We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Water view rooms worth the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Water view rooms worth the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Room 356 was a beautiful suite with a completely separate sitting area from the sleeping area. Although it had a full size dining table, there was no fridge or microwave. While this has nothing to do with the hotel itself, it is sad to see so many empty store fronts in Jack London Square, once so vibrant and active. Not much going on there now.

Room Tip: There are several different type rooms to choose from, with upgrades for as little at $9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    214
    97
    32
    16
See reviews for
122
205
48
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The Waterfront Hotel reminds me of a set that was built of a hotel lobby for a movie shoot. You come in, there's a fireplace roaring, it's well decorated and the staff is super helpful. Great! Boutique Hotel at its finest right?

So when I got off the elevator, I thought I was transported to the wrong hotel. The carpets are ugly and dingy. The hotel just feels old. Walked down to my room, which has a nice balcony, and some old furniture. The TV is huge. The bathroom is small with a shower and no tub. The room is just alright.

Here are my other issues:

- The Fitness Center is closed. I found this out when I followed the signs and it led me to a wing under renovation with concrete floors. I guessed the room with the mirrors was the fitness center. This was confirmed by the front desk. Would have been nice to know that at check-in. They said they had a temporary exercise room in an out building. This room was suuuper small and inadequate. When I asked about the fitness center they mentioned at check in, the front desk clerk simply went to Bing Maps and printed out a list of gyms in Oakland.

- The hotel guide says they have a shuttle that will take you within 4 miles as a courtesy. Great. We walked to dinner and decided to call the shuttle to avoid the unsavory industrial areas after dark. The hotel explained the shuttle was only operating from 4PM to 6PM. Who the hell needs a shuttle then? Perhaps seniors who are hungry. When I asked back at the desk, that time was not only confirmed but explained that the shuttle would take you places on the half hour. This makes absolutely no sense as it's an on demand shuttle. What if I get there at 4:10PM? Do I have to wait until 4:30? Ridiculous.

- It's cool they give you a small bottle of wine, but there's no fridge in the room. Which is odd. Not even a mini-bar. They maybe want to look at offering you the wine and allowing you to get it later in the evening.

So overall, this is a boutique hotel that is only boutique in that its not part of a large chain. It doesn't have the level of service that I would expect from a boutique property. I'd pass. And also recommend a renovation for everything but the lobby and meeting rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCC14173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I was at this property for a meeting, so I did not spend much time in the room. The food service in the meeting rooms was good and the meeting rooms themselves comfortable. For a breakout discussion people decided to abandon the room and sat outside in the sun by the small pool overlooking the canal; great idea! I believe my room was an upgrade with lots of space (plus fire place, meeting table separate from the work table). My criteria these days for distinguishing very good versus excellent rooms: the beverage service. This hotel still has real glass for water, but paper cups for coffee (bonus points for having a Keurig coffee machine).

Room Tip: Ask for a water view - both quieter and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UCLASteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise! The bed and sheets were super, the radio / alarm clock has an iPod docking station, and the free breakfast was exceptional! Jack London Square was pretty dead, with most nearby restaurants being expensive. That said, overall I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenBiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

it was a little expensive for the room, i thought. but overall it was fine. the bed was comfortable and the soap/shampoo stuff was really nice. the carpet was pretty old looking and there was a stain on one of the chairs. the back of the bathroom door was totally warped and flaking paint. but the view was great. we had a waterfront room and we were overlooking the harbor and it was truly lovely. they were also helpful with getting us a taxi and the valet parking was quick and easy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and I needed a room for one night in Jack London Square (Oakland, CA). The two choices we had were this hotel (The Waterfront) or the Jack London Inn. We went with the Waterfront and our stay was fine. We did not arrive until late and we left early so we really didn’t stay in the room for long.

The room was comfortable and had a large screen LCD TV. The fireplace was a very nice touch for us. The hotel was nicely decorated, as has been mentioned elsewhere, with a nautical theme. The hotel is inexpensively built so there is the potential for noise from adjacent rooms but we did not hear any (FYI, we were there on a Saturday night).

In looking at other reviews, there is a lot of comment on noise, particularly from the trains. If you have not been to Jack London Square before, you will find that the main north/south railroad tracks (for the entire west coast) go right up the middle of the square. The tracks on in the middle of a public street so you have cars, trucks, pedestrians, and trains are mixed together in the street. There is also an Amtrak station in the Square that services its own trains as well as the commuter trains. Because of all of this, the trains are slowed to 15 MPH in the Square area and since every foot they travel is a potential crossing, trains do blow their horns steadily within the Square (trains are required to blow their horns at crossings). This can bother folks who are not used to train noise. In my case it did not bother me, my wife did wake up a couple of times because of the horns but it did not really bother her either. Just be forewarned. Also, the Waterfront is a block from the tracks and the Jack London Inn is right on them.

We did not eat at the hotel but they do have breakfast. There is a steakhouse a block away in the Square that supposedly is very good but again, we did not try it. There used to be an Old Spaghetti Factory in the Square but that is gone.

Would we stay at the Waterfront Hotel again, yes in fact I just booked a room there for two weeks from now (Feb. 2012).

Room Tip: If you are traveling by Amtrak train, this is a good location as it is walking distance from the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP-Hollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Our between Christmas and New Year's vacation, beginning at the Waterfront Hotel in Oakland, was a bust. There were some positives: the location on the marina, steps to the ferry to S.F., and nice beds. With 2 teenagers and dad needing the "free interenet access," we found that "free," was the speed, (15 minutes) to download an e-mail, then tech support offers a faster speed for a fee (free became fee). Our room had no bathroom tissue, and it took 4 phone calls to the front desk, before it arrived. The bathroom door was misaligned and would not close. Oh, and while looking for the TV remote, I looked under the bed and found a glue-style mouse trap (empty thank god). I own a business (restaurant) and never would want to see an uphappy review, but felt this was necessary. Oh, and Miss Pearls, the hotel's heralded restaurant, was closed for 3 months due to a flood......

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 10 Washington St, Oakland, CA 94607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#3 Business Hotel in Oakland
#3 Family Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the spirit of Jack London Square, the Waterfront Hotel blends the unique atmosphere of the Oakland waterfront with a vibrant, nautical decor. Comfortable, modern, and stylish, our 145 rooms and suites are ideally located for exploring, and many of them offer balconies, fireplaces, and views of the San Francisco Bay. Amenities include complimentary weekday shuttle service to downtown Oakland, weekday wine and cheese social, and valet parking. Don't forget to take a dip (or dive!) into our outdoor heated pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Travelocity so you can book your Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Oakland
Waterfront Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing