We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nautical Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nautical Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

After driving 2+ hours from Monterey, pulling up to this hotel was a sight for sore eyes. The desk clerk let us check in earlier than usual, and the valet couldn't have been more helpful with our bags. The room was very clean, decorated with vintage nautical and/or tattoo art. We spent most of our time walking around Jack London Square-totally unplanned, but we really liked the area. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deelooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    214
    97
    32
    16
See reviews for
122
205
48
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was my first stay at this property on Jack London's waterfront. Usually you'll find these hotels to be overpriced for what they are however in this case I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a water view room. It was on the first floor and right outside our door was the swimming pool. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean and in good shape. The bath shows the age of the hotel as the shower stall was small, dark and awkward in terms of opening the door to the bathroom and the shower at the same time. My bathroom at home is nicer. That being said, we were very pleasantly surprised by the overall comfort of the room. The bed was very comfortable and the room extremely quiet. The lighting is a bit harsh with florescent bulbs.

We arrived on a Friday evening and my only complaint was that the parking valet and front desk seemed somewhat understaffed with one individual each at these posts with lots of people waiting around to be helped.

The location is great, central to everything in Oakland. I moved away several years ago and am pleasantly surprised by the amount of activity now in this area. The chain restaurants at Jack London have given way to other wonderful restaurants. We ate at Bocanova one evening and really enjoyed it. During the spring/summer months on the first Friday there is Jack's night market with lots of great food stalls, craft booths, gastrotrucks and entertainment.

Old Oakland is also a short 5 block walk away and there are lots of great looking restaruants there as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are trains that utilize tracks adjacent to Jack London Square so a water view room will help w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calpoidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location since we did not want to drive a car....Amtrak, Oakland Airport bus, free Broadway shuttle to Bart, ferry to San Francisco, walk to Oakland Chinatown....all convenient to Jack London Square with a good selection of restaurants for a trip that combined work and reunion with family.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront room to enjoy a peaceful environment overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tutu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Waterfront Hotel in Oakland at Jack London Square for the Strictly Sail Pacific boat show. Service was above usual, with a friendly check in, helpful staff, and a lovely room. The continental breakfast is in a room with a view of the marina, and the food is excellent--fresh fruit, muffins and pastries, etc. I'll definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: If you want a waterfront view room with a balcony, make sure you ask when making your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

waterfront hotel seems to get it's fair share of bashing here on tripadvisor. well, i'm stepping up to say that all this bashing is generally underserved.

we were there for a two night run of shows at the fox theater. the hotel rooms are very nice, the service is very good and the location also is very good. oakland, from downtown to jack london square, has REALLY improved over the past few years. there are many nice/interesting restaurants and good craft beer/wine joints, and they are all within walking distance or a free bus ride from the waterfront hotel (the free B - look it up when you get there). waterfront also is right next to the ferry station across to fisherman's wharf. BART station is also close.

the bottom line is, i'm not really sure what there is to complain about, at all.

Room Tip: get a waterfront or water view room. i guess the trains are loud if you are on the other side. i cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the waterfront hotel for our anniversary in March. We really liked the location at Jack London Square because it is very walkable. There are many restaurants and on Sunday the farmers market is right outside the door.


The hotel is situated on the bay estuary, we stayed in an upgraded room that had a good view of the Marina, jack London Square and a peek a view of San Francisco. The port of Oakland is directly next door, so there is a view of it as well! Luckily there was no work going on on Saturday that we good tell. The room had a nice balcony with two chairs where we sat and watched the boats come and go.
The hotel could use some renovating, our room's furniture was way outdated and worn. However the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and in ok shape. We wanted to use the fireplace which was gas, but it wasn't lit. We just called the front desk and they sent someone up to light the pilot right away. That was a nice feature. I really think they should invest in a exterior paint job, the building is extremely chipped and faded.

On Sunday morning we were trying to sleep in but couldn't because there was a concert down in the square. The farmers market opens at 10:00, so we just got up and went down to enjoy the activities. We had brunch at the restaurant in the hotel. Different owners. The brunch is really good. The place is dog friendly in the outdoor space. They even bring your pal water in a nice stainless steel bowl.

Even though the hotel could use a facelift, we enjoyed our stay. The area is really nice for an on foot outing. I liked not having to use our car. We had lunch on Saturday, dinner Saturday night, and brunch Sunday all in one area. Super. And if you wanted to go to San Francisco the ferry was just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the water side, the city side has no view and there is the train that travels through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Most of our wedding party, including the bride and grrom, stayed at the waterfront after having our rehersal dinner at El Pascatore. We never left jack London Square and enjoyed all venues very much. We booked one of the suites but it really wasn't anything special. Overall, we had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddAllenFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607-3751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing