broadway during the week does not start running until the evening on Saturdays. This was VERY inconvenient. I suppose that more development is coming, and once the area gets filled in a bit more, then the shuttle bus will start running on weekends during the day. But until then, I would advise staying in a part of Oakland or Berkeley that has more services and is easier to get around on weekends.

Room Tip: If you can get a waterfront room with a balcony without paying too much more than for a city-side ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607-3751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing