We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Oakland Airport
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our room was very nice and clean and roomy. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. If you use the fitness center, take your own headsets. There were only a couple for the entire area. Take your swim suit, the pool is heated to 80 degrees. Great buffet breakfast and staff were very accommodating for any special requests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZinSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I just stayed here for the Yankees at A's series (7/20-7/22). The location is ideal because of the complimentary shuttle service (which runs every hour) to and from the Coliseum (about 10-15 min ride). The BART station is also located next to the Coliseum. You can't beat a free ride to the game and or the train if you wanted to go to other parts of Oakland (Jack London Square) or to SF. It's nice not to have to pay for parking and worry about game traffic or about drinking at the game. The Sports Edition Bar & Grill at the hotel was a great spot for a post game beer and burger. The surrounding neighborhood was ok during the day, but there was no reason to leave the hotel except to go the games or to SF. The bell staff was awesome and was very accommodating in shuttling us back and forth while providing tips and suggestions regarding directions and attractions. They were always in a good mood and didn't even mind when most of the people that needed a ride to the game were Yankees fans. An interesting piece of trivia we found out when we arrived was that Tom Hanks was a bellman at this hotel years ago. As for the room, we were on the second floor of the main building. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable although I found the pillows to be very hard. The extra one in the closet was a little better. I thought the room should have had a fridge, since the room was big enough. However, it was not a huge deal. Down the hallway from our room was a game room that included a pool table, air hockey table and a ping pong table. That was fun to play around in there. There was of course a complimentary shuttle to the airport as well. They also hold your luggage after you checkout if you need them to. Aside from the Yankees getting swept we had a great stay here and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliffO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The lush grounds are the best feature of this Hilton property. The hotel is a series of buildings (5) over several blocks. Need to walk long distances to use property facilities. Parking is available around each building. Each building is self contained with small lobby and elevator. The room was large but the furnishings very worn out and outdated. Stains on furniture and carpet. The radio and alarm did not work on the clock radio. The new attractive bedding (very comfortable!) was out of place with the rest of the room. The restuarant was a turnoff - poor service, limited menu, and overpowered by loud bar. The only wifi is in a very small main lobby. The lobby was packed with people (many sitting on floor) with their smart phones, tablets and laptops. The rooms only have ethernet cable access to internet. The closeness to the airport is a definite plus and makes the other disappointments acceptable for a quick in-out stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrazyKat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is an older hotel not in the best neighborhood but the rooms were spacious and clean. We had free bottles of water everyday and enough coffee for four cups. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We did not take advantage of their heated pool or the game room which closes at ten. But the bar across from the main building was relaxing. The food is just ok and a bit pricey. They have a breakfast buffet in Amelias place which we decided to try since we had a free voucher. I am glad it was free as the selection of food is small and for four of us it came to $65. Pretty steep for Bacon, mushy hashbrowns and a bagel. Will try another hotel next time where I have a larger variety of places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwarners66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed at this property to attend a Sunday evening concert at the colisium with my family of 4. Hotel itself is in a good, safe location on main road to the airport (about 3-4 blocks away). I did hear the person upstairs walking around the following morning. Property is clean and seemed relatively quiety with no loud airplane noise. Front desk and housekeeping staff were pleasant, although a bit hard to communicate with some of the housekeeping staff due to fact that English is not their native language. Booked a room with two double beds (no 2 queen options).

In the morning we all wanted to take showers - but, the room was only stocked with 2 towels, so I had to find a housekeeper and explain what I needed (seems odd that a room for 4 would only come stocked with 2 bath towels - but I have encountered that before and still don't get it). After we got past the communication problem, she provided me the two "extra" towels with a cheerful voice and a smile. The shower head is mounted too low on the wall and we had to "duck" to get our heads wet (my wife is only 5'7") and my 6'1" son hit his head standing up after wetting his hair. There was only 1 small towel bar in the smallish bath area - maybe why there were only 2 towels as there was no place to hang the others.

I tried to access the internet in my room, but found out that the free wireless is only accessible from either the lobby or the business center. Parking fee was $12.00 for the 1 night stay - not sure why they charge to park since the lot is pretty big - just because they can I suppose.

We did not use the restaurant or bar so I can't comment on either. All in all, the place was clean and well located very near Oracle arena and the Oakland Colisium.

Room Tip: Our room was in building #5 which is located further off the street and may be a bit quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel really didn't meet the normal Hilton standard, it was more of a Hampton Inn standard. Wouldn't recommend staying here at all.

Rooms: very thin walls, heard the person walking around upstairs, you hear people in the hallway. Bed was not the standard Hilton standard, very hard beds. Bathrooms very small and seems a bit out dated. Had to call 2 days straight for housekeeping services for the room.

Hilton Honors Lounge: There isn't a lounge for Hilton Honors. But the bar is really cool. Love the service and thought the bar tendar was great (Thanks Freddie!)

Area: Close to the airport has shuttle service to the airport.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiritnsoul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It was an ok stay I would say... While the staff is excellent there, the services were not great... The room service was not too great, they would forget to keep the toiletries when they come to clean the room. The AC would not work in the night, we would be sweating... it becomes claustrophobic... There are no wifi internet service in the room, and you can only order in the room between 5 pm - 11 pm in the night... You keep calling the housekeeping and they never seem to pick up the phone... that's strange!! Their restaurants are good... there's a sports bar and the cafe have good food and expensive as well...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smritij6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
291 reviews
6.4 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
4.6 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Oakland Airport

Address: 1 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: $132 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Oakland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing