We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely will stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely will stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my third stay at Waterfront Hotel at Jack London Square & I'll definitely use it again. Big plus is the water & marina view, but also the ferry landing is right there. So fun to take that over to San Francisco vs driving. They need to update a bit, especially carpet in hallways, but overall it's nice, clean, great location & has lots of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Get a water view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    231
    102
    33
    18
See reviews for
132
217
49
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 4 days, for Raider vs. Charger game. Its at Jack London Square, not as many shops anymore, like everywhere else. Right on the bay with great 3rd floor views. Recommend rooms 303 or 310 for views. Rooms alittle dated, 37" flat screen tv's with HD. Has 24hour valet parking and IT WILL COST YOU 20.00 A DAY, but well worth it, its cheap parking security. What Im saying is, if you drive a car there - you will be charged this, but still recommend using this service. Good places to eat within walking distance, also Hotels Miss Pearls. Recommend Buttercup Grill for breakfast, 2 blocks away on broadway. Ferry to San Fran. about 100 yards, runs all day for 6.50 per person each way and goes to pier 41 on fishermans wharf, recommend ferry to driving the bridge, plus you can use all San Fran. transportation after getting over there. Amtrak runs a couple times a day, about 8 cars - a little noise, but no big deal. Hotel about 8 blocks from Oakland chinatown. Recommend if flying in, get GPS with rental, worth ever penny. Not sure of policy, but women there had a large dog (was not a service dog), has a large grassy area next to hotel to walk dogs also.
Staff was exceptional, polite, and friendly. Dealt with all shifts and all were great. Had problem with tv on last day before we left, staff was friendly and proactive in switching tv out - worked great after that. Great place to stay and would definitely stay again. Raider fans from Minnesota.

Room Tip: recommended rooms 303 and 310 for views, but there are many others. Call and ask staff. Got room thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raiderspy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

That was a fun hotel. We stayed last weekend for 3 nights. Met with friends. It was great fun. Older hotel...but no issues. No hassles. Thank you for a fun time. Good location. Great clubs and restaurants and so on nearby. Staff outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darirasalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed for 3 nights. Nice property on the oakland waterfront is a big plus, rooms are nice, staff very pleasant too. Only drawback is the noisy hvac system... when it came on every 40 min or so, it was like sleeping with a 747. Tried earplus, tylenol pm, etc. On saturday night when the people returned to their rooms at 2 am, lots of hall noise because of door and flimsy walls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellasacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Short business meeting and ferry to AT&T.
Appeared to be an older facility, but well maintained and modernized.
My second room floor was spacious with King size bed, large flat screen and balcony.
Didn't really mind the maze hallways to southern part of complex.
Had to walk 2 blocks to Fat Lady for a drink after the game, wouldn't recommend walking any farther alone.

Room Tip: Balcony looking east is not exciting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We couldn't have asked for better service or accommodations. The staff were incredibly friendly and made sure that every need was taken care of immediately. We were able to check in early, which was a plus, since we drove up from Monterrey and was extremely exhausted. The view from the room was gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband, daughter, and I took a trip from L.A. on the Starlight Amtrack train to Oakland and stayed in this gem of a hotel prior to boarding our cruise ship in San Francisco and after disembarking the ship. We loved our stay both times. We had booked a suite and were upgraded to an ocean view the first visit and were lucky enough to have the handicapped suite on our return. Both rooms were more than spacious - they were HUGE. Both rooms had fire places and very comfortable beds. More than that, the room service from the restaurant downstairs was amazing. They even sent up a note with our dinner thanking us for dining with them AND gave us complimentary organic ice cream! I can't wait to go back and enjoy some more time there. I'd HIGHLY recommend this place. Plus, we had our pack and play for our little girl and the room was big enough to have her sleep at one end and we could have lights on and type or read in comfort in the other end of the suite. WONDERFUL!

Room Tip: If you choose a suite on the water, you avoid much of the train sounds that occur throughout the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank younginPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
0.1 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing